Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 3, 2013, 03:19 AM   #1
Dr. McKay
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
Call of Duty 2 Mac App Store

Is the app store version of this game still as buggy as it was in the beginning ? Have there been updates ?
__________________
I had been eating Apples for 15 years and I was getting a little tired of them... So all I'm eating now is fish...
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 01:13 AM   #2
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
Is the app store version of this game still as buggy as it was in the beginning ? Have there been updates ?
Its pretty good from what i've played. not that buggy
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 04:16 PM   #3
MagnusVonMagnum
macrumors 68040
 
MagnusVonMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I keep getting tiny little split second pauses/stutters every time something new loads while in the middle of a mission (i.e. some new directive or whatever). It may have something to do with my RAID0 configuration on my Mac Mini or there might be something interrupting it or it may be something with the game. I don't know if anyone else has experienced it or not. Otherwise, I have the game running at the native resolution of my widescreen monitor (1650x1050) and it's as smooth as it can be until that weirdness occurs once in awhile (every couple of minutes on average, although sometimes more often; it depends on what's going on in the game I think). It just stops for a split second then continues on, creating a "jump" in the action (like a stutter, but doesn't keep doing it and doesn't appear to be related to any amount of things happening on the screen what-so-ever).

The thing is I've seen similar effects while playing Lucasfilm games in a virtualized WindowsXP environment so I'm starting to suspect there's either an OSX issue in general going on or something with the RAID0 configuration (don't recall offhand whether it did it or not before RAID0; I suppose I could boot off the external CCC backup drive instead and run it from there and see if there's any difference).

Edit:

I tried the external drive. It does seem like the pauses were less, usually barely noticeable, at least on the level I was on so I do get the feeling the hard drive and/or drivers are involved somehow. RAID0 should be faster (and does boot and copy MUCH faster, but it seems like the game is affected by something it's doing slightly more than the external). I don't think the test is conclusive, however. I'll try the same level with the RAID0 drive, but a machine of this speed should not have an issue loading and running something at the same time with 4 CPU (and 8 thread) i7 cores.
__________________
Mac Mini Server 2012 (2.3GHz Quad i7, 8GB, 2x1TB RAID 0) ; External 12x Memorex Blu-Ray USB3, External WD 3x3TB,1x2TB HD USB3)
15" Matte MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB/500GB, NVidia 8600M GT; 3 ATV; 2 iPod Touch

Last edited by MagnusVonMagnum; May 30, 2013 at 06:10 PM.
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2013, 04:54 PM   #4
MagnusVonMagnum
macrumors 68040
 
MagnusVonMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
A hint on a Diablo 3 forum got rid of my stutter problem with Call of Duty 2 and 4. I bought a SanDisk 32GB USB3 thumb drive (supposedly a USB2 drive works also) and copied the games over to them before running them. The stutter issue is 100% gone when run from that memory drive (even though it's mostly slower than the RAID0 drive even with a USB3 version; random access may be better and there might be an issue with a driver somewhere or something).
__________________
Mac Mini Server 2012 (2.3GHz Quad i7, 8GB, 2x1TB RAID 0) ; External 12x Memorex Blu-Ray USB3, External WD 3x3TB,1x2TB HD USB3)
15" Matte MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB/500GB, NVidia 8600M GT; 3 ATV; 2 iPod Touch
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 12:05 AM   #5
Soccer5se
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Korea
I've had no problems running this game at high res. The game is smooth and I get really high frame rates. Online play is also excellent.
Soccer5se is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 02:34 AM   #6
Dr. McKay
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
COD2 is now available on Steam as well for the Mac. It's only 2 euro more expensive so I guess better get that version then ?
__________________
I had been eating Apples for 15 years and I was getting a little tired of them... So all I'm eating now is fish...
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 02:42 AM   #7
james1758
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
I havent had any major problems with this game at current.
__________________
13" uMBP, Mid 2009, 8GB RAM
27" iMac, Late 2012, 32GB RAM, 3TB FD
iPhone 5, 32GB, iOS7, JB
aTV 2, JB
james1758 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 08:17 AM   #8
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
COD2 is now available on Steam as well for the Mac. It's only 2 euro more expensive so I guess better get that version then ?
The two versions should be the same once you've downloaded them. You might even be able to copy the .app file out of your Steam folder into the standard Applications folder and have it work exactly the same as the App Store edition; no need to run Steam while playing. If that's the case (haven't tried it myself), I would get the Steam version because the downloads tend to be faster and more reliable.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | Between SSDs at the moment | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call of Duty Companion App sagar4995 Console Games 0 Mar 1, 2014 02:07 AM
OS X: Giveaway, Call of Duty Black Ops for Mac MacGamerHQ Mac and PC Games 0 Jun 27, 2013 02:47 PM
Call of Duty Black Ops for Mac freeze problems horace528 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 13, 2012 11:33 PM
Call of Duty 4 For Mac pinkfloydfan810 Mac and PC Games 1 Jul 8, 2012 03:42 PM
Call of Duty : Black Ops for Mac Queso Mac and PC Games 12 Jul 6, 2012 05:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC