Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 7, 2012, 03:53 PM   #26
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdv5 View Post
Here's what to do. I've had Samsung DLP and LED TVs, and they both handle computer input the same way. There is one special HDMI/DVI input on the back of your TV that is intended for computer hook-up. You need to connect your Mini to that HDMI input. Then in the Samsung set-up menu, you need to rename that input as PC. Once you do that, your TV will be able to handle the video signal from the Mini using correct color space and 1:1 pixel mapping. You will not need to scale the picture on the Mini. You will notice that the image will just snap in, producing very sharp picture with perfectly legible text. Anything else will give you subpar picture.
My Samsung UN40C6300 maps "PC" input as a VGA source, and "HDMI" input as HDMI source.
calvol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:40 PM   #27
Negritude
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Make sure your monitor is in PC or Computer mode and/or that overscan is disabled (set things to "just scan", as a poster said above). The monitor is being detected as a TV when connected via HDMI, which causes the poor picture.
Negritude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2013, 12:00 PM   #28
Dorianadams
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Yes the sharpness on a Samsung needs to be all the way down... but text is still not black enough.... No matter what setting... As far as general appearance
and screen edge cutoffs ..Go to the Apple settings ..click on displays and crank up the underscan until it looks better. Still probably going back .. Too fussy.
Dorianadams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 09:48 PM   #29
ddnava
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I've got a similar issue with my Mac Mini (2012, 2.50GHz i5), but I don't like the effect that underscan gives to the image.
I mean, it actually makes the image to fit in my screen (TV), but it makes ir a little blurred, but when I boot in Win7 via BootCamp, the image quality is plain perfect. I wonder if there's a way to make it look better on OS X. And no, my TV has no such a "Just scan" option
ddnava is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 02:47 AM   #30
MJL
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Just a configuration issue.

There are thousands of different monitors and Apple has not created a profile for every monitor under the sun. I had to create my own profile for a U2713H on a 2010 Mac mini server, the 2011 and 2012 Mac mini did have a profile build in for this model.
MJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 04:00 AM   #31
Miat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJL View Post
Just a configuration issue.

There are thousands of different monitors and Apple has not created a profile for every monitor under the sun. I had to create my own profile for a U2713H on a 2010 Mac mini server, the 2011 and 2012 Mac mini did have a profile build in for this model.
I recently picked up a late 2012 Mini (refurb) and a Dell U2713H (new), and they worked together straight out of the box, via the Display Port cable that came with the Dell. Full res (2560 x 1440) and a beautiful picture.
Miat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 10:44 AM   #32
ddnava
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJL View Post
Just a configuration issue.

There are thousands of different monitors and Apple has not created a profile for every monitor under the sun. I had to create my own profile for a U2713H on a 2010 Mac mini server, the 2011 and 2012 Mac mini did have a profile build in for this model.
Okay, so how can I create my own profile for a L32W961 (AOC)?
ddnava is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 10:58 AM   #33
fa8362
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddnava View Post
Okay, so how can I create my own profile for a L32W961 (AOC)?
Your first step should be to Google how to articles on making monitor profiles on the Mac. I wouldn't buy a calibration device for a 720P TV. Definitely not worth it. Instead, use the built-in calibration on the Mac.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 01:00 PM   #34
ddnava
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa8362 View Post
Your first step should be to Google how to articles on making monitor profiles on the Mac. I wouldn't buy a calibration device for a 720P TV. Definitely not worth it. Instead, use the built-in calibration on the Mac.
Question is, how can I access the built-in calibration on my Mac?
ddnava is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 01:03 PM   #35
niteflyr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southern Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddnava View Post
Question is, how can I access the built-in calibration on my Mac?

System Preferences > Displays > Color tab
niteflyr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 05:41 PM   #36
MJL
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddnava View Post
Okay, so how can I create my own profile for a L32W961 (AOC)?
I had deleted the saved stuff after disposing my 2010 server and it took me some time to find it again. Here is the link: http://embdev.net/topic/284710 .Halfway down ( http://embdev.net/topic/284710#3027030 ) is a script to generate the new configuration and afterwards you'll have to move it to the correct location. Good luck.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by fa8362 View Post
Your first step should be to Google how to articles on making monitor profiles on the Mac. I wouldn't buy a calibration device for a 720P TV. Definitely not worth it. Instead, use the built-in calibration on the Mac.
That is a different calibration, I am talking about the configuration file - OS X recognizing the monitor and applying the settings for the monitor. What you are suggesting is adjusting the color calibration.
MJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox site looks terrible captainmeowtron Web Design and Development 13 Aug 22, 2009 04:46 PM
Why do so many websites look terrible in Safari 4? ghileman Mac Applications and Mac App Store 23 Aug 10, 2009 03:09 AM
Is DVI the same as HDMI? Looking to buy a Mini-DVI to DVI or HDMI... SamIchi Mac Basics and Help 2 Jun 11, 2009 04:47 PM
My page looks terrible in IE... any ideas? jwtseng Web Design and Development 4 Feb 25, 2008 09:01 PM
.mov files look terrible in imovie?? howard Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 13, 2007 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC