Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2012, 06:05 PM   #1
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Exclamation Minecraft on PPC (20-30FPS : PowerBook G4)

The most effective way I have found to speed up Minecraft on PowerPC is to host a local server on a separate machine. I believe that the majority of the slowdown is caused by the server generating/updating chunks, rather than the client rendering the scene (as shown by the debug profiler).

I get around a 100% increase in FPS on the same map - YMMV

Hopefully I will get round to doing a proper write-up and video soon - in the meantime - enjoy!
Wildy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 12:22 PM   #2
NameTheUser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Europe, Estonia
There is also a mod called ''OptiFine'' for Minecraft. I am using it with my PowerMac G5 and I'm getting incredible results. The FPS is about 40-50 with OptiFine if you use the correct settings.

Anyway, I'm just curious if you also experience the same ''Lightning bug'' when its night time?
NameTheUser is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 12:53 PM   #3
Wildy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I have made quite a few tweaks to my install, including Optifine - it boosts the frames a bit, but the main issue for me was the tick as opposed to the rendering (my G4 is a bit more CPU limited!). That said, I love how Optifine gives you full control over all the little details.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:18 PM   #4
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
I have made quite a few tweaks to my install, including Optifine - it boosts the frames a bit, but the main issue for me was the tick as opposed to the rendering (my G4 is a bit more CPU limited!). That said, I love how Optifine gives you full control over all the little details.
Also, tick "advanced openGL" settings - that will offload some CPU usage onto your GPU - I'm not sure if it would help on a G4 but on older intels with good GPU's it helps a lot.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:43 PM   #5
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
double post...

Last edited by spyguy10709; Nov 3, 2012 at 05:43 PM. Reason: sorry DP
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:50 PM   #6
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
Also, tick "advanced openGL" settings - that will offload some CPU usage onto your GPU - I'm not sure if it would help on a G4 but on older intels with good GPU's it helps a lot.
Advanced OpenGL makes a really big difference. It increases performance by a lot.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
The most effective way I have found to speed up Minecraft on PowerPC is to host a local server on a separate machine. I believe that the majority of the slowdown is caused by the server generating/updating chunks, rather than the client rendering the scene (as shown by the debug profiler).

I get around a 100% increase in FPS on the same map - YMMV

Hopefully I will get round to doing a proper write-up and video soon - in the meantime - enjoy!
Well duh, that's like saying that Google's search engine runs faster when you divide the processes and give parts of them to different machines. Of course it's faster when you're playing on a server hosted by a different machine.

My brother used to host a server AND play on his iMac G5, and it wasn't bad.
faroZ06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:21 AM   #7
Wildy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
Also, tick "advanced openGL" settings - that will offload some CPU usage onto your GPU - I'm not sure if it would help on a G4 but on older intels with good GPU's it helps a lot.
The Advanced OpenGL setting is to turn off Occlusion culling - this works great with newer cards, but makes practically no difference or even a inhibits older cards unfortunately.

Quote:
Well duh, that's like saying that Google's search engine runs faster when you divide the processes and give parts of them to different machines. Of course it's faster when you're playing on a server hosted by a different machine.

My brother used to host a server AND play on his iMac G5, and it wasn't bad.
That wasn't my point - my point is that the tic (server) task takes a lot longer to complete than the render task, which wouldn't be obvious to everyone. If you have a spare machine lying around, what do you have to lose if you run a server on it? Minecraft has increased in complexity dramatically in the past year or two - it used to run flawlessly on my PowerBook, but this is no longer the case.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:28 AM   #8
Botcrusher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The issue with single player is that mojang decided that single player now runs its own server causing mass lag compared to previous versions also with each update there are more blocks and more code

I have and old dual 500mhz g4 tower lukly it was a professional photo editing compiter and the ati raedon card offloads alot of the data
I have one gb in it
Botcrusher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:30 AM   #9
Wildy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
At the end of the day, if you are running the server (whether it is in single player, or multiplayer), you are having to process a hell of a lot of stuff. I believe that you are right in that the last few updates have brought on a lot of complexity which perhaps wasn't there before.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:56 AM   #10
Botcrusher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
And thats why i always play multiplayer lol

I also get 20-30 fps on mine oddly back on beta 1.7.3 i was fully able to play offline buuuut now i get 1-2 fps if i even try offline

Edit : in minecraft there are normaly 20 ticks. Per second aka tps

Last edited by Botcrusher; Jan 16, 2013 at 10:58 AM. Reason: Oooh may as well mention it
Botcrusher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:21 PM   #11
R-T-B
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Sadly, minecraft is moving to Java 1.6, which leaves us high and dry pretty soon unless someone updates Java. I hope to get some work done on that, but no idea how fast...
R-T-B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:23 PM   #12
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by R-T-B View Post
Sadly, minecraft is moving to Java 1.6, which leaves us high and dry pretty soon unless someone updates Java. I hope to get some work done on that, but no idea how fast...
I'm not into Minecraft, but maybe something like SoyLatte would work?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:12 AM   #13
Wildy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Oh noes - I did not know this! Unfortunately SoyLatte is built around OpenJDK, which is lacking a few things which Minecraft needs to work (I've tried it before, I seem to remember it was something to do with fonts or UI elements - don't quote me on this though). Perhaps with a little perseverance it might be possible to add these into OpenJDK, or at least provide wrapper functions.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:49 AM   #14
ppcfanforever1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
I got the lan server part but modding on optifine isnt working anymore no options appear on the g4.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:28 AM   #15
Wildy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I had the same problem - you need to use the Ultra version of Optifine. I'm not sure what the purpose was of the different versions, but ultra has all of possible options available.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minecraft- LogMeIn Hamachi for PPC? keremtezcan PowerPC Macs 1 Jun 23, 2013 06:39 AM
Airport Card in PPC Powerbook G4 alternative ? foz405 PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 25, 2013 05:24 AM
Does the new iPod Touch 5G record 1080p 30fps? ThisIsMe iPod touch 2 Oct 14, 2012 12:14 AM
What's required for 1080p 30fps? joeysarks Digital Video 10 Oct 3, 2012 03:14 PM
iMovie downgrades 60fps to 30fps? Vook Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jul 20, 2012 12:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC