Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:54 AM   #1
tokelokenem
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
G3 iMac

I was holding out on making a thread, but I can't find an answer.

I got a G3 Blue iMac slot loader and it was booting with a system folder icon. Put in a 0S9 disk, everything loaded, but it couldn't find the hard drive.

Put in a OSX 10.4 disk in, and it froze during opening disk utility.

Now it won't boot at all. Sometimes I get a single beep followed by the startup sound, I can hear the CRT turn on but no screen. Then the power LED goes dim, and or flickers a little bit followed by some faint popping sounds. Sometimes the power LED is just dim, no sounds, CRT dosen't turn on.

I hooked it up to another CRT via VGA and it will do the same, but show just a blank grey screen on the external CRT.

I put in a new PRAM battery thinking that might be it, new HD, reseated the ram, still not working.

I don't know what is going on here.

It all started after I loaded up the OSX disk. I never got close to installing it though.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:59 AM   #2
Graveyard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Romania
Send a message via Yahoo to Graveyard Send a message via Skype™ to Graveyard
Check the ram. That's the first thing to do and then try and replace the hdd with a more recent model if it still has the original one inside.
__________________
27" iMac i5 3.1 GHz; 20" iMac C2D 2.4 GHz; G4 dual 800MHz; iMac G3; G3 B&W; iBook G3 white; iBook clamshell; PowerBook 3400c; Quadra 610; Classic II; 2 x iPad 2 32GB; iPhone 3GS 16 GB.

Last edited by Graveyard; Nov 20, 2012 at 01:01 AM. Reason: Bad spelling 'cause of my ipad onscreen kb.
Graveyard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:05 AM   #3
tokelokenem
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I've reseated the ram about 4 times now.

Sometimes after the startup sound, and after I can hear the CRT start and CD drive start, it seems theres not enough power and the LED goes dim and makes a slight popping/ticking sound. It's not the HD though.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:51 AM   #4
tokelokenem
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Well, its working right now. It's on it side, and connected to an external CRT.

All I did was lose a screw in the case when it was upside down and I shook it around untill it came out. Yes it was heavy. I also pressed a little button on the bottom of the logic board and took out the PRAM battery.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC