Best UK price 1600 RAM right now please? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2013, 09:00 AM   #1
2bcool2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Best UK price 1600 RAM right now please?

i want to buy 2 x 8gb ram today for my late 2012 iMac.

im in UK and ive seen the lowest prices on amazon around 80 free ddliv,
but some say some are low latencey and some say amazon labeled 1.5v wrongly and they are 1.65v etc so im confused

please can someone give me a link to the cheapest "good reliable" ram right now out there

thanks in advance ...hoping the ram will speed my imac up, doesnt seem that fast, and when i open a finder window sometimes its blank for 5 seconds ... weird ?
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:04 AM   #2
Lee2011
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wales UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Lee2011
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac%203.4GHz%20Quad-Core%20Intel%20Core%20i7%20(27-inch%2C%20Late%202012)

Last edited by Lee2011; Feb 28, 2013 at 10:10 AM.
Lee2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:39 AM   #3
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee2011 View Post
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac%203.4GHz%20Quad-Core%20Intel%20Core%20i7%20(27-inch%2C%20Late%202012)
thanks .. anyone else find cheaper and reliable brand ?

seems its really cheap for americans :-(
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:55 AM   #4
Alekto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tokyo
http://www.amazon.co.uk/KINGSTON-KHX.../dp/B009W0ZFUY

I have this set in my iMac 21 inch. Not sure why it's so pricey in the UK but it's really good.
Alekto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 11:14 AM   #5
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
thanks .. anyone else find cheaper and reliable brand ?

seems its really cheap for americans :-(
It is cheaper for them but unfortunately we will have to just suck it up

I purchased 16GB of crucial RAM and added it to the 8GB that is already in my machine, bringing it to 24GB. Make sure you choose the correct RAM for your specific iMac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alekto View Post
http://www.amazon.co.uk/KINGSTON-KHX.../dp/B009W0ZFUY

I have this set in my iMac 21 inch. Not sure why it's so pricey in the UK but it's really good.
Well the crucial RAM is like 30 cheaper than what you've just posted.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 11:35 AM   #6
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alekto View Post
http://www.amazon.co.uk/KINGSTON-KHX.../dp/B009W0ZFUY

I have this set in my iMac 21 inch. Not sure why it's so pricey in the UK but it's really good.
thanks for taking time to reply, but i was hoping for the price to be cheaper than the first posters `!!!! lol !!! :-)

i heard ram is ram, pretty much all the same (taking into account speed etc ) so im looking for ram cheaper than 76 at crucial if i can ...

anyone got a good link ? :-)

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
It is cheaper for them but unfortunately we will have to just suck it up

I purchased 16GB of crucial RAM and added it to the 8GB that is already in my machine, bringing it to 24GB. Make sure you choose the correct RAM for your specific iMac.



Well the crucial RAM is like 30 cheaper than what you've just posted.
yeah thats what im looking to do , get my 2012 imac to 24gb ram ...

spent so much on the imac that im looking for a really good deal for ram for it :-)
2bcool2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 02:40 PM   #7
Ajay(UK)
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
spent so much on the imac that im looking for a really good deal for ram for it :-)
Having spent so much on your new imac why would you now compromise on a few quid for the extra ram? Crucial guarantee compatibility and anyone who has bought from crucial (myself included) will confirm it works without issue when installed with the factory supplied Apple Ram!

At best you are going to save a tenner or so why bother?
__________________
Late 2012 27" 3.4Ghz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB FD, GTX 680MX;
iPad Air 32GB White, LTE;
iPhone 5 32GB White;
Ajay(UK) is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 03:38 PM   #8
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajay(UK) View Post
Having spent so much on your new imac why would you now compromise on a few quid for the extra ram? Crucial guarantee compatibility and anyone who has bought from crucial (myself included) will confirm it works without issue when installed with the factory supplied Apple Ram!

At best you are going to save a tenner or so why bother?
good point :-)

sold!
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 03:45 PM   #9
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Just thought that I would point out that we have identical specifications! What a great machine!

And I agree with this. As said above, i have installed mine with the stock RAM and they are all running perfectly at 1600Mhz.

Definitely go with Crucial.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 03:51 PM   #10
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
Just thought that I would point out that we have identical specifications! What a great machine!

And I agree with this. As said above, i have installed mine with the stock RAM and they are all running perfectly at 1600Mhz.

Definitely go with Crucial.
thnks,

ok i just bout the memeory form crucial as per the link in the second post recommended for my 2012 iMac ...

it says 1.35V .. others ive seen say 1.5V ... how will this effect the performance ?


thanks ..hope it speeds up my iMac ...
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 04:11 PM   #11
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
thnks,

ok i just bout the memeory form crucial as per the link in the second post recommended for my 2012 iMac ...

it says 1.35V .. others ive seen say 1.5V ... how will this effect the performance ?


thanks ..hope it speeds up my iMac ...
I can't answer your question but I'm sure someone else will be able to.

What spec iMac do you have?
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 05:03 PM   #12
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
I can't answer your question but I'm sure someone else will be able to.

What spec iMac do you have?
i have late 2012 2.8ghz 27" 1gb fusion drive model,
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 05:25 PM   #13
kpgh554
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
i want to buy 2 x 8gb ram today for my late 2012 iMac.

im in UK and ive seen the lowest prices on amazon around 80 free ddliv,
but some say some are low latencey and some say amazon labeled 1.5v wrongly and they are 1.65v etc so im confused

please can someone give me a link to the cheapest "good reliable" ram right now out there

thanks in advance ...hoping the ram will speed my imac up, doesnt seem that fast, and when i open a finder window sometimes its blank for 5 seconds ... weird ?
Have you tried www.ebuyer.com they got some 8gb crucial at 48 each.
kpgh554 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 05:57 PM   #14
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
i have late 2012 2.8ghz 27" 1gb fusion drive model,
In which case if you followed the link in the 2nd post, you've ordered the wrong RAM.

Here is what you should have ordered (I assume you meant 2.9Ghz, as there is no 2.8ghz model)

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpar...1B022FA5CA7304
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 01:30 AM   #15
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
In which case if you followed the link in the 2nd post, you've ordered the wrong RAM.

Here is what you should have ordered (I assume you meant 2.9Ghz, as there is no 2.8ghz model)

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpar...1B022FA5CA7304
ooops ... thamks for the info, ill contact crucial and change my order

i also found you get 4 cashback via quidco.com in uk :-)

UPDATE:
I Called and cancelled, a few minutes a go the price for the correct ram was 76 .. after i got off the phone, the price is now 82 ! WTF ...

Last edited by 2bcool2; Mar 1, 2013 at 02:41 AM.
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 03:35 AM   #16
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
ooops ... thamks for the info, ill contact crucial and change my order

i also found you get 4 cashback via quidco.com in uk :-)

UPDATE:
I Called and cancelled, a few minutes a go the price for the correct ram was 76 .. after i got off the phone, the price is now 82 ! WTF ...
Delivery. That's what I paid too.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 07:56 AM   #17
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
Delivery. That's what I paid too.
no , the earlier price and the uped price both have free delivery .. they just put the price up as i was ordering
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 11:27 AM   #18
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
no , the earlier price and the uped price both have free delivery .. they just put the price up as i was ordering
Oops, my mistake.

I paid 77.59 for mine plus 3.99 for express delivery.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 11:50 AM   #19
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
Oops, my mistake.

I paid 77.59 for mine plus 3.99 for express delivery.
lol at least you ordered the right ram first time round, no mistake there :-)

im gonna wait and see if the price goes back down on week days .. maybe they put the price up on fridays and weekend when most people probably buy ram from them ?
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 11:38 AM   #20
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
In which case if you followed the link in the 2nd post, you've ordered the wrong RAM.

Here is what you should have ordered (I assume you meant 2.9Ghz, as there is no 2.8ghz model)

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpar...1B022FA5CA7304
hi

i contacted crucial to see if they can re activate my order at the 76 price and choose the correct ram,

they emailed me saying :


"I've looked into your order and I found that the RAM is also compatible with your iMac 2.9GHz (27-inch, Late 2012).

the ram i ordered is here :

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/list...%20Late%202012)

can anyone tell me that its ok to use this ram with my 2.9 ghz 27 late 2012 imac please it says its for the 3.4ghz iMac .. which i didnt notice when i ordered?

thanks for your advice :-) ...
"
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 11:42 AM   #21
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bcool2 View Post
hi

i contacted crucial to see if they can re activate my order at the 76 price and choose the correct ram,

they emailed me saying :


"I've looked into your order and I found that the RAM is also compatible with your iMac 2.9GHz (27-inch, Late 2012).

the ram i ordered is here :

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/list...%20Late%202012)

can anyone tell me that its ok to use this ram with my 2.9 ghz 27 late 2012 imac please it says its for the 3.4ghz iMac .. which i didnt notice when i ordered?

thanks for your advice :-) ...
"
I'd just go with the one that I linked. It's the one that matches your iMac. For 6, it's hardly something to worry about.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 11:48 AM   #22
2bcool2
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
I'd just go with the one that I linked. It's the one that matches your iMac. For 6, it's hardly something to worry about.
thanks, crusial are saying that the ram i ordered will work fine with my imac, i just wanted to hear from people on this forum who know their ram if thats true or if theres a difference between the ram crusical are selling for the 3.4ghz and the 2.9 ghz ... thanks for your fast reply virginblue :-)
2bcool2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1333 vs 1600 RAM DaREdBaRoN Mac mini 3 Feb 21, 2014 02:18 PM
Ram 1600 vs 1333 ToomeyND Buying Tips and Advice 2 Apr 12, 2013 04:57 PM
16 gb 1600 ddr3 ram for $99 with free shipping eagandale4114 MacBook Pro 19 Sep 11, 2012 05:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC