Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:25 PM   #1
Chiuy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NorCal, Bay Area
Send a message via AIM to Chiuy Send a message via MSN to Chiuy Send a message via Skype™ to Chiuy
Will iPhone 3GS Unlock work with T-Mobile?

The phone was originally ATT and I unlocked it then updated to the latest software version 6.0.1(?)
Will the phone work with T-Mobile? I unlocked it by purchasing a IMEI unlock code on eBay.

Do I need to jailbreak it?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2011, Intel i5 2.3GHz
HP Elite, Intel i7 960 @3.2GHz 2GB ATI 5770, 12GB Ram, 1.5TB HD, 22" Samsung PX2370.
Chiuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:34 PM   #2
yeah
macrumors 6502a
 
yeah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
It should work, that said if you live in a refarmed spectrum area (T-Mobile is using 1700 MHz 3G and 4G but is upgrading most of their towers to support the iPhone).

www.airportal.de should give you an unofficial reading if you're covered.
__________________
Steve Jobs (1955-2011).
Toshiba PC.
iPhone 5S 16 GB Gold.
iPad 2 with iOS 7.1.
yeah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:48 PM   #3
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Yes, if its IMEI unlocked then it will work fine with tmobile.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:52 PM   #4
pdxmatts
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiuy View Post
The phone was originally ATT and I unlocked it then updated to the latest software version 6.0.1(?)
Will the phone work with T-Mobile? I unlocked it by purchasing a IMEI unlock code on eBay.

Do I need to jailbreak it?
You do no need to jailbreak it if it is unlocked. You can use it on T-Mobile if you have a T-mobile sim card. If your area has not been updated, you will get Edge data speeds until then.
__________________
iPhone 5 (32 GB) Black iPhone 4S (16 GB) White MacBook Pro 13"
Blackberry Bold 9900 - HP TouchPad (32 GB) Web OS Dual Boot w/Android - Nexus 4
pdxmatts is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 05:39 AM   #5
Sedrick
macrumors 68030
 
Sedrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yes, if its IMEI unlocked then it will work fine with tmobile.
Yes (I just checked for my old 3GS).
__________________
iPod Nano, iPod Touch, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5C, iPad 2
Sedrick is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC