Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:06 AM   #1
antrobus1990
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Herts, UK
Play PS3 through 27" iMac

Ive been looking into this recently and I'm not having much luck, so I'm hoping somebody here is able to help.

I have a 27" Imac (2010 MODEL) which i want to be able to play my ps3 through instead of having it run on the tele. 1) Is this possible? 2) How 3) How much will it cost?

I've so far only found a few possible solutions to which cost well over 100, but I'm hoping/wanting to know if there is a cheaper alternative that will do the same thing?

On a few of the devices i have found that will achieve this, I have noticed that the resolution is affected when running the ps3 through the Imac screen due to resolution differences, but is there any way this can be avoided?

I'm looking for a reasonably cheap yet effective way of doing this, so any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!
antrobus1990 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:18 AM   #2
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
"Cheap" it won't be - the MDP input didn't last long on the 27" iMac since they switched to Thunderbolt, so the market for the sort of device you want never really took off.

There are some converters but they are limited to 720p input due to the way the video hardware works in the iMac. There was talk that a device would arrive that could input full 1080p, but it never materialised before the swap to Thunderbolt.

I'm afraid you're probably out of luck.
joe-h2o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:38 AM   #3
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
There are guides out there on YouTube that show you how to do it, at least with a mbpro.

You'll need an easycap USB dongle. You'll also need the driver for MacOS/software for it.

A How-to can be found here.
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:56 AM   #4
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Google: Kanex hd - your problem solved, works on imac 27 2010, does not work with thunderbolt macs
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:24 AM   #5
sergiobaschi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by benthewraith View Post
There are guides out there on YouTube that show you how to do it, at least with a mbpro.

You'll need an easycap USB dongle. You'll also need the driver for MacOS/software for it.

A How-to can be found here.
Which resolution can this option provide on a 2560x1440 display?
__________________
27"/i7/32/680/1FD (2012), 13"/i7/16/512 rMBP (2013), 13"/i5/8/180SSD cMBP (2012), Mini/1.4/4/120 GB SSD (2014), iPad mini 16GB Wifi (2013), iPhone 4S/16 (2012).
sergiobaschi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:08 AM   #6
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiobaschi View Post
Which resolution can this option provide on a 2560x1440 display?
I'm not certain as I don't have a setup like this currently. I would imagine it'd be 720p, possibly 1080p.
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:32 AM   #7
antrobus1990
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Herts, UK
@majcom Do you know where one of those can be purchased cheap? e.g second hand, cheapest Ive seen them for is about 120, which seems pretty steep
antrobus1990 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:00 AM   #8
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Have no idea, i see that price quite fair
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:24 AM   #9
HenryDJP
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrobus1990 View Post
@majcom Do you know where one of those can be purchased cheap? e.g second hand, cheapest Ive seen them for is about 120, which seems pretty steep
I have the Dr. Bott Digital Video link for my 27" iMac. I bought it to run my cable system through the MDP through my late 2009 27" iMac. Haven't tried it through my new 2011 iMac with Thunderbolt now that I have a large flat screen. I'll check and see if it works with the newer port. I paid $150 for it 3 years ago. If it does work I'll post the model number and maybe you can find it on Ebay cheaper. That's about the going rate for it though and these types of options are limited so finding them cheap isn't going to be much of an option. I know the "idea" seems like it would be a cheap solution but it's a signal converter and not just a standard HDMI to MDP.
HenryDJP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:25 PM   #10
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by benthewraith View Post
You'll need an easycap USB dongle. You'll also need the driver for MacOS/software for it.
That dongle is S-VIDEO, so it's SD - max 576p PAL or 480p NTSC.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 03:12 PM   #11
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Am interested in this as well, am thinking of trying getting a USB capture box and running it through windows via fusion 5.....any thoughts on this?
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:52 PM   #12
EPiCDiNGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by initialsBB View Post
That dongle is S-VIDEO, so it's SD - max 576p PAL or 480p NTSC.
It is impossible to play on that capture card or any for that matter as it does not render the video in real I have Hauppage Hd pvr and it has 3seconds input lag same as other devices, they are ment for recording not playing on the other screen. What you need is a kanex converter that costs around $200 to be able to use the Xbox on the iMac.
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro i5 2.4GHz 8GB ram 256 SSD
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
iPad 2 32GB Black
Soon to buy 2012 27" iMac
EPiCDiNGO is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:45 PM   #13
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiCDiNGO View Post
It is impossible to play on that capture card or any for that matter as it does not render the video in real I have Hauppage Hd pvr and it has 3seconds input lag same as other devices, they are ment for recording not playing on the other screen. What you need is a kanex converter that costs around $200 to be able to use the Xbox on the iMac.
but it works only on non TB imacs 27 - it will work for OP, but not for those that own 2011/2012 imacs... and it wont work with any 21 incher.
majkom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:45 PM   #14
iHailCarlo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I use to use a Belkin DVI to HDMi converter. I paid about a $100 for it. This will do what you need it to do.
iHailCarlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:41 AM   #15
antrobus1990
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Herts, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iHailCarlo View Post
I use to use a Belkin DVI to HDMi converter. I paid about a $100 for it. This will do what you need it to do.
So this would allow me to link my ps3 to my mac?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/DVI-D-Male-F...8159943&sr=8-1
antrobus1990 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:27 AM   #16
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by antrobus1990 View Post
So this would allow me to link my ps3 to my mac?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/DVI-D-Male-F...8159943&sr=8-1
No. U need either kanex XD or belkin av360... people, is that realy so hard to use google?
majkom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:49 AM   #17
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity/

I'm starting to look at the thunderbolt verson for ps3 gaming and for a bit of video editing.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:58 AM   #18
lg251
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve119 View Post
http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity/

I'm starting to look at the thunderbolt verson for ps3 gaming and for a bit of video editing.
Is the Intensity Shuttle for thunderbolt enough to play PS3 on the new iMac? or do we need the Intensity Extreme?

I don't seem to see the difference!?
__________________
MBP '09 2.8GHZ, 8GB RAM, 6MB Cache
iMac (late '12) 27'' 16GM RAM 2GDDR5 Graph
rMBP (late '13) i7, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Certified Logic Master Pro by David Nahmani
lg251 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:13 PM   #19
EPiCDiNGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve119 View Post
http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity/

I'm starting to look at the thunderbolt verson for ps3 gaming and for a bit of video editing.
Dont waste your money there is latency on the input u will NOT be able to play in real time. It is impossible at this time to use the ps3 on the thunderbolt display and play in real time.
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro i5 2.4GHz 8GB ram 256 SSD
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
iPad 2 32GB Black
Soon to buy 2012 27" iMac
EPiCDiNGO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:26 PM   #20
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiCDiNGO View Post
Dont waste your money there is latency on the input u will NOT be able to play in real time. It is impossible at this time to use the ps3 on the thunderbolt display and play in real time.
Is that your personal experience with them? I'm not slating you, just wondering how you have came to that conclusion?

Can you not get a minidisplay/thunderbolt adapter and use that with the kanex XD?

Last edited by dejo; Jan 16, 2013 at 02:05 PM. Reason: Removed extraneous COLOR tag.
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:18 PM   #21
WilliamG
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
For the pre-Thunderbolt mini-Displayport 27" iMacs, the best device out there is the Atlona AT-HD620. This provided full 1080p out of any DVI/HDMI device you throw at it. I played PS3/Blu-ray and XBOX 360 through this for several years before giving up my late '09 27" iMac and getting a 2012 27" (and a second display for gaming, - curses!). This devices introduces 0.1ms input lag (or 0.01ms lag - I can't remember!) according to Atlona, so either way you're set. You could play fighters or twitch shooters with ease on this setup, and passes the audio to the iMac as well.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:51 AM   #22
lg251
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
For the pre-Thunderbolt mini-Displayport 27" iMacs, the best device out there is the Atlona AT-HD620. This provided full 1080p out of any DVI/HDMI device you throw at it. I played PS3/Blu-ray and XBOX 360 through this for several years before giving up my late '09 27" iMac and getting a 2012 27" (and a second display for gaming, - curses!). This devices introduces 0.1ms input lag (or 0.01ms lag - I can't remember!) according to Atlona, so either way you're set. You could play fighters or twitch shooters with ease on this setup, and passes the audio to the iMac as well.
When reading through the website, Atlona mentions that it's working on a Thunderbolt hardware to work with the new iMac's!
Let's cross our fingers it's rather sooner than later.
__________________
MBP '09 2.8GHZ, 8GB RAM, 6MB Cache
iMac (late '12) 27'' 16GM RAM 2GDDR5 Graph
rMBP (late '13) i7, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Certified Logic Master Pro by David Nahmani
lg251 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:50 PM   #23
WilliamG
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by lg251 View Post
When reading through the website, Atlona mentions that it's working on a Thunderbolt hardware to work with the new iMac's!
Let's cross our fingers it's rather sooner than later.
It's said that, as far as I recall, for over a year now. I wouldn't expect anything anytime soon. That said, I'm willing (and hoping) to be surprised.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:01 PM   #24
lg251
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
It's said that, as far as I recall, for over a year now. I wouldn't expect anything anytime soon. That said, I'm willing (and hoping) to be surprised.
__________________
MBP '09 2.8GHZ, 8GB RAM, 6MB Cache
iMac (late '12) 27'' 16GM RAM 2GDDR5 Graph
rMBP (late '13) i7, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Certified Logic Master Pro by David Nahmani
lg251 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can PS3 play 4k videos? DBZmusicboy01 Console Games 11 Jul 15, 2014 06:25 AM
What to Play Before Selling My PS3 MICHAELSD Console Games 19 Jan 27, 2014 10:34 AM
27" iMac with Kanex xd and Ps3 MilwaukeeMac90 iMac 0 Jan 9, 2014 04:59 AM
Apple Store Suggestion for PS3 on Late 2012 27" iMac Spimunk iMac 7 Mar 7, 2013 06:47 PM
Windows: How to play FIFA12 on the PC using a PS3 controller? wellsleping Mac and PC Games 0 Dec 14, 2012 03:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC