Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:25 PM   #1
kingoftherolex
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Exclamation iOS 7 - Activation Error

Hi everybody, I have a small problem.

I tried restoring my iphone to ios 7 beta 4 instead of downgrading and then upgrading, and now my phone is stuck on the activation error. I have tried putting it in DFU and restoring, but it isn't working.

Does anybody know anything I can do to fix this?

I have an iPhone 5.
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:26 PM   #2
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
get a dev account (should be very cheap for the King of Rolex :P ) or DFU and restore to official firmware for the populace.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:26 PM   #3
djvidi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Hi everybody, I have a small problem.

I tried restoring my iphone to ios 7 beta 4 instead of downgrading and then upgrading, and now my phone is stuck on the activation error. I have tried putting it in DFU and restoring, but it isn't working.

Does anybody know anything I can do to fix this?

I have an iPhone 5.
If your not part of the developer program you will need to restore to iOS 6.
djvidi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:31 PM   #4
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
get a dev account (should be very cheap for the King of Rolex :P ) or DFU and restore to official firmware for the populace.
see that's the thing though, I downloaded the IPSW for 6.1.4 and I keep selecting it and it says "you are not eligible for the current build number"
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:33 PM   #5
djvidi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
see that's the thing though, I downloaded the IPSW for 6.1.4 and I keep selecting it and it says "you are not eligible for the current build number"
Have you downloaded the correct version for the model of phone you have. I'd recheck and confirm the version you have as the process you are following to downgrade is correct.
djvidi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:33 PM   #6
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
see that's the thing though, I downloaded the IPSW for 6.1.4 and I keep selecting it and it says "you are not eligible for the current build number"
You prob downloaded the wrong version. Make sure is the one for your phone.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:40 PM   #7
lolkthxbai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Are you a registered iPhone developer? Not just enrolled but registered and paid your $99 your fee. If not then you must restore back to 6.1.3 or 6.1.4 depending on your device. Hopefully you have a backup saved on iTunes or in iCloud from iOS 6 and not iOS 7. Otherwise, you won't get any of your information back.
lolkthxbai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:40 PM   #8
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djvidi View Post
Have you downloaded the correct version for the model of phone you have. I'd recheck and confirm the version you have as the process you are following to downgrade is correct.
okay, it appeared I had the right one but I am currently redownloading the correct IPSW just to be safe. I really hope this does it.
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:44 PM   #9
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
okay, it appeared I had the right one but I am currently redownloading the correct IPSW just to be safe. I really hope this does it.
If you have any issues DFU + Restore as NEW.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:46 PM   #10
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Okay, I definitely have the right one. I have iOS 6.1.4 for GSM (I have AT&T). and I put my phone into DFU, it shows up in iTunes as recovery, and when I try to restore (by using the option button, and selecting the ipsw) it says this iPhone isn't eligible for this build number.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
If you have any issues DFU + Restore as NEW.
That is what I am doing. I am considering taking it into the Apple store and saying it is stuck in DFU and won't restore to iOS 6.1.4
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:55 PM   #11
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Okay, I definitely have the right one. I have iOS 6.1.4 for GSM (I have AT&T). and I put my phone into DFU, it shows up in iTunes as recovery, and when I try to restore (by using the option button, and selecting the ipsw) it says this iPhone isn't eligible for this build number.

----------



That is what I am doing. I am considering taking it into the Apple store and saying it is stuck in DFU and won't restore to iOS 6.1.4
Each iPhone has a different 6.1 so make sure you are downloading the specific one for the model specific. IMO just let iTunes download it for you instead of an outside link
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 01:56 PM   #12
djvidi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Okay, I definitely have the right one. I have iOS 6.1.4 for GSM (I have AT&T). and I put my phone into DFU, it shows up in iTunes as recovery, and when I try to restore (by using the option button, and selecting the ipsw) it says this iPhone isn't eligible for this build number.

----------



That is what I am doing. I am considering taking it into the Apple store and saying it is stuck in DFU and won't restore to iOS 6.1.4
Done a quick search and only other option is an out of date version of itunes could be causing the problem.
djvidi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:03 PM   #13
stringent
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Make sure your host file hasn't been edited (may have been if you have ever jail broken your phone or used tiny umbrella to edit stuff)

You may have to use TinyUmbrella to force the software back onto your phone if you are 100% sure it's the right version for your iPhone 5.
stringent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:06 PM   #14
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Is there any 3rd party software I can use for restoring an iPhone that is in DFU?

I am not interested in the back up atm, just in getting my phone to work.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by stringent View Post
Make sure your host file hasn't been edited (may have been if you have ever jail broken your phone or used tiny umbrella to edit stuff)

You may have to use TinyUmbrella to force the software back onto your phone if you are 100% sure it's the right version for your iPhone 5.
How would I use TinyUmbrella to do that?

and this phone has never been jailbroken.
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:07 PM   #15
kraftb0x
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
Each iPhone has a different 6.1 so make sure you are downloading the specific one for the model specific. IMO just let iTunes download it for you instead of an outside link
This should pretty much do it for you.
kraftb0x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:08 PM   #16
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraftb0x View Post
This should pretty much do it for you.
I have tried that, I have tried just plugging it in and hitting restore. sadly, that is not working
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:13 PM   #17
lolkthxbai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Okay, I definitely have the right one. I have iOS 6.1.4 for GSM (I have AT&T). and I put my phone into DFU, it shows up in iTunes as recovery, and when I try to restore (by using the option button, and selecting the ipsw) it says this iPhone isn't eligible for this build number.

----------



That is what I am doing. I am considering taking it into the Apple store and saying it is stuck in DFU and won't restore to iOS 6.1.4
Don't use the option + restore method. Try just plugging in the iPhone in DFU mode and single click restore. iTunes should download the correct ipsw bundle for your phone and install it. Since you mentioned the activation error I'm assuming you had iOS 7 beta 4 but never got past the activation screen. In that case, if you take it to an Apple store even in DFU mode it's visually different from DFU mode in iOS 6 so there might be a chance that they refuse to help you because they don't official perform support for iOS 7 yet. Also, before restoring, I suggest you download the latest version of iTunes and install it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
I have tried that, I have tried just plugging it in and hitting restore. sadly, that is not working
Can you post a screenshot of your iPhone tab in iTunes when you plug it in? You should blur sensitive info like the serial though before posting.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Is there any 3rd party software I can use for restoring an iPhone that is in DFU?

I am not interested in the back up atm, just in getting my phone to work.

----------



How would I use TinyUmbrella to do that?

and this phone has never been jailbroken.
Even if you personally never used TinyUmbrella or jailbroke your phone there is still a chance that another user on the computer might have. Just to be sure, you should check your Host file to get that possibility out of the way.
lolkthxbai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:15 PM   #18
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjsterilite View Post
Don't use the option + restore method. Try just plugging in the iPhone in DFU mode and single click restore. iTunes should download the correct ipsw bundle for your phone and install it. Since you mentioned the activation error I'm assuming you had iOS 7 beta 4 but never got past the activation screen. In that case, if you take it to an Apple store even in DFU mode it's visually different from DFU mode in iOS 6 so there might be a chance that they refuse to help you because they don't official perform support for iOS 7 yet. Also, before restoring, I suggest you download the latest version of iTunes and install it.

----------


Can you post a screenshot of your iPhone tab in iTunes when you plug it in? You should blur sensitive info like the serial though before posting.
Here's a screenshot of my iphone tab


and here's a screenshot of my error message


----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjsterilite View Post
Even if you personally never used TinyUmbrella or jailbroke your phone there is still a chance that another user on the computer might have. Just to be sure, you should check your Host file to get that possibility out of the way.
how would I do this and what should I be doing?
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:22 PM   #19
lolkthxbai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Here's a screenshot of my iphone tab
Image

and here's a screenshot of my error message
Image

----------



how would I do this and what should I be doing?
Follow the steps in this video to get access to your host file. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tw55UBv79X8
Typically you shouldn't have any entries except for maybe a local host entry. If I'm not mistaken tiny umbrella will add an entry with the Apple website name in it.
lolkthxbai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:30 PM   #20
kingoftherolex
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Resolved

Thanks to everybody that participated in this thread, I really appreciate all the help you guys gave me.

In the end it turned out my host files were the problem and I got it sorted. Once again, thanks everybody!
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHZ i7, 750 GB HD, 8 GB Ram
Gold iPhone 5S 32 GB
White iPad Air 32 GB
kingoftherolex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:30 PM   #21
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Here's a screenshot of my iphone tab
Image

and here's a screenshot of my error message
Image

----------



how would I do this and what should I be doing?
don't click option+restore, just left click restore ONCE and let iTunes download the ipsw.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjsterilite View Post
Follow the steps in this video to get access to your host file. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tw55UBv79X8
Typically you shouldn't have any entries except for maybe a local host entry. If I'm not mistaken tiny umbrella will add an entry with the Apple website name in it.
hosts files have nothing to do with this simple problem.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:34 PM   #22
lolkthxbai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
don't click option+restore, just left click restore ONCE and let iTunes download the ipsw.


hosts files have nothing to do with this simple problem.
As the OP mentioned in the post above, his issue was related to the Host file.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingoftherolex View Post
Thanks to everybody that participated in this thread, I really appreciate all the help you guys gave me.

In the end it turned out my host files were the problem and I got it sorted. Once again, thanks everybody!
Cheers!
lolkthxbai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 10:54 AM   #23
Want300
macrumors 65816
 
Want300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
I am having a similar issue, maybe someone here can shed some light on it for me. I am a registered developer, I have my UDID registered for my iPhone 5 and successfully used iOS 7 Beta's 1-3.

While using Beta 4 (a couple of days in), my phone "unactivated" I guess is the best way to put it. The screen turned black, and I saw the apple screen in the middle of typing a message (which happened to me quite a few times with the beta's). When it came back on, it had an activation error. I followed all the instructions, but could not get my phone working. I was leaving for a trip to Napa and had no time to deal with it properly.

Eventually, I was able to get it back to 6.1.4 using DFU mode and the IPSW for 6.1.4

Now, when I try to reload the Beta, I get error 4027. Anyone have any advice on overcoming this issue?
__________________
AT&T 64 GB iPhone 5 | Sprint 16 GB iPhone 4S | 15" MacBook Pro - 2.4 GHz i7 | 32 GB iPad 2 Wifi | Apple TV
Want300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 11:11 AM   #24
Want300
macrumors 65816
 
Want300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Here is an image:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iPhonemessage.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	427985  
__________________
AT&T 64 GB iPhone 5 | Sprint 16 GB iPhone 4S | 15" MacBook Pro - 2.4 GHz i7 | 32 GB iPad 2 Wifi | Apple TV
Want300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activation Error updating to iOS 7.0.4 endlightend iOS 7 8 Jan 25, 2014 09:05 AM
Activation error 7.1b3 virginblue4 iOS 7 13 Jan 9, 2014 05:36 PM
iPhone with iOS 7 Activation Error jsf8x iOS 7 16 Oct 6, 2013 06:48 PM
iOS 7 Activation Error, and won't let me update back to iOS 7. phyllmoore52 iOS 7 3 Aug 29, 2013 05:14 PM
iPad: Device Stuck at "Activation Error" for iOS 7 Beta 2 IPSW Installation rahul247rocks iOS 7 3 Jul 8, 2013 04:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC