Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2014, 06:25 PM   #26
Otago Lad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
If you're OK with using a windows OS then I suggest you use Windows Home Server 2011.

To explain - my system is a deicated WHS 2011 sytem with 42TB of storage and I run iTunes on the server itself. This means my destop PC/laptop do not always need to be on - don't listen to people who say you can't run iTunes directly on the server beacuse you can and it causes no issues whatsoever.

I built my own WHS 2011 server using an old HP PC that I lying around but there are plenty of two stop solutions (1- buy server and 2 - install WHS 2011) you can buy.

The advantages of using a WHS 2011 server are:

1. It's a server so you can turn everything else off and just have the server on.

2. It's a server so you can share all your media and files to multiple parties inside your LAN and externally when you're away from home.

3. It's a server so you can host all sorts of services on it such as a website/blog if that interests you.

4. By running iTunes directly on the server that instance of iTunes forms part of your "iTunes Homesharing" network.

5. You can also run Plex or XMBC concurrently with iTunes if you want - I also use Plex as I have a Roku 3 that I use for Amazon Prime and a couple of other things.

6. Tonnes of other reasons which I won't bore you with.

Best thing I ever did was move to the server option as trying to work out how to store all the DVD/Blu-ray rips I wanted to make and also a growing amount of music and photo's was doing my head in.
__________________
HP PC (i7, 24GB Ram, 256GB SSD), Sony VPCZ22TGX (i7 256GB SSD), iPhone 5's, iPad 1, iPad 2(x2), iPad 3, aTV2(x2), aTV3, Homemade WHS2011 Server (i7, 256GB SSD, 38TB storage), ASUS RT-AC66U WiFi Router
Otago Lad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2014, 08:40 PM   #27
westrock2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeRoLiMiT View Post
I have the same setup. Would be nice if itunes accepted nas drives that way we dont have to have a computer up and running all the time
You could have itunes run on a very low power computer such as an Intel NUC or Gigabyte Brix. Then have it feed data from the NAS. But a direct access would be nice. But doesn't mesh well with the way itunes is used.
westrock2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2014, 12:28 AM   #28
priitv8
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by westrock2000 View Post
But a direct access would be nice. But doesn't mesh well with the way itunes is used.
The only problem I see here is the Home Sharing authentication. Which means, Apple should open the spec to 3rd parties.
priitv8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 08:15 AM   #29
matrix07
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marzer View Post
And with enough external storage you can even designate the host computer as a Time Machine host for the other computers in the house.
May I ask how?
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2011, iPad 2 16 GB., iPad mini 16 GB., iPhone 4 16 GB.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 08:47 AM   #30
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix07 View Post
May I ask how?
I use OS X Server to establish the computer as a Time Machine host.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 09:37 AM   #31
matrix07
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marzer View Post
I use OS X Server to establish the computer as a Time Machine host.
Oh, I don't have Server one. Thanks anyway.
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2011, iPad 2 16 GB., iPad mini 16 GB., iPhone 4 16 GB.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 12:39 PM   #32
JohnnyComeLatly
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I can't agree with this because Cat5E is capable of running 10Gbit up to 350 feet. Also, you only mention cabling. If you're running Cat6, you need to upgrade your wall plate ports and any structured wiring to Cat6 plugs as well. I have been searching for a trade journal I read a couple years ago, but the gist of it was that co-mingling Cat6 within a Cat5E system created an electrical interference issue that actually slowed the performance below 5E levels. So, all 5E would be faster than a Cat 6 cable between two 5E ports.

I have streamed two HD movies, surfed internet, and started a Skype call via Wifi N, which is no where maxing a 1GB Ethernet router, and had no performance issues. Hence, putting an external switch within a router is huge overkill. Now, if you need to expand your home router, sure. But it's not a good reason to do it because you want to stream 1-2 HD movies within your house.

I will caveat this with: I'm talking about current, 3rd party routers. I was at a friends who used the DSL router from AT&T and their routers are HORRIBLE. A single low def video from a NAS to MacBook Pro stuttered excessively. This was the same NAS that streamed to two macs just fine with a $40 chinese knock off router (TP-Link?).

Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
The import thing is make sure your network is truly using it's full bandwidth. Don't reply on your router's port for local network sped. Buy an external Gigabyte Switch (it doesn't have to be D-Link but get a good home switch) and use only CAT 6 cable. This way you know your internal network is using the fastest Ethernet possible today, unless you want to go fiber cable everywhere.
__________________
2 iPad (2nd gen), New iPad (3rd gen), iPhone 5, Apple TV, 2008 build iMac, 2012 Mac Mini base (OWC upgraded SSD, more memory), 2008 MBP w/ Hybrid SSD/Platter HD, 2012 MBA
JohnnyComeLatly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 04:05 PM   #33
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyComeLatly View Post
I can't agree with this because Cat5E is capable of running 10Gbit up to 350 feet. Also, you only mention cabling. If you're running Cat6, you need to upgrade your wall plate ports and any structured wiring to Cat6 plugs as well. I have been searching for a trade journal I read a couple years ago, but the gist of it was that co-mingling Cat6 within a Cat5E system created an electrical interference issue that actually slowed the performance below 5E levels. So, all 5E would be faster than a Cat 6 cable between two 5E ports.
r (TP-Link?).
CAT 5E was a stop gap from a while back! Plus hogwash, one Ethernet cable can't give off electric (unless is powered CAT6 cable)interference. The only thing that could affect Ethernet cable is electrical. That is why there us CAT 5 or 6 Shielded cable (that have a aluminum covering the inside small wires). The unshielded cable is called UTP (Unshielded Twisted Pair).

Plus should one just future Proof there networks whenever possible since most Ethernet CAT 6 cable is really cheap these days. Plus when 10G Ethernet come down the line only CAT6A and above will be able to get true speeds.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2014, 07:25 PM   #34
jammybastard
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 53705
thanks to all who contributed to this thread.
I've got a similar issue.

Just moved my iTunes library to a Seagate 3TB GoFlex using the drive's USB2.0 port into my Airport Extreme USB slot.
Pointed iTunes to the GoFlex once I got it to show up on my network.
Now I can stream my m4v encoded video files to the AppleTV without
taking up space on my MBP boot drive.
Playing files is great. No issues.

But...

Is there anyway to improve the network performance of the GoFlex when transferring or updating file info?
Operations grind to a standstill when I transfer a file or even modify file information from my MBP to the iTunes library on the GoFlex.
iTunes Match updates routinely fail, I'm assuming due to the connection with Apple's servers timing out.

Is it because USB2.0 connection creates a bottleneck and doesn't handle traffic/multiple operations very well?
Is it an OSX/iTunes issue?
How do I fix this?

Any help is appreciated.
__________________
'11 MBP '08 MBP iPhone 5 IPad 1/2/3 iOS7 AppleTV

Last edited by jammybastard; Mar 23, 2014 at 07:36 PM.
jammybastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2014, 08:19 AM   #35
Panch0
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jammybastard View Post
thanks to all who contributed to this thread.
I've got a similar issue.

Just moved my iTunes library to a Seagate 3TB GoFlex using the drive's USB2.0 port into my Airport Extreme USB slot.
Pointed iTunes to the GoFlex once I got it to show up on my network.
Now I can stream my m4v encoded video files to the AppleTV without
taking up space on my MBP boot drive.
Playing files is great. No issues.

But...

Is there anyway to improve the network performance of the GoFlex when transferring or updating file info?
Operations grind to a standstill when I transfer a file or even modify file information from my MBP to the iTunes library on the GoFlex.
iTunes Match updates routinely fail, I'm assuming due to the connection with Apple's servers timing out.

Is it because USB2.0 connection creates a bottleneck and doesn't handle traffic/multiple operations very well?
Is it an OSX/iTunes issue?
How do I fix this?

Any help is appreciated.
Massive Writes are bad in this setup. I managed to overheat my Airport Extreme to the point where the USB port just gave up and decided the drive wasn't attached anymore. That was done by trying to rip DVDs from two Macs directly to the attached device. Just too much for the Airport to handle.

I would guess that your issues with iTunes Match may be due to having your Library file on the attached disc. A better setup is to leave the Library ( a sort of XML index of your content) on the local disc, but put the actual media files on the attached disc. This lets iTunes know the content of your library from the local, while playing media from the remote drive.

Any NAS solution (which is effectively what you have ) is a pain with iTunes. It can work, but Direct Attached Storage is just much easier to deal with.
Panch0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2014, 08:25 AM   #36
jammybastard
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 53705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panch0 View Post

Any NAS solution (which is effectively what you have ) is a pain with iTunes. It can work, but Direct Attached Storage is just much easier to deal with.
Thanks. I was afraid of that.
__________________
'11 MBP '08 MBP iPhone 5 IPad 1/2/3 iOS7 AppleTV
jammybastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I reconnect a NAS (for iTunes movies) MrMister111 iMac 8 Feb 6, 2014 06:55 AM
My NAS + Apple TV solution Crzyrio Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Mar 15, 2013 02:56 PM
Nas-to-Home Sharing Apple TV vs Nas-to-Mac iTunes Airplay Stream? iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Feb 2, 2013 10:35 PM
Streaming movies to ATV3 from iTunes, USB vs NAS nickosbad Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Jan 20, 2013 09:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC