Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 09:18 AM   #1
CountBrass
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
802.11n on MP 1.1

I'd like to add 802.11n to my MP1.1. Internal would be preferred or a USB solution I can plug into the back of my Cinema Display.

Looked in my local PC World and was told the Linksys/ Cisco and NetgearUSBs wouldn't work with a Mac (I suspect this isn't true).

Suggestions?
CountBrass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:12 AM   #2
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I'm pretty sure they would work, especially now that 802.11n is finalised. Best bet is to get one from a store with a return policy.When it's plugged in you may have to set it up in the internet section of system preferences, as in add it in to the list of interfaces.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:29 PM   #3
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
TP Link

TL-WDN4800

Wireless N PCI-e card works OOTB
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:56 PM   #4
CountBrass
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Thank you both.

I ordered the TP Link card
CountBrass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:52 PM   #5
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Why not use Apple's internal solution? Works for me...
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Quad 2.8Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 6TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 03:27 AM   #6
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
The TP link card is better than Apples..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 08:37 AM   #7
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I'm also looking to put 802.11n in my MP 1,1....

Is there somewhere I can find which TP Link cards are compatible? Are they all compatible OOTB in OS X?
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 06:37 PM   #8
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
I'm also looking to put 802.11n in my MP 1,1....

Is there somewhere I can find which TP Link cards are compatible? Are they all compatible OOTB in OS X?
The TP link card I posted is compatible OOTB..Where to get them I dunno. I get them from K&M Computers locally. Their wired NIC's are also compatible..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 08:01 PM   #9
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
If you don't want a bunch of junk hanging out the back of your computer, just get a replacement that has N.

I can confirm that it adds N support and doubles link speed.

I got mine for all 3 Mac Pros, it is an exercise in frustration snapping all 3 antennas on, but worth it.

Here is one for $7:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-020-...item257bc27164

I got 4 of these for $20 each, all 3 I installed worked perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/450M-Apple-A...item2c6939bed1

Have a look inside your Pro. While there are only 2 antenna plugs on existing Airport card, there are 3 wires.....
MacVidCards is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:04 PM   #10
kenetic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Below is what I got. I think it's pretty good.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/NewerTech/MXP3802NU2C/

NewerTech MaxPower
USB Wireless Adapter
kenetic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 01:28 AM   #11
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
If you don't want a bunch of junk hanging out the back of your computer, just get a replacement that has N.

I can confirm that it adds N support and doubles link speed.

I got mine for all 3 Mac Pros, it is an exercise in frustration snapping all 3 antennas on, but worth it.

Here is one for $7:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-020-...item257bc27164

I got 4 of these for $20 each, all 3 I installed worked perfectly.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/450M-Apple-A...item2c6939bed1

Have a look inside your Pro. While there are only 2 antenna plugs on existing Airport card, there are 3 wires.....
Wait, there really are 3 wires for wifi? I thought there are 2 + 1 for BT, but never actually had a chance to look inside. So how is it, really?
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 01:55 AM   #12
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
I updated in all 3 models of Mac Pro.

They all had Airport Ext cards from Apple and they had 2 wires hooked up, one still shrouded in plastic. The new cards I linked had 3 ports.

You can verify the doubling of wireless speed with Network Utility, in your App folder.

So for $20 you get faster wireless, and no wires or USB dongles or antennas using up a PCIE slot.

But honestly, I think most of those MBP cards with N would work as well.

Cheap, needs no drivers, utilizes all 3 built in antennae. It's a win-win.

I have no affiliation with this seller, I'm not even sure that's the guy I bought it from.

But I think the $8-15 MBP cards work as well.

All use built in Apple software.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 02:49 AM   #13
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
What you want is the Apple MB363Z/A AirPort Extreme Wireless Upgrade Kit for Mac Pro, which is the two-wire version.
Easily installed because it comes with all parts necessary, gives you 802.11n and it's a genuine part from Apple. Plus you don't use up a USB or PCI(e) port.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 04:40 AM   #14
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I ended up getting the 4800, I'll post back if it works. It's for my 1,1 with 10.7.x.

It seems like it will get better reception than the internal ones, plus I don't need the PCIe Slot for anything else so that's not a big deal.

If it doesn't work, I'll go for the MacVidCards solution
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 05:17 AM   #15
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I prefer the ugly antenna's and better reception..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 11:01 AM   #16
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
CONFIRMED

TL-WDN4800 works in 10.7.5 out of the box. Great reception, too
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 11:34 AM   #17
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
CONFIRMED

TL-WDN4800 works in 10.7.5 out of the box. Great reception, too
It's the go to for Hack's
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
802.11n or 100baseT Barney63 MacBook Pro 16 Mar 12, 2014 04:40 PM
iPhone 5S: 802.11n / 5GHz FelixDerKater iPhone 15 Oct 14, 2013 03:16 PM
802.11n -> 802.11ac SparkyCanada MacBook Pro 35 Feb 5, 2013 11:45 PM
802.11g --> 802.11n improvements? evangw Mac Peripherals 11 Aug 10, 2012 12:14 PM
802.11n speed Benkovitch MacBook Pro 0 Jul 17, 2012 05:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC