Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2013, 08:57 PM   #1
tom2847
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Straight Talk, WFM, or Net10?

Someone PLEASE help me and clear this up. I've been to three Walmarts and called ST myself and still don't understand because everyone explains it SO bad.

I have two iPhone 4s's from just upgrading phones within the family etc, anyway, they both are just sitting on my table unactivated and all. Now, my aunt and uncle want to have iPhones on the most affordable plans,I prefer ST since it uses AT&T towers, and I was going to give them both each an iPhone.

Now, do I purchase the micro AT&T sim card for ST, go into walmart and let them activate it and buy the $45 card and they take care of everything? What's this I read about unlocking and everything? Can't they just stick the GSM sim card in and it will work? Please someone clear this up.

Also, what's the better deal out of the three? I don't know the difference between net10 and ST. I see this Walmart Family Mobile is using Tmobiles towers and it's $40 a month unlimited but i'm not too much of a T mobile fan.

What do NET10 and ST use? Thanks!
tom2847 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 10:07 PM   #2
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
ST has stopped selling the AT&T sims I hear. They still have the TMo sims, but who wants T-Mobile?

Go grab a Net10 SIM for the iPhones.
AutoUnion39 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 01:14 AM   #3
NewAnger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
ST has stopped selling the AT&T sims I hear. They still have the TMo sims, but who wants T-Mobile?

Go grab a Net10 SIM for the iPhones.
Who wants T=Mobile? I do.

T-Mobile consistently gives me the best call quality and the fastest data speeds than AT&T and Verizon. You shouldn't discourage anyone from trying T-Mobile because they may just happen to be the carrier in their area.
NewAnger is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 01:26 PM   #4
tom2847
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
T-Mobile isn't that great in my area though.

I called ST and they told me they do still do AT&T through them though, guess maybe my best bet is to buy the micro sims on amazon or on ebay?

And no one answered my question, do I just stick it in the "locked" AT&T phone and it will just work after activation?
tom2847 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 01:32 PM   #5
j.dstasio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey
I think (I could be wrong on this) that ST At&t sims are only available in the full size sim & you have to cut ti down to micro sim size once activated.
__________________
 A good mix of both black and white gadgets.
j.dstasio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 02:52 PM   #6
co.ag.2005
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Evergreen, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.dstasio View Post
I think (I could be wrong on this) that ST At&t sims are only available in the full size sim & you have to cut ti down to micro sim size once activated.
They sold micro sims when you could buy them on their website, so they are around.
__________________
21.5" iMac (2012) | iPad Mini (Retina) | iPhone 6 | Sony Xperia Z2
co.ag.2005 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 03:05 PM   #7
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
You can get Net10 SIM cards in store at best buy. It's a 3-pack which includes two AT&T compatible SIM's (full and micro size) and one TMobile compatible SIM (full sized).

If your 4S's are from AT&T, put the AT&T micro SIM in the phone and follow the directions that come in the package. You'll need a $50 unlimited airtime card as part of the activation process. You can buy one at Bestbuy or online from Net10 during the setup. It's all very easy.

BYOP SIM card pack

$50 unlimited card
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | iPad Air 128GB (Space Grey)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 03:08 PM   #8
HobeSoundDarryl
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
Cutting them down is not that hard. Do some searches for sim templates and follow the directions.

OP, I believe the phones have to be unlocked to work. Locking them is a trick used by the carriers to keep people like you from doing what you want to do here. They lock the iPhone to their service. Your phones might still be locked or they might be unlocked. If you don't know, take them into AT&T and ask. If you want to try to get them unlocked, tell them you are traveling internationally and need these to be unlocked. Maybe they'll unlock them. Maybe they'll want a fee to unlock them. Locking & unlocking is mostly at the provider's discretion.

The NET10 sim kit has sims for Tmobile and AT&T so you can cut down the one that matches the service you want. Again, do some searches, locate the template and follow the directions. We just did this with an unlocked iPhone 5 and NET10 to end up on AT&T. With auto bill, it's $45/month for unlimited* everything. A second line can be added for $40/month more.

Also NET10 is Straight Talk (same company underneath 2 names).

If you are afraid of cutting sim cards, there are still some sims available online that will fit the iPhones. Cutting them using the template was not that hard though (if you want to save some money). You can always try to cut your own and fallback to "some guy" on Ebay, etc if you are not successful.

One thing: if you do the research, you'll inevitably find the new zealand website that talks about setting up the settings so that you can SMS, etc. We spent hours trying to make that work before looking a little further into the Net10 instructions to see that we could go to their website to get the iPhone settings. Very easy if you just follow that simple direction.

Corvus32 provided the links to what you need in post #7.

Last edited by HobeSoundDarryl; Mar 29, 2013 at 03:31 PM.
HobeSoundDarryl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 01:55 AM   #9
NewAnger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denver Colorado
Word is going around on the various phone sites that Net10 is going the way of the AT&T ST sim cards. Better grab them while you can.
NewAnger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 07:14 AM   #10
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2847 View Post
T-Mobile isn't that great in my area though.

I called ST and they told me they do still do AT&T through them though, guess maybe my best bet is to buy the micro sims on amazon or on ebay?

And no one answered my question, do I just stick it in the "locked" AT&T phone and it will just work after activation?
If you get a Straight Talk or Net10 AT&T SIM you will need to put the SIM in the iPhone, then go to either http://straighttalksim.com or http://net10sim.com in Safari and select DATA/APN Settings to configure the phone for data.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 10:33 AM   #11
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom2847 View Post
T-Mobile isn't that great in my area though.

I called ST and they told me they do still do AT&T through them though, guess maybe my best bet is to buy the micro sims on amazon or on ebay?

And no one answered my question, do I just stick it in the "locked" AT&T phone and it will just work after activation?
When I tried out ST I was able to get a SIM card from their website pre-cut for my iPhone 4. It uses AT&T networks. The sim card works in my iPhone 4 (now unlocked) and iPhone 4s (locked). However as others have noted, it is harder to get an AT&T GSM SIM card now.

I since have moved on to AirVoice for even less expensive service.
azentropy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 08:36 PM   #12
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
I saw the ST ATT Sims on Walmart.com but it seems like they stopped selling them also.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 08:47 PM   #13
MewTech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
AT&T apparently got really ******** over the MVNO's Bring Your Own Phone program. (read: AT&T is crying because they aren't making as much profit)

AT&T shut down their network for ST. And on Net10, AT&T SIM cards are limited to 1.5GB/month. Which makes no sense since Net10/ST are the same company.

Either way. Instead of paying exorbitant amounts of money on a ST AT&T SIM, just go with Net10, it's the exact same service under a different name, and they still sell AT&T SIMs
MewTech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 10:00 PM   #14
Iluvtattsnpink
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I have net10 att micro sim. I followed the website www.net10sim.com instructions to configure data but I still can't send or recieve any pictures. Any specifics I'm missing for this issue?
Iluvtattsnpink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 07:09 AM   #15
TacticalDesire
macrumors 68020
 
TacticalDesire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MewTech View Post
AT&T apparently got really ******** over the MVNO's Bring Your Own Phone program. (read: AT&T is crying because they aren't making as much profit)

AT&T shut down their network for ST. And on Net10, AT&T SIM cards are limited to 1.5GB/month. Which makes no sense since Net10/ST are the same company.

Either way. Instead of paying exorbitant amounts of money on a ST AT&T SIM, just go with Net10, it's the exact same service under a different name, and they still sell AT&T SIMs
What do you mean shutdown?
TacticalDesire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 08:04 AM   #16
Brother Esau
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I use a AT&T Straight Tak SIM in my iPhone 5 and it's just peachy. But to confirm, Straight Talk does not sell AT&T Straight Talk SIM cards anymore and I had to buy mine off of ebay for $50.00.


Get the NET 10 SIM they use the same towers from AT&T just like straight talk does. Tmobile will not be as good (mileage may vary on this statement!).

NOTE: A word of caution; if you have an existing AT&T SIM inside the Phone already, I would use that as the template to cut down the sim card! Reason being is that I downloaded the template to do the SIM Card cut down to NANO SIM Size and when I placed the AT&T Nano SIM on the template to check the accuracy of the actual template, there was like 3/32" discrepancy in size where the template was smaller than the actual Nano SIM from AT&T.

So, I just used the AT&T SIM Card for my Template on the Regular Size Straight Talk AT&T SIM Card that I bought off of ebay.

If you go with NET10 I do believe that their SIM is already NANO SIM Size

Last edited by Brother Esau; Mar 31, 2013 at 08:14 AM.
Brother Esau is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straight Talk and Net10 to Launch iPhone 5s/5c at Walmart on December 13 MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 38 Jan 28, 2014 09:32 AM
Will the iPhone 5S from Net10 and Straight Talk be unlocked? fsmorelli iPhone 0 Dec 11, 2013 10:35 PM
Differences between Straight Talk or Net10 (Tmo sim) and T-mobile... x2thaz iPhone 4 Mar 31, 2013 10:08 PM
Anyone using Nexus 4 on NET10/Straight talk whoknows87 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 1 Nov 28, 2012 09:23 PM
iPhone 5 LTE support on AT&T Straight Talk / Net10? PolloLoco32 iPhone 6 Oct 28, 2012 01:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC