Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2012, 04:27 PM   #1
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Link aggregation with Thunderbolt->Ethernet adapter?

Hi all,

I realize that nobody knows if the thunderbolt -> ethernet adapter will support link aggregation yet:

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD463ZM/A

I hope it does. I just ordered one on overnight. Says it will be here tomorrow or Wednesday. So, I'll let you know pretty soon.

For anyone who doesnt know:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Link_aggregation
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2012, 12:54 PM   #2
Cecco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
What's the result of your testing? Does it support link aggregation with the internal ethernet port?
Cecco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2012, 03:22 PM   #3
radiogoober
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecco View Post
What's the result of your testing? Does it support link aggregation with the internal ethernet port?
Yes, it does. It works fantastically. It took like three clicks in system preferences and a little configuration on my switch and it was good to go.

It works fine through reboots, but if I power off and on I have to reconfigure one setting in my switch. But besides that, I am completely pleased.
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2012, 02:22 AM   #4
dampfdruck
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Very interesting.
Is it a 802.3ad LAG?
dampfdruck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2012, 04:57 AM   #5
Cecco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Good news after the long wait. :-)
A pity, Apple didn't supply the adapter with a second Thunderbolt port for daisy-chaining more than one adapter. So for anything faster than 2 Gbit ethernet we have to wait again for the appearance of a Thunderbolt hub at least for all Macs with a single Thunderbolt port. :-/
Cecco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2012, 06:52 AM   #6
Mr-Stabby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Does anybody know if it supports Jumbo Frames? I imagine there would be an uproar from some creative professionals if it didn't. Me being one of them
Mr-Stabby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:00 PM   #7
awaddon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi, which switch are you using?, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
Yes, it does. It works fantastically. It took like three clicks in system preferences and a little configuration on my switch and it was good to go.

It works fine through reboots, but if I power off and on I have to reconfigure one setting in my switch. But besides that, I am completely pleased.
awaddon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 04:32 AM   #8
Cecco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by awaddon View Post
Hi, which switch are you using?, thanks
Well you didn't ask me but I use either Netgear GS748TP or GS108T-200 and they work both after the initial configuration.

An I don't have to reconfigure anything after a reboot.

Pete
Cecco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:11 PM   #9
freejazz-man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
you should be able to save the LAG in a switch configuration so that it wont need switch configuration after a reboot.
freejazz-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2014, 10:55 AM   #10
mvmanolov
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
Yes, it does. It works fantastically. It took like three clicks in system preferences and a little configuration on my switch and it was good to go.

It works fine through reboots, but if I power off and on I have to reconfigure one setting in my switch. But besides that, I am completely pleased.
Could you please post what system prefs you modified. Thanks.
__________________
| 2014 13" rMBP i5 | 2013 13" MBA i7 | 2012 Mac Mini i7 | 2012 13" MBP i5 | 2008 13" MB c2d | 2006 iMac c2d | iPad Air | iPad 3 | iPhone 6 | iPhone 5 | iPhone 4S | iPhone 4 | iPhone 3 |
mvmanolov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2014, 04:14 PM   #11
DominusExult
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Thanks to the OP, I just registered to ask whether it was possible to combine the internal ethernet with a Thunderbolt/Ethernet adapter. Gave it one last chance to turn up in a search and seems I used the correct search keywords and found this.

So thanks for answering my question I never got to ask.
Now I only need to decide what to use, a dock or the single Thunderbolt/Ethernet adapter...
DominusExult is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini Server Link aggregation - Thunderbolt or USB 3 gigabit ethernet adaptors gavcooper Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 21 Aug 19, 2014 02:55 PM
Ethernet Link Aggregation W/ Thunderbolt Display ThisIsNotMe Mac Peripherals 11 Feb 6, 2014 08:57 AM
2013 Mac Pro Thunderbolt to Ethernet Link Aggregation macmanss Mac Pro 12 Jan 19, 2014 11:39 PM
iMac with Link Aggregation using Thunderbolt to Ethernet? nemesis379 Mac Peripherals 3 Apr 18, 2013 11:22 AM
rMBP Thunderbolt-Ethernet Link Down karhong MacBook Pro 0 Dec 20, 2012 01:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC