Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:54 AM   #1
Kinjal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
MBA + Extra Displays

Currently I work off of an older 17'' MBP at the office. I'm looking for something that gives me MUCH more screen real estate.

I read an article where someone said they were powering a 27'' display (quite easily) off of their MBA. This got me quite interested, but I'm still a little skeptical. How well does it actually run a big display like that? Does it have the capability to run 2x 27'' displays?

I usually use my MBP for Photoshop & Dreamweaver, some light video/audio editing, and some other smaller apps, skype video/conference calls, and web browsing/apps. Will I be able to do this without noticing a big hit on performance with a MBA + 27'' display?
Kinjal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 05:03 AM   #2
MacFan23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
http://arstechnica.com/apple/2012/06...many-monitors/
MacFan23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:47 AM   #3
Kinjal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thanks for the article. That doesn't really answer my question though. Those say that it can power it, but it has nothing to do with performance.

Am I going to notice a performance hit with the use mentioned above.
Kinjal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:51 AM   #4
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
I run a 13" MBA with a Thunderbolt display

I use use most of what you mention, including Skype and Final Cut Pro without any issues
Yes, FCP is fairly intensive and pushes my MBA, but that isn't related to the Thunderbolt Display as far as I can tell
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:16 PM   #5
msjones
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
The 2011 MacBook Airs only have a single channel thunderbolt port, so they could only run a single external ATD. You can run 2 ATD's from a 2012 MBA: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?v...=en_US#dispnum

I run my 11" 2012 MBA on a 27" ATD without any issue at all. I would love to have 2, but damn they are costly!
__________________
MacBook Pro / Nexus 4.
InfoSec guy.
msjones is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA + Dual non-Apple displays HenMaster6000 MacBook Air 1 Sep 2, 2013 02:13 PM
Is it worth spending extra $$$ on 2013 MBA? unknownfps MacBook Air 6 Jun 5, 2013 10:54 AM
2011 MBA to 2012 MBA for dual displays (multistream transport adapters) kchase731 MacBook Air 2 Sep 19, 2012 12:40 AM
late '11 MBP w/ 2 extra displays? OverSpun MacBook Pro 0 Jun 27, 2012 02:41 PM
Help with opinion on MBA/MBP displays jg216 MacBook Air 5 Jun 23, 2012 01:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC