Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 5, 2013, 02:36 AM   #1
Valkyre
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Bastion Retina Macbook Pro Resolution

Hey folks, I just purchased Bastion from the App store and when I try and run it on my retina macbook pro I see that the highest resolution I am allowed to use is 1440. There are other resolution options like 1600+ but they are greyed out and the game does not let you choose them.

Anyone knows how I can run the game in these higher resolutions?
Valkyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2013, 08:50 AM   #2
NostalgiaLane
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Had this problem as well, never really looked into it though. Does changing the screen resolution from system preferences allow you to have a higher resolution in-game?
NostalgiaLane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 04:57 AM   #3
Valkyre
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NostalgiaLane View Post
Had this problem as well, never really looked into it though. Does changing the screen resolution from system preferences allow you to have a higher resolution in-game?
Yes my friend indeed if I up the resolution from system preferences the game does indeed allow me to run it in 1920 X 1200

thanks a lot! Although it should allow you without having to change your system res, but hey it works
Valkyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 08:50 AM   #4
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyre View Post
Yes my friend indeed if I up the resolution from system preferences the game does indeed allow me to run it in 1920 X 1200

thanks a lot! Although it should allow you without having to change your system res, but hey it works
Wouldn't it pretty much look the same at 1440x900 and 1020x1200 though?
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10,8 ; 20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 2400 HD, 10.8 ; iPod Touch 4G 32GB
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 09:32 AM   #5
Valkyre
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
Wouldn't it pretty much look the same at 1440x900 and 1020x1200 though?
I believe due to the retina that it would yet there is substantial difference. Especially in the UI you can see it clearly and in game everything looks sharper.

But indeed when you are not playing the game the 1920 mode looks less sharp than the default retina. Ofc you have way more space, but because it is scaled you lose sharpness a bit.

The perfect setting is 2880 full res, but everything is so tiny... then again the real estate of that 15" screen is just insane....!
Valkyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 01:49 AM   #6
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyre View Post
I believe due to the retina that it would yet there is substantial difference. Especially in the UI you can see it clearly and in game everything looks sharper.

But indeed when you are not playing the game the 1920 mode looks less sharp than the default retina. Ofc you have way more space, but because it is scaled you lose sharpness a bit.

The perfect setting is 2880 full res, but everything is so tiny... then again the real estate of that 15" screen is just insane....!
Depends on the game. Valve games look best at 1440x900, and turning it up makes no difference, but impacts the framerate massively.
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10,8 ; 20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 2400 HD, 10.8 ; iPod Touch 4G 32GB
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Resolution Do You Used on Your 13" MacBook Pro with Retina AndrewMRiv MacBook Pro 14 Dec 11, 2013 06:02 PM
Macbook Pro Retina - VmWare - Resolution Shadylane315 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Dec 10, 2013 02:45 PM
How do you change resolution on your Retina Macbook Pro revm1m MacBook Pro 3 Jul 8, 2012 06:16 PM
What resolution do you use on your Retina Macbook Pro? idonotliketostu MacBook Pro 5 Jul 7, 2012 06:00 PM
MacBook Pro Retina and Resolution seaw MacBook Pro 1 Jun 16, 2012 10:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC