Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:47 PM   #1
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
Need help with slow

I just received a MBA off ebay that has surprisingly high CPU activity, and as a result the computer is running very slowly. Attached is a screenshot of my activity monitor in case anyone has any suggestions.

My model is the 1.8GHz 1,1 model, with 64gb SSD.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2012-12-15 at 4.37.48 PM.png
Views:	59
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	383781  
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:02 AM   #2
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Examine each line of that to determine which processes are taking up the memory. Mine runs at around 10-12% system use with six tabs open in Chrome and a number of other processes going on as well.

How much memory do you have? I am running 8 GB on this machine.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:53 AM   #3
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfpuppies3 View Post
Examine each line of that to determine which processes are taking up the memory. Mine runs at around 10-12% system use with six tabs open in Chrome and a number of other processes going on as well.

How much memory do you have? I am running 8 GB on this machine.
I am not sure how this bit of advice about memory helps.

The problem is that kernel_task is hogging the CPU. Why does the kernel_task process hog the CPU? It can be because of a multitude of things, but usually indicates the need for some serious house keeping, or a complete and clean OS X reinstall, if one has not been done.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=kernel_task+high+cpu
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:16 AM   #4
Isamilis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Just curious. Why is in the screenshot, kernel_task is 32 bit app, instead of 64 bit? I've checked mine, it showed 64 bit for sure. Do you use 32 bit mode? Is this really original mac "kernel_task" process? What version of OSX did you use?
Isamilis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:39 AM   #5
Satori
macrumors 6502a
 
Satori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isamilis View Post
Just curious. Why is in the screenshot, kernel_task is 32 bit app, instead of 64 bit? I've checked mine, it showed 64 bit for sure. Do you use 32 bit mode? Is this really original mac "kernel_task" process? What version of OSX did you use?
Good point. The MBA rev A shipped with leopard which could run the kernel as 32 or 64 bit. I'm not sure if it will address the OP's problem but it could be worth rebooting while holding down the 6 & 4 keys to make sure the 64 bit kernel loads.
Satori is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC