Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:46 AM   #1
pascals
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Kingston ValueRam works just fine

I always come looking here to see if things are compatible with my macs, couldn't find this one. This thread is here just to confirm that Kingston's KVR13R9D4K4/64I ValueRam 64GB(4x16) 1333Mhz C9 Reg x4 I works just fine in my mid 2010 mac pro, has the thermal sensor, ECC and all.
pascals is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:30 AM   #2
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pascals View Post
I always come looking here to see if things are compatible with my macs, couldn't find this one. This thread is here just to confirm that Kingston's KVR13R9D4K4/64I ValueRam 64GB(4x16) 1333Mhz C9 Reg x4 I works just fine in my mid 2010 mac pro, has the thermal sensor, ECC and all.
Hi, I installed 2x 16GB dimms in my 2012 Hex Mac Pro. How much memory can a single processor handle, I keep hearing 48GB being thrown around, how is the 64GB in yours being addressed? dual processor system?

The parts I used and can confirm as fully compatible are part number - KVR13LR904/16HM 1.35v
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:38 AM   #3
pascals
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Yeah, mine is a dual processor, should have specified that.
pascals is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:03 AM   #4
pyzon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pascals View Post
I always come looking here to see if things are compatible with my macs, couldn't find this one. This thread is here just to confirm that Kingston's KVR13R9D4K4/64I ValueRam 64GB(4x16) 1333Mhz C9 Reg x4 I works just fine in my mid 2010 mac pro, has the thermal sensor, ECC and all.
Mind me asking where you got it and how much it cost, I'm trying to find 3x8gb sticks but coming at at around $210 which seems a little rich to me. Thanks
pyzon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:11 AM   #5
pascals
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: the Netherlands
ECC Ram is expensive, cost me 470 euro. I bought it in the Netherlands where I live. We have a website which does price comparisons for all Dutch web shops, got one of the cheapest.
pascals is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:45 PM   #6
pyzon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pascals View Post
ECC Ram is expensive, cost me 470 euro. I bought it in the Netherlands where I live. We have a website which does price comparisons for all Dutch web shops, got one of the cheapest.
Thanks, just bought KTA-MP1333DRK3/24G (Kingston 3x8GB) from Amazon warehouse for $140, good price I think. I confirmed with Kingston their lifetime warranty extended to RAM sold by Amazon Warehouse before purchasing as it is used - very good condition, also it sits in the regular Amazon extended returns period policy also so all good I think.
pyzon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:57 PM   #7
pyzon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyzon View Post
Thanks, just bought KTA-MP1333DRK3/24G (Kingston 3x8GB) from Amazon warehouse for $140, good price I think. I confirmed with Kingston their lifetime warranty extended to RAM sold by Amazon Warehouse before purchasing as it is used - very good condition, also it sits in the regular Amazon extended returns period policy also so all good I think.
correction...Kingston rang me back after I'd placed the order and told me the lifetime warranty does not extend to the item as it was used...so I've cancelled that order and will look for a new offering of the same product..(it's not as if the damn product has changed any by the change of ownership!!!) hihi..
pyzon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:18 PM   #8
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Lifetime warranties are always for the original owner only unless specified otherwise.

This is a bigger deal than you'd think, because it implies you have to prove you are the original order by way of a receipt, which can certainly become lost over a lifetime.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC