Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2014, 09:49 AM   #1476
RPJones
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
MSI GeForce GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB in a 3,1

Any idea if this card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127772

The EVGA GTX 285 just bit the dust, and my temp (an old ATI 3870) can't really deal with FPC, AE, etc.

Interested if would fly un-flashed.

Thanks for any knowledge.
__________________
MP 8x2.8 2008, 16g, 2x200 OWC ssd raid OS+Apps, 2.5 tb raid with Rocketraid, 2x20 Cinema, GTX285, '10 MBP i7 17" 8 gig w/2x100 OWC ssd raid , Airport Ext, iPod Classic 80 g
RPJones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 01:48 PM   #1477
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPJones View Post
Any idea if this card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127772

The EVGA GTX 285 just bit the dust, and my temp (an old ATI 3870) can't really deal with FPC, AE, etc.

Interested if would fly un-flashed.

Thanks for any knowledge.
Should be plug-and-play, no worries at all. You won't get a boot screen as discussed in the OP, but that shouldn't be an issue.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 01:59 PM   #1478
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Should be plug-and-play, no worries at all. You won't get a boot screen as discussed in the OP, but that shouldn't be an issue.
Beautiful little card. Very rare in that it has Dual MDP ports so you can run 2 @ ACDs.

We do an EFI version, sent Barefeats a pair for testing, pretty sure he published.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 02:56 PM   #1479
flowrider
macrumors 68000
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Cuda 6.0.54 is available here. But, don't know for how long. I've installed it and it works:

http://www.filedropper.com/cudaosx6054

Lou
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cuda CP.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	85.3 KB
ID:	481083  
flowrider is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 04:23 PM   #1480
RPJones
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thanks for the replies

I'm glad to hear it should work. I do like the 2 mini-display ports. And the smaller size may help for heat in the Mac. Very few seem available here in town (Toronto), but I've found one for 295 CDN (250-ish US), so I'm shopping tomorrow.

I'm not too worried about no EFI = no boot screen. So long as all works once booted, I'm happy. Need that CUDA.

So big thanks to all 3 so far that responded with advice.
__________________
MP 8x2.8 2008, 16g, 2x200 OWC ssd raid OS+Apps, 2.5 tb raid with Rocketraid, 2x20 Cinema, GTX285, '10 MBP i7 17" 8 gig w/2x100 OWC ssd raid , Airport Ext, iPod Classic 80 g
RPJones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2014, 05:32 PM   #1481
RPJones
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Follow up on MSI GeForce GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB

Dropped in the card on the 3,1 this morning and it booted fine. I did update the Nvidia driver and Cuda. I'd forgotten I hadn't upped from 10.9.3 to .4 (the machine stood idle until I put the temp old vid card in, so I missed the update.

I think then I updated the drivers again and all was good there.

Also, I did need to pop into Terminal to add the 760 to the supported card list in both AE and Premiere. I found this link as a guide, and it was pretty simple.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/7...dia-cards.html

Anyway, just wanted to drop that info for anyone thinking of doing the same thing.
__________________
MP 8x2.8 2008, 16g, 2x200 OWC ssd raid OS+Apps, 2.5 tb raid with Rocketraid, 2x20 Cinema, GTX285, '10 MBP i7 17" 8 gig w/2x100 OWC ssd raid , Airport Ext, iPod Classic 80 g
RPJones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2014, 06:12 PM   #1482
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
Cuda 6.0.54 is available here. But, don't know for how long. I've installed it and it works:

http://www.filedropper.com/cudaosx6054

Lou
Thanks, working fine and recognized by BOINC.
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2014, 12:52 PM   #1483
coredump4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: northern VA, USA
For what it's worth, here are my experiences upgrading a friend's MP 3,1 (2008) running Mavericks 10.9.3. Both these cards are commodity PC cards with stock PC BIOSes:

Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti (GF114), model GV-N560OC-1GI: Not stable at all. Multiple issues, including: occasionally lose video output entirely, even when the screensaver is not activated and machine is not asleep; constant crashing/hanging in FCPX. Upgrading to Nvidia web drivers made it more stable, but the 2nd DVI quit working and it can never be awoken from sleep. Summary: basic nightmare.

EVGA GTX 650 (GK107) "SuperClocked", model 01G-P4-2652-KR: Exhibited same inability to wake from sleep using Nvidia's drivers, but works perfectly with the built-in 10.9.3 driver. No sleep issues, no loss of video output, no FCPX crashing. 10.9.4 seems to be stable as well.

HTH!

Last edited by coredump4; Jul 19, 2014 at 01:05 PM.
coredump4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2014, 08:23 AM   #1484
Kolvir
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Has there been any success in getting any card to run under windows using PCIe 2?

One of the reasons I want a new card is for gaming and other uses while booted in windows 7. I need dual monitor support too. I have a 4,1.
Sorry if this has been mentioned before; this thread is extremely difficult to search.
Kolvir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2014, 02:05 PM   #1485
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Nvidia cards need to be flashed to fix this. Each model has required a different mod to turn it on.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2014, 12:11 PM   #1486
Kolvir
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Nvidia cards need to be flashed to fix this. Each model has required a different mod to turn it on.
Is there a guide on how to do this somewhere? Also, How do you tell what speed or protocol (PCIe 1 vs 2) a card is running at?


Say I buy a GTX 760. It would work out of the box at PCIe 2 on 10.9.4 out of the box, but it would need to be flashed to get PCIe 2 under windows, right?

I've also had difficulty in figuring out the power cable needed. The photo on amazon shows a 8 pin to two 6 pin connectors. I'm not sure what I need here. Can I hook this up straight to two six pin connectors in the Mac or do I need a low profile adapter? Or, does this card need an external power source? That would be bad.

I hope to buy a card in the next few days, I appreciate any help.



I should mention that I have been looking at EVGA GeForce GTX760 at Amazon and it is from photos of the box contents that had me wondering about the correct power cable.

Last edited by Kolvir; Jul 22, 2014 at 04:57 PM.
Kolvir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 01:52 PM   #1487
MacGamver
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kolvir View Post
Is there a guide on how to do this somewhere? Also, How do you tell what speed or protocol (PCIe 1 vs 2) a card is running at?


Say I buy a GTX 760. It would work out of the box at PCIe 2 on 10.9.4 out of the box, but it would need to be flashed to get PCIe 2 under windows, right?

I've also had difficulty in figuring out the power cable needed. The photo on amazon shows a 8 pin to two 6 pin connectors. I'm not sure what I need here. Can I hook this up straight to two six pin connectors in the Mac or do I need a low profile adapter? Or, does this card need an external power source? That would be bad.

I hope to buy a card in the next few days, I appreciate any help.



I should mention that I have been looking at EVGA GeForce GTX760 at Amazon and it is from photos of the box contents that had me wondering about the correct power cable.
Yes that should work out of the box, plug-n-play. You will need the two 6 pin cables, but beware; if it comes with some, they may not work. If you have existing cables in your Mac, use those. If not, post #1 here has links for what you need.

Also, yes on the PCIe speeds in Mac vs. windows
MacGamver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2014, 02:03 PM   #1488
Kolvir
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamver View Post
Also, yes on the PCIe speeds in Mac vs. windows

Is it because the Mac Pro does not have BIOS that the card runs at PCIe 1 under windows?

How do I flash it as mentioned above to get it to run under windows at PCIe 2? Will it effect the card when booted into OS X if I do flash it?

Thanks for the help, I have wanted a new card for quite some time and am excited about finally getting one.
Kolvir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:17 AM   #1489
antonioc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
MP 3.1 Gtx 650 and Parallels/Virtualbox emulation SL

Hello
I'm considering to finally upgrade from Snow Leopard to ML and to get a GTX 650 2Gb on my MP 3.1. Just some questions for you:

- For some software I need Rosetta so I'll install Parallels or Virtualbox to emulate Snow Leopard server, does the GTX 650 card work for emulation?

- emulating Windows under Parallels or Virtualbox too?

- sometimes I need to use Final Cut, does the GTX 650 card work for it?

- Is it better a 1 Gb 650 Ti or a 2 Gb not Ti?

Thanks

Last edited by antonioc; Yesterday at 03:28 AM.
antonioc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:17 AM   #1490
MacGamver
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonioc View Post
Hello
I'm considering to finally upgrade from Snow Leopard to ML and to get a GTX 650 2Gb on my MP 3.1. Just some questions for you:

- For some software I need Rosetta so I'll install Parallels or Virtualbox to emulate Snow Leopard server, does the GTX 650 card work for emulation?

- emulating Windows under Parallels or Virtualbox too?

- sometimes I need to use Final Cut, does the GTX 650 card work for it?

- Is it better a 1 Gb 650 Ti or a 2 Gb not Ti?

Thanks
1) I would think the card would work just fine for emulation.

2) Yes, this works for FCP, just install the CUDA driver as well.

3) Hmm... I would think the 2GB not Ti would be a better choice. You can get a 2GB Ti for about the same price anyway.
MacGamver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:51 PM   #1491
antonioc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamver View Post
1)3) Hmm... I would think the 2GB not Ti would be a better choice. You can get a 2GB Ti for about the same price anyway.
Thank you MacGamver, I choosed this 2gb because it doesn't need power other than the PCI-E:
http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/GTX650E2GD5/

do you think it can be a problem on Mac Pro 3.1?
antonioc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:00 AM   #1492
ncg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
For UK folks.

This works, perfectly. GTX 760 in a mac pro 4.1 (2.66, 2009)

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/2gb-g...mhz-cores-1152

It uses two 6Pin power connections. Cables available here.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2911726511...84.m1439.l2649

I installed the Nvidia drivers for 10.9.4 listed on the first post before I installed the card but you don't need to.

I don't have Win 8 installed at the moment so can't test but I'll post back when I can.

Pretty quiet card too.

Last edited by ncg; Today at 05:01 AM. Reason: Relevant information added
ncg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:58 AM   #1493
antonioc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Ok, I'm going to buy this:
http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=2058

Palit GTX 650 Ti 2 gb
100 w with one 6 pin cable

132 from amazon including VAT
antonioc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently Asked Questions About AMD PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards? fiatlux Mac Pro 0 Mar 27, 2014 04:10 AM
Mac-Compatible Nvidia Graphics Cards jblagden Mac Pro 4 Nov 15, 2013 12:15 PM
General: Frequently Asked Jailbreak Questions tymaster50 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 21 Jun 4, 2013 04:43 PM
Windows 8 EFI Grpahics Drivers for nvidia cards d00ski Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 2, 2013 11:06 AM
Full 10.7.5 11G63 installer boot w/ non-EFI NVIDIA? bbbc Mac Pro 2 Dec 6, 2012 06:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC