Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:41 PM   #76
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by arturpl View Post
Hi guys,
Does anyone has any news regarding upgrading iMacs 2011 with i7-3770?
Anyone successfull?

Thanks,
Artur

Tried it on 2 different imacs and it does not work.
R.OG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:12 PM   #77
millerg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I would like to upgrade if it works and it looks like we have two different experiences. Have the failed attempts to upgrade to the 3770 been with the 3770k or the plain 3770? I noticed in the intel site that the K version does not have the following:

Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d) No
Intel® Trusted Execution Technology No

I noticed that this was the same for the 2700k that I am using right now that will not boot Mountain Lion. Could it be that the OS checks for these features?

Greg
millerg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:51 PM   #78
Kai.Def
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Send a message via Skype™ to Kai.Def
great idea - shame there are so many conflicting accounts
Kai.Def is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:59 PM   #79
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerg View Post
I would like to upgrade if it works and it looks like we have two different experiences. Have the failed attempts to upgrade to the 3770 been with the 3770k or the plain 3770? I noticed in the intel site that the K version does not have the following:

Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d) No
Intel® Trusted Execution Technology No

I noticed that this was the same for the 2700k that I am using right now that will not boot Mountain Lion. Could it be that the OS checks for these features?

Greg
I used a 3770 and the machine will not post, the diagnostic leds indicated a hardware error. The 2700k works but only with Lion, mountain lion get caught in a boot loop.
R.OG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:39 AM   #80
kennyap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cayman Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai.Def View Post
great idea - shame there are so many conflicting accounts
Hello:

As I said in an earlier post in this thread, I've been in contact with those (one in this thread) that have had the most success, ex/ being able to boot & use the iMac 2011 with the Core i-3700, and they've reported continuing issues/errors with new program installations/OS X updates to the point the computer is unusable.

To put it simply; unless the necessary changes are incorporated into the Lion/ML installer file, Core i-3770 DOES NOT WORK in the 2011 iMac.

As stated above, this might change as updated OS X installer files are released for the 2012 iMac models.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4ghz 680mx 840 Pro SSD 512gb
2012 13" rMBP | 2011 27" Imac 3.5ghz 2gb vram
2011 MBP 17" | 2011 MBA 11" & 13"
kennyap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:15 AM   #81
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyap View Post
Hello:

As I said in an earlier post in this thread, I've been in contact with those (one in this thread) that have had the most success, ex/ being able to boot & use the iMac 2011 with the Core i-3700, and they've reported continuing issues/errors with new program installations/OS X updates to the point the computer is unusable.

To put it simply; unless the necessary changes are incorporated into the Lion/ML installer file, Core i-3770 DOES NOT WORK in the 2011 iMac.

As stated above, this might change as updated OS X installer files are released for the 2012 iMac models.
Hey kennyap, aside from Hackerwayne was someone else able to get the imac to power on with a 3770?
R.OG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:31 AM   #82
millerg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I just tried a 3770 and all I got was a black screen with diagnostic LEDs 1 and 2 on. I swapped back to the i5 and am installing ML on a USB stick to see if ML will offer an EFI update. My guess is that hackerwaynes G EFI is the ticket.

I'll continue to post any progress or lack of.

Greg
millerg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:48 AM   #83
kennyap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cayman Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
Hey kennyap, aside from Hackerwayne was someone else able to get the imac to power on with a 3770?
Hi R.OG:

Yes, but after boot the problems start staightaway. So I wouldn't even call that a success.
Not sure exactly what happened with Hackerwayne, but at least he was decent enough to let me know the serious problems he was encountering.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4ghz 680mx 840 Pro SSD 512gb
2012 13" rMBP | 2011 27" Imac 3.5ghz 2gb vram
2011 MBP 17" | 2011 MBA 11" & 13"
kennyap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:10 PM   #84
millerg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hackerwayne,

Can you help us find the bootrom you are using? You seem to have the only unit that will boot with a 3770.

Thanks,

Greg
millerg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 04:42 PM   #85
kennyap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cayman Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerg View Post
Hackerwayne,

Can you help us find the bootrom you are using? You seem to have the only unit that will boot with a 3770.

Thanks,

Greg
Send him a message (email) through his forum username, which he might receive faster.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4ghz 680mx 840 Pro SSD 512gb
2012 13" rMBP | 2011 27" Imac 3.5ghz 2gb vram
2011 MBP 17" | 2011 MBA 11" & 13"
kennyap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 04:20 AM   #86
Kai.Def
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Send a message via Skype™ to Kai.Def
thanks for the constructive feedback - thanks to kenny ROG & all

I am keeping my eye on this thread
Kai.Def is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:30 AM   #87
mrsavage1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
upping this because the 2012 imacs have been delivered
mrsavage1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:03 AM   #88
Alekto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tokyo
I'll buy a 2012 base model next month and upgrade the CPU. Surely there's some sort of firmware hack? Like Hackintosh or something.
Alekto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:22 AM   #89
DrJack6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyap View Post
Hi Freez3:

I have a Core-i7 2700k in my iMac.
Sorry to resurrect the thread. So am I OK to upgrade to 2700K as long as I have Lion? B1F and 1.72f1
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:08 AM   #90
mrsavage1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Apparently yes if you want to stay at lion. I am currently looking to upgrade the 2500s to a 2600 but there seem to be reports http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1497867 that it may fry the imac. Not to sure if i want to proceed. As ever if someone figures out how to crack the 3770 i7 we will be super grateful.

Oh btw i noticed hacker wayne is using a 3770s while ROG is using a 3770.
This might be why hacker wayne's is working.
mrsavage1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 03:12 PM   #91
kennyap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cayman Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack6 View Post
Sorry to resurrect the thread. So am I OK to upgrade to 2700K as long as I have Lion? B1F and 1.72f1
Yes, typing on mine now. Absolutely no problems, except can't install Mountain Lion.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4ghz 680mx 840 Pro SSD 512gb
2012 13" rMBP | 2011 27" Imac 3.5ghz 2gb vram
2011 MBP 17" | 2011 MBA 11" & 13"
kennyap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:34 PM   #92
SuperNeal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central CA
10.8.3 any difference?

I too am a mid 2011 iMac guy. I have the i5 3.1, and wanted to upgrade to the i7 3770. Was wondering if 10.8.3 made any difference. I try it if I had the i7 lying around. Anyone have a chance to test? Or is there a way to see what is in the mid 2012 iMac, and what has changed on the board -besides size- for the new machine? I know it takes the same 1155..right? Just trying to keep this thread alive as I know that to this point hackerwayne is the only one that I have seen that seems to have had any luck.
SuperNeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2013, 07:16 PM   #93
randyharris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Any updates on this thread with the 2011 iMac CPU upgrades now that Mavericks is out?
__________________
Randy
randyharris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2014, 07:59 AM   #94
rodrigoluizb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Campinas, SP, Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyharris View Post
Any updates on this thread with the 2011 iMac CPU upgrades now that Mavericks is out?
I'm thinking about the same. I want to upgrade my mid2011 iMac to an Ivy Bridge CPU but i'm afraid it doesn't work. If doesn't, i'm thinking to upgrade with a sandy bridge I7 (2600), since my imac has a I5 (2500S).
rodrigoluizb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ivy Bridge v/s Sandy Bridge & why Apple might skip Ivy for iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 6 Sep 15, 2012 11:27 AM
The iMac Ivy Bridge DOESNT EXIST LeandrodaFL iMac 11 Jul 27, 2012 06:08 PM
2011 13" maxed-out MBA (Sandy Bridge i7) vs. 2012 13" base MBA (Ivy Bridge i5) blumpkin MacBook Air 4 Jul 3, 2012 04:41 PM
2.8 i7 2011 (Sandy Bridge) or 2.5 i5 (2012) Ivy Bridge Trvlngnrs MacBook Pro 6 Jun 29, 2012 08:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC