[iPhone] TetherMe to iOS 7 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2013, 11:25 PM   #1
cclloyd
macrumors 68000
 
cclloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alpha Centauri A
TetherMe to iOS 7

I had TetherMe on my 6.1 iPhone 5, and now that I'm on iOS 7, tethering still works. Just thought I'd share
__________________
iPhone 5 Sprint w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
MacBook Pro Retina Early 2013
cclloyd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 12:37 AM   #2
epphllps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclloyd View Post
I had TetherMe on my 6.1 iPhone 5, and now that I'm on iOS 7, tethering still works. Just thought I'd share
Could you tell us a little more like which carrier you have and how this might have worked? That is one of the things I refuse to lose. I paid for tethering for so long and now use tetherme. Would be great to go to ios 7 if I could still tether.
epphllps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 12:41 AM   #3
Jamesesesesess
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
How are you able to do that?

Tethering is the only thing holding me back from upgrading to iOS 7.
Jamesesesesess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 09:03 AM   #4
lukejc1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Stock iOS can tether. You have to pay your carrier for the privilege though.
lukejc1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 09:06 AM   #5
epphllps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukejc1 View Post
Stock iOS can tether. You have to pay your carrier for the privilege though.
Don't take it the wrong way, but we certainly do know that. He used tetherme on a jailbroken phone and then upgraded and can still tether without jailbreak. Now he either has a plan with tethering included or something happened that kept tethering unlocked.

Last edited by epphllps; Jun 11, 2013 at 09:27 AM.
epphllps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 12:48 PM   #6
cclloyd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
cclloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alpha Centauri A
Quote:
Originally Posted by epphllps View Post
Could you tell us a little more like which carrier you have and how this might have worked? That is one of the things I refuse to lose. I paid for tethering for so long and now use tetherme. Would be great to go to ios 7 if I could still tether.
It kept the settings that TetherMe used to hide the tethering. I've used it extensively and haven't gotten a message from sprint yet. I'm so far assuming they don't know.

As for how I did it, I just had TetherMe, and then restored to iOS 7.
__________________
iPhone 5 Sprint w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
MacBook Pro Retina Early 2013
cclloyd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 12:50 PM   #7
epphllps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclloyd View Post
It kept the settings that TetherMe used to hide the tethering. I've used it extensively and haven't gotten a message from sprint yet. I'm so far assuming they don't know.

As for how I did it, I just had TetherMe, and then restored to iOS 7.
Would be curious if this will work with Verizon as I'm on the old nationwide plan and tethering is not included. May wait for more people who try this.
epphllps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 01:09 PM   #8
taedouni
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
I used MyWi and didn't want to pay $5 for a trick that may not work so I use a cracked version of TetherMe and that didn't work for me.
taedouni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 01:28 PM   #9
epphllps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by taedouni View Post
I used MyWi and didn't want to pay $5 for a trick that may not work so I use a cracked version of TetherMe and that didn't work for me.
I'm using the cracked version of tetherme just fine. MyWi has too many issues whereas tetherme just activates the stock tethering.
epphllps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:38 PM   #10
taedouni
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by epphllps View Post
I'm using the cracked version of tetherme just fine. MyWi has too many issues whereas tetherme just activates the stock tethering.
When I said didn't work I meant when I upgraded to iOS 7 (the tethering setting was reset to default settings)
taedouni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 03:12 PM   #11
epphllps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West TN
TetherMe to iOS 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by taedouni View Post
When I said didn't work I meant when I upgraded to iOS 7 (the tethering setting was reset to default settings)
Yeah I definitely didn't gather that from your post. Thought you were just speaking in general.

So it looks like that was just a fluke for him. I didn't think it was really possible for settings to carry over like that.
epphllps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 06:16 PM   #12
Carlanga
macrumors 601
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclloyd View Post
It kept the settings that TetherMe used to hide the tethering. I've used it extensively and haven't gotten a message from sprint yet. I'm so far assuming they don't know.

As for how I did it, I just had TetherMe, and then restored to iOS 7.
Also to consider, sometimes betas have all these functions open. So ask someone that doesn't have tether me if in iOS 7 they can tether. Also, you prob did the update to iOS7 and not restore which would also explain why your settings stayed. Hell, even restoring from backup could cause tether to stay on
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 10:15 PM   #13
cclloyd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
cclloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alpha Centauri A
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
Also to consider, sometimes betas have all these functions open. So ask someone that doesn't have tether me if in iOS 7 they can tether. Also, you prob did the update to iOS7 and not restore which would also explain why your settings stayed. Hell, even restoring from backup could cause tether to stay on
I restored, not updated.

Also no duh a backup would cause it to come back, as it recognizes you have settings for the default tether built in. I think tetherme writes settings that enable it in the part of the file system that gets backed up by iCloud, thus it carried over into iOS 7.
__________________
iPhone 5 Sprint w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina w/ iOS 7.0.4 Jailbroken
MacBook Pro Retina Early 2013
cclloyd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 11:25 PM   #14
Carlanga
macrumors 601
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclloyd View Post
I restored, not updated.

Also no duh a backup would cause it to come back, as it recognizes you have settings for the default tether built in. I think tetherme writes settings that enable it in the part of the file system that gets backed up by iCloud, thus it carried over into iOS 7.
So Mr. duh; did you or did you not use a back up then? Also, it doesn't recognize it, but backups overwrite certain things.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2013, 05:07 PM   #15
Jimmy Guphanti
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I know this is old, but I just tried the same thing, also on Sprint, and it works, but when I go to turn on the hotspot, the Personal Hotspot preference pane quickly deletes itself from the settings app.
Jimmy Guphanti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2013, 04:17 PM   #16
braddick
macrumors 68030
 
braddick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Encinitas, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Guphanti View Post
I know this is old, but I just tried the same thing, also on Sprint, and it works, but when I go to turn on the hotspot, the Personal Hotspot preference pane quickly deletes itself from the settings app.
So, basically it doesn't work.
braddick is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: TetherMe update for iOS 7 now in Cydia. HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 83 Mar 10, 2014 11:14 PM
General: Does TETHERME work w/ iOS 7 JB? HappyDude20 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 59 Dec 30, 2013 09:16 PM
iPhone: TetherMe and nothing else. HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jul 27, 2013 01:41 PM
iPad: Tetherme Help flametd46 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Dec 23, 2012 05:10 PM
iPhone: Tetherme ios 5.1.1? greggonzo1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Aug 20, 2012 04:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC