Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2011, 05:37 PM   #1
cheetahcheetah
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
People can spy on my mac...

I have had a 'friend' send me screen shots of my computers current activity as well as mock things I have said in conversations on facebook. (I believe he/they can even hear the audio I am currently listening to or playing. 'Believe' being the wrong word seeing that i know they can.)

Multiple people are in on this and all are viewing my computer on some sort of site...

I have known for quite sometime I am being spied on but haven't cared much until recently because it is starting to jeopardize my work.

Please help. Again, this is a factual.
cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 05:39 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Change your password, check your Login Items and also check Activity Monitor (SHOW ALL PROCESSES) for any unknown processes (you can print them and attach them to your next post).

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge

Last edited by simsaladimbamba; May 23, 2011 at 06:05 PM. Reason: keyboard error
simsaladimbamba is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 05:48 PM   #3
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Disconnect from the internet.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 06:02 PM   #4
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
heres screens of my activity monitor. Im a big time newb when it comes to tech things. Can you spot anything out of the ordinary?



cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 06:03 PM   #5
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Change your password, check your Login Items and also check Activity Monitor (SHOW ALL PROCESSES) for any unknown processes (you can print them and attach them to your next post).

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006

It's bad enough I have to see you post this a dozen or so times a day but three times in one thread????
__________________
The distance in time between 1980 and now is the same amount as the distance in time between 1980 and WWII.
rdowns is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 06:04 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
It's bad enough I have to see you post this a dozen or so times a day but three times in one thread????
error of finger input


Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahcheetah View Post
heres screens of my activity monitor. Im a big time newb when it comes to tech things. Can you spot anything out of the ordinary?

Image

Image
How to attach an image to your MR post.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 06:10 PM   #7
Apple OC
macrumors 68040
 
Apple OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hogtown
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahcheetah View Post
I have known for quite sometime I am being spied on but haven't cared much until recently because it is starting to jeopardize my work.

Please help. Again, this is a factual.
that's a nice shirt your'e wearing ... blue is your best color
__________________
one Stupid Blog
Apple OC is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 06:28 PM   #8
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
sorry about that. I've also already looked through my sharing options on my Mac and that doesnt seem to be the root of the problem. Thanks again.



cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2011, 11:48 PM   #9
torbjoern
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Black Lodge
What is the URL to that site?
torbjoern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 02:26 PM   #10
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
I dunno. Thats none of my concern. I just want to get the **** off finally. Ideas? Do you see anything out of the ordinary in the Activity Monitor screen shots?
cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 02:46 PM   #11
lewis82
macrumors 68000
 
lewis82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
There was this qmasterd I didn't know about, but then google told me it has something to do with the Compressor app. Do you use it?

Your best bet would be to back up your files on an external hard drive (and only your files, not the system files), erase and install, and then copy everything back.
__________________
Master Procrastinator. If you see me posting, I should be doing homework.
Downvoting is for sissies.
lewis82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 02:48 PM   #12
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
If you have a wireless router, is it open or do you have security on it. Add/change the WPA password

Make sure you have sharing/remote login preferences turned off and the firewall turned on.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:04 PM   #13
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Yes, the WPA password has been changed. I have all sharing options turned off. Firewall on and all that good stuff. The trouble is locating the spyware. Someone has that has used this **** has to know how to locate it. Anything out of the ordinary in the Activity Monitor Screens?
cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:09 PM   #14
torbjoern
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Black Lodge
Do you have Back-to-My-Mac activated?
torbjoern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:31 PM   #15
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Im not exactly sure what that is but i doubt it. If thats the Mac equivalent of system restore on a PC then no.
cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:34 PM   #16
squeeks
macrumors Demi-God
 
squeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Send a message via AIM to squeeks
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahcheetah View Post
Im not exactly sure what that is but i doubt it. If thats the Mac equivalent of system restore on a PC then no.
Its a apple program that lets you control your mac from somewhere else. Its nothing like system restore.

There is nothing that looks suspicious in your activity monitor. I have to agree i think the best thing to do is reinstall OSX. Someone has obviously been on your mac and installed some sort of remote monitoring software on it. There are unfortunatly many possibilities so simply because we might have used it before, its hard to say what one you are dealing with.
__________________
Member of the Pirate Fleet Distributed Computing
Member of Soldiers of Valour BF3 Clan
squeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 03:54 PM   #17
cheetahcheetah
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
is there anyway to restore the system without deleting certain things from it? Say my version of LogicPro... I no longer have the installation disc for the program.

Also. Is there anyway to view a list of ALL CONTENT added to the machine in chronological order? This may help me find the bug seeing that i know around what time it was placed.
cheetahcheetah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 05:47 PM   #18
lewis82
macrumors 68000
 
lewis82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahcheetah View Post
is there anyway to restore the system without deleting certain things from it? Say my version of LogicPro... I no longer have the installation disc for the program.

Also. Is there anyway to view a list of ALL CONTENT added to the machine in chronological order? This may help me find the bug seeing that i know around what time it was placed.
/Applications/Utilities/System Info. You can see all applications on your system in there, and sort them by modification date.
__________________
Master Procrastinator. If you see me posting, I should be doing homework.
Downvoting is for sissies.
lewis82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 09:37 PM   #19
mentaluproar
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Mackeeper helper....thats suspicious. It's not the cause but it should not be there.

back up your things manually while offline. Do not use time machine! reinstall the OS and all security updates. Reinstall your apps manually, then copy back your things.

As for logic pro, assuming this is legally purchased, contact support. They should be able to help you prove you bought it and send you new media for a lower cost than a new license. If you did pirate it, this is likely your fault. Pirated software comes with all sorts of bad stuff bundled in it.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 09:48 AM   #20
Mr_Brightside_@
macrumors 65816
 
Mr_Brightside_@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: below Ash Tree Lane
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
Mackeeper helper....thats suspicious. It's not the cause but it should not be there.

back up your things manually while offline. Do not use time machine! reinstall the OS and all security updates. Reinstall your apps manually, then copy back your things.

As for logic pro, assuming this is legally purchased, contact support. They should be able to help you prove you bought it and send you new media for a lower cost than a new license. If you did pirate it, this is likely your fault. Pirated software comes with all sorts of bad stuff bundled in it.
You know the original thread was from 2011, right?
__________________
All over the ship, dancing through the wreckage of the Pfhor computer core, DURANDAL WAS LAUGHING
Here is the toil of that house, and the inextricable wandering
Mr_Brightside_@ is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 01:03 PM   #21
mentaluproar
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
I do now
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Radeon 5870 on my Mac Pro using Boot Camp uelef Mac Pro 9 Jul 14, 2012 12:55 PM
Playstation on my Mac mcapanelli Mac and PC Games 4 Nov 20, 2011 07:58 PM
Find My Mac not working in Guest (safari-only mode) GerMo iCloud and Apple Services 2 Nov 8, 2011 05:35 PM
I need to convert wmv so that i can EDIT on my Mac, not just view. MyMacHatesMe Mac Basics and Help 3 Jul 8, 2008 02:15 PM
?!?! I can see Shared people on my Mac (WEP password protected) erkanasu OS X 6 Nov 30, 2007 12:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC