Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 13, 2012, 11:10 PM   #1
richard13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Which band do devices use with Time Capsule?

Hi.

I have a 1TB Time Capsule. Not sure which generation it is but I do know it has simultaneous dual-band. Up until now I haven't given my 5Ghz band a different name and have Time Capsule configured for 5Ghz n, 2.4Ghz b/g/n, trusting that my devices would determine which band to use automatically.

But I'm wondering, is there any way to tell for sure? I think I remember a long time ago that the AirPort Utility gave more options so you could see which devices were connecting to which bands but I may be mistaken.

I experimented by giving my 5Ghz network a different name and found that my devices didn't switch to it without being told. This makes me wonder if they were defaulting to 2.4Ghz all along.

Anyone know?

Thanks!
__________________
iMac Late 2013 27", i7 3.5 GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late 2013 15", i7 2.3 GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
iPhone 5 White & Silver 32GB
richard13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:09 AM   #2
nephron8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
it does not matter.
it depends on device support.
if it has 5 ghz , it will connect on that band.
else 2.4
nephron8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:09 AM   #3
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
The best way to get devices to use 5Ghz is to give the 5Ghz band a different network name.
Then set the order of WiFi Preferred Networks in each device's System Preferences>Network>WiFi>Advanced to reflect this.
__________________
2012 Mini, 2011 13" MBA, iPad2, iPhone4S, iPhone5, Custom i5 3550.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:05 AM   #4
richard13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Thanks guys. Yea, I gave my 5Ghz network a different name and chose it manually. I just with there was a way to confirm that this really was happening automatically without that.
__________________
iMac Late 2013 27", i7 3.5 GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late 2013 15", i7 2.3 GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
iPhone 5 White & Silver 32GB
richard13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:11 PM   #5
johnnyturbouk
macrumors 65816
 
johnnyturbouk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
sorry to go off topic
i wonder when apple will release an updated wifi:ac-version of the time capsule?
__________________
An fanboi since in-utero

Last edited by johnnyturbouk; Dec 15, 2012 at 01:34 PM.
johnnyturbouk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:17 PM   #6
richard13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyturbouk View Post
sorry to go off topic
i wonder when apple will release an updated wifi:ac-version of the time capsule?
wifi:ac-version? Huh? Air conditioning?
__________________
iMac Late 2013 27", i7 3.5 GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late 2013 15", i7 2.3 GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
iPhone 5 White & Silver 32GB
richard13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:37 AM   #7
johnnyturbouk
macrumors 65816
 
johnnyturbouk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard13 View Post
wifi:ac-version? Huh? Air conditioning?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5piN View Post
Yea but that particular LaCie is in a raid array so you're going to get higher results as there is 2 x 256gb ssds. I get around 358/386mbs but my Samsung is a single 256gb ssd.

The rugged LaCie wold be a better comparison as its a single 256gb ssd and I know it runs slower I think it's around 250/345
IEEE 802.11ac - the next big standard in wifi

1 gigabit per second and a maximum single link throughput of at least 500 megabits per second (500 Mbit/s)

and

anandtech.com-review

and

review of 5 802.11ac routers
__________________
An fanboi since in-utero
johnnyturbouk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC