Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:38 PM   #226
TomTomTuning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Same set-up, but my 4 bay enclosure works fine with this card. Don't know why it won't work with yours.

Loa
Was it just plug & play?
How are your jumpers setup on the card?

I have one internal SATA port enabled and one external ESATA port enabled.
__________________
2010 2.8GHz MacPro, 2010 2.66GHz 15" MacBook Pro, 32GB iPhone 5, 16GB iPad 3, 2nd Gen AppleTV
TomTomTuning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:07 PM   #227
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

My card's jumpers are set-up for 1 internal (boot drive) and one external, and both ports work fine and at the same time. Have you tried switching the jumpers around?

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 06:37 AM   #228
TomTomTuning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Hello,

My card's jumpers are set-up for 1 internal (boot drive) and one external, and both ports work fine and at the same time. Have you tried switching the jumpers around?

Loa
I will play with the jumpers today.

When I originally tested the JBOD I put two disks in the top shelfs and neither of them mounted nor did the 1,2,3,4 lights turn on. I tried one drive on the bottom shelf and I can hear the drive spin up and the number 1 light turns on, but it does not mount on my system.
__________________
2010 2.8GHz MacPro, 2010 2.66GHz 15" MacBook Pro, 32GB iPhone 5, 16GB iPad 3, 2nd Gen AppleTV
TomTomTuning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 06:43 AM   #229
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

I'm sorry: I have two esata cards in my Mac, and the ASM1061 doesn't support my external enclosure. An old sil 3132 card does the trick, but at sata2 speeds.

Sorry for the confusion.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:27 PM   #230
wildatheart
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I am using the cheap Amazon card in my 2008 Mac Pro and I'm getting decent speeds from my SSD. I have set the jumpers to give me one internal and one external; I can connect an external eSata drive, but it's not hot-swappable; I have to restart to see it. I was able to get hot-swaps when I set the jumpers to 2x external. Has anyone else succeeded in getting hot swappable eSata from this card whilst having their SSD connected to the internal port?

Last edited by wildatheart; Dec 13, 2012 at 02:10 PM.
wildatheart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 06:45 AM   #231
wildatheart
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildatheart View Post
Has anyone else succeeded in getting hot swappable eSata from this card whilst having their SSD connected to the internal port?
Ignore me - hot swappability has appeared from nowhere, it seems. Working now. Happy days.
wildatheart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 09:37 AM   #232
Jarman74
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
Ok as promised a picture of how it looks inside my mac pro
Could you please repost the pic? Seems it was removed. Thanks!
__________________
2x 3.2GHz Harpertown Xeon Quad Core | 4GB 800MHz DDR2 ECC FB-DIMM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 1GB | Logitech Z-5500 Digital audio speakers | 500GB Serial ATA | Two 16x SuperDrives | QuickCam Vision Pro
Jarman74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 08:51 PM   #233
crjackson2134
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honbe View Post
Maybe it would be easier and better to use this: http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/in...duct_id=189%20
This looks interesting, how does it work exactly?
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 09:02 PM   #234
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by crjackson2134 View Post
This looks interesting, how does it work exactly?
It looks like they provide a mounting tray with PCB that connects the drive to the backplane SATA power but they split off the SATA data bus to a connector that can be routed to their RAID card.

It's a shame that no one (as far as I know) has taken advantage of the fact that all the SATA connectors on the main board are not only routed to the ICH but also to the top slot where Apple's RAID card was designed to live. A 3rd party could offer a fairly elegant solution for providing SATA3 connections on the backplane using this aspect of the design if they wanted to. I guess the market is too small to support the required R&D or perhaps there's some necessary firmware switch that's not possible to reverse-engineer.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 09:24 PM   #235
crjackson2134
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualRain View Post
It looks like they provide a mounting tray with PCB that connects the drive to the backplane SATA power but they split off the SATA data bus to a connector that can be routed to their RAID card.

It's a shame that no one (as far as I know) has taken advantage of the fact that all the SATA connectors on the main board are not only routed to the ICH but also to the top slot where Apple's RAID card was designed to live. A 3rd party could offer a fairly elegant solution for providing SATA3 connections on the backplane using this aspect of the design if they wanted to. I guess the market is too small to support the required R&D or perhaps there's some necessary firmware switch that's not possible to reverse-engineer.
So this card intercepts the SATA connection for processing the data. I wonder if RAID must be used, or is it possible that it CAN serve as a regular SATA interface.
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:20 PM   #236
Red Sector A
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
no electronic parts on PCB, it is very simple adapter.
here is my spare PCB:
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0033.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	78.9 KB
ID:	407828
Red Sector A is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 02:22 PM   #237
crjackson2134
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Okay, so this board plugs into SATA/POWER ports that an HDD would normally engage. If this thing is between the normal connector and the HDD, doesn't it prevent the HDD/SLED from being able to slide all the way in?
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone had success w/ SATA 3 via PCI card? xgman Mac Pro 15 Dec 30, 2011 09:07 AM
Anyone successfully running dual Sata 3 SSD in a 15" 2011? Beethree MacBook Pro 4 May 31, 2011 05:12 AM
SATA 2 or SATA 3 lbeck Mac Pro 8 Mar 28, 2011 01:38 PM
External Enclosures: SATA 1.5, SATA 3, FW800 skh Buying Tips and Advice 1 Mar 26, 2010 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC