Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 02:37 PM   #1
rezwits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Send a message via ICQ to rezwits Send a message via AIM to rezwits Send a message via MSN to rezwits Send a message via Yahoo to rezwits Send a message via Skype™ to rezwits
Wink If I had a 27" iMac I would...

If I had a 27" iMac I would... turn it into a 720p Retina Display. With this line


sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool YES


I believe it's 2560 x 1600. So if you enable the HiDPI that would be 1280 x 800 x 2 or appr. 720p Retina, Apple 720p

I was just wondering if anyone would enable that and tell me how it is? Been thinking about getting some 27" displays and doing it. Is it too big? not enough real-estate?

You can disable it by:

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool NO

Have fun, I know I would. 720p is 1280 x 800 is pretty cool, I have done this on my 1920 x 1200 17" MacBook Pro but it's not enough room.

oh you have to log out and log back in after and goto displays system prefs to pick it
EOL
rezwits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:07 PM   #2
BSoares
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Original res is 2560x1440, not 1600. There you have it, your desired 720p
BSoares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:16 PM   #3
tredstone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
This is definitely the first thing I'm doing when I get the 27" model. I'm really surprised more people aren't talking about this. I tried it at the store and it's completely usable. If you've ever used a 13" MBP, it's approximately in that neighborhood (1280x800 vs 1280x720), except sharper. Granted it depends on your workflow, but in cases where I'm not doing research papers with 5 PDF's open and Word, I would def keep it in the pseudo-retina mode.
tredstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:28 PM   #4
richard371
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I don't get it why would you want to do this? its beyond 1080p as is.
richard371 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 02:47 AM   #5
rezwits
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Send a message via ICQ to rezwits Send a message via AIM to rezwits Send a message via MSN to rezwits Send a message via Yahoo to rezwits Send a message via Skype™ to rezwits
Going blind, kinda...

oh, because, it blows everything up x2 but the resolution is not jaggy, because of the OS, finally :P

In the old days you would enable zooming in assistive devices and such...

Laters... have fun and god that's fun
rezwits is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
Confused?!?! Maxed out iMac or "base" iMac and MBA as combo? MacPat333 iMac 10 Nov 3, 2012 10:55 PM
RAM from "Late 2009" iMac in "Mid 2011" iMac? desertman iMac 1 Aug 12, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC