Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2013, 10:01 AM   #1
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Can't launch iTunes in 32-bit mode

Since upgrading to Mavericks, I am no longer able to launch iTunes in 32-bit mode. Anyone else have this issue? To test it, go to your applications folder and right-click on the iTunes application bundle, and select Get Info. Then check the box that says "Open in 32-bit mode". Then try and launch iTunes. I get this message:

"iTunes Requires 64-bit mode" (see attached screen shot)

This is iTunes version 11.1.1 which launches in 32-bit mode fine under 10.8.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 10.59.25 AM.png
Views:	30
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	442205  
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 10:02 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Looks like they dropped the 32bit code tree for the app. Not surprising since they've been selling 64bit computers for a while.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 10:16 AM   #3
MikhailT
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Why are you trying to run iTunes in 32-bit mode anyway?
MikhailT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 10:58 AM   #4
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Why would they still offer the option for 32-bit mode, I wonder?

I use 32 bit mode because it allows iTunes to use older quicktime codecs.

EDIT - just did a clean install to another drive and had the same issue. Can anyone else out there give it a quick try for me?
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes

Last edited by rockstarjoe; Oct 21, 2013 at 01:44 PM.
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 03:48 PM   #5
jeanlain
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Bummer. The best iTunes animations do not work in 64 bit mode.
jeanlain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 03:58 PM   #6
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanlain View Post
Bummer. The best iTunes animations do not work in 64 bit mode.
Yeah that too! So did you have the same problem on your machine?
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 04:50 PM   #7
Brad9893
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockstarjoe View Post
Yeah that too! So did you have the same problem on your machine?
It's not just your machine, I don't think. I am pretty sure it's everyone's. I tried launching it and it wouldn't let me do it in 32-bit mode. There were some songs that need something from QuickTime that isn't available in 64-bit, so now I have to go through and get new versions of those songs.
Brad9893 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 09:19 PM   #8
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad9893 View Post
It's not just your machine, I don't think. I am pretty sure it's everyone's. I tried launching it and it wouldn't let me do it in 32-bit mode. There were some songs that need something from QuickTime that isn't available in 64-bit, so now I have to go through and get new versions of those songs.
That's a shame. Hopefully it is just a bug and will get fixed eventually. Thanks for trying.
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 05:42 AM   #9
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Join the 21st century maybe?
SlCKB0Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 01:41 PM   #10
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlCKB0Y View Post
Join the 21st century maybe?
Thanks :roll eyes:

I submitted a bug report. I also noticed that other apps like Logic Pro 9 which offer the option of 32 bit mode still operate fine under 10.9. Only iTunes seems to have this issue.
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 01:48 PM   #11
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Has logic pro 9 been updated since the release of Mavericks? That's probably why the 32bit option works.

I'd say its not a bug but an overt decision by Apple to drop 32bit support.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 03:56 PM   #12
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Has logic pro 9 been updated since the release of Mavericks? That's probably why the 32bit option works.

I'd say its not a bug but an overt decision by Apple to drop 32bit support.
I hear you, but what I'm saying is that iTunes 11.1.1 opens in 32bit mode in 10.8 but not 10.9... so no update there either. Same version.
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 04:10 PM   #13
Brad9893
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockstarjoe View Post
I hear you, but what I'm saying is that iTunes 11.1.1 opens in 32bit mode in 10.8 but not 10.9... so no update there either. Same version.
I think iTunes needs something to run in 32 bit that was removed from the operating system, like certain QuickTime codecs. I don't think it's a bug or a problem with iTunes, but a conscious decision made by Apple.
Brad9893 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 04:16 PM   #14
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad9893 View Post
I think iTunes needs something to run in 32 bit that was removed from the operating system, like certain QuickTime codecs. I don't think it's a bug or a problem with iTunes, but a conscious decision made by Apple.
After some thought, Quicktime has to be the issue since it's 64bit only in Mavericks.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 04:18 PM   #15
rockstarjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
After some thought, Quicktime has to be the issue since it's 64bit only in Mavericks.
Boom. That is probably it. Thanks for the info!
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 04:55 PM   #16
Marble
macrumors 6502a
 
Marble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Crap. I won't be able to play any of my numerous OGG audio files in iTunes now, since the Xiph plugin is 32-bit only.
__________________
"Restroom" is blessedly inspecific. "Toilet" feels a little close to approaching somebody and saying, "MUST CRAP NOW: WHERE?"
--Gelfin
Marble is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Dreamcolor now working in 10 bit mode? billhinge Digital Video 1 Mar 19, 2014 05:07 PM
Boot into 32 bit mode jjk454ss OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Jan 20, 2014 07:18 PM
Using Chameleon to boot into 64-bit mode bellotto Mac Pro 1 Jan 18, 2014 10:49 AM
OS X: X-Plane Demo wont launch 64 bit -crashes on 2012 imac. Red Fuji Mac and PC Games 8 May 17, 2013 12:07 PM
How do I run my MacBook in 32-bit mode? confusedconnie MacBook 4 Feb 8, 2013 07:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC