Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:18 PM   #26
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 601
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScholarsInk View Post
If those AC requirements are accurate, they're lower than the PC ones. How is that possible?
I believe OS X takes less of a toll on your hardware than Windows Vista, 7, or 8, which might contribute to the OS X having lower requirements.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:57 PM   #27
ScholarsInk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
I believe OS X takes less of a toll on your hardware than Windows Vista, 7, or 8, which might contribute to the OS X having lower requirements.
That wouldn't do it, because porting more than makes up for it.
ScholarsInk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:06 PM   #28
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 601
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScholarsInk View Post
That wouldn't do it, because porting more than makes up for it.
I don't understand the need to "port"... I do my games in C/C++ with a tiny bit of Obj-C/Cocoa for getting a rendering surface set up and getting user input... it seems like "porting" to Windows would be trivial, the resources and most of the code would be identical regardless of target platform... I've never written an app with a GUI for Windows (except when I did a Java app once....) but it doesn't seem like getting its equivalent to the cocoa/obj-c code wouldn't be hard...
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:41 AM   #29
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSayuSay View Post
If you're talkin about 6 core MP and beyond then yes.
But a quad MP? It's not reallty that fast, both CPU and GPU has been crapped out by top end 27" iMac for some time now.

Classic reason .. Top end iMac costs $2300 or so for upgraded CPU and GPU, 27" display included.

while a new quad MP costs what? $2500 for a West"mere" Xeon and puny Radeon 5770? And it doesn't even have any display included. I find it really hard to justify the purchase, even if I am a blinded Apple fan.
I meant if you had one. I can't justify a purchase of a Mac Pro at any price!
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:13 AM   #30
theelysium
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Game Contrller

Any one know a really good game controller for Mac? or a good app that makes the XBox controller work?
theelysium is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:35 PM   #31
ocrane
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I just downloaded Arkham City.. Crashes entire system over an over again. Tried running in high and medium settings. Running on my Retina MBP 2.6..

Anyone else having this issue?
__________________
2013 13" Haswell rMBP 512 8GB, Apple Thunderbolt Display, iPhone 5s, iPad Mini 16, iPod classic, AC Airport Extreme, iPod nano, Apple TV
ocrane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:29 AM   #32
coolspot18
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
I believe OS X takes less of a toll on your hardware than Windows Vista, 7, or 8, which might contribute to the OS X having lower requirements.
Windows has a much better graphics subsystem than OSX ... Not sure why the requirements are different. In fact, the porting overhead should make it higher.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
I don't understand the need to "port"... I do my games in C/C++ with a tiny bit of Obj-C/Cocoa for getting a rendering surface set up and getting user input... it seems like "porting" to Windows would be trivial, the resources and most of the code would be identical regardless of target platform...
It's because games are not written from scratch using C/C++... they often rely on one or more engines and frameworks - i.e. Unreal for graphics, havok for physics, etc. I don't think these engines are fully supported on the Mac which may account for the need to port.

However, as you probably noticed, games are multi-platform these days - releases are simultaneous on the Xbox, PS3, and PC... it's because the engines and frameworks support those platforms which make it quicker/easier for devs, perhaps one day they'll support OSX (but that'll require a critical mass of users... which Apple still lacks).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by moo083 View Post
Game companies need to stop selling the rights to the Mac versions to porting companies like feral. Instead they should pay them a large sum to port it and then release it themselves.
I bet Feral licenses these games for cheap - considering it's months after release. Game companies don't want to spend any money on the Mac platform because there are so few users - and the hardcore gamers will use Bootcamp or play on a console.
coolspot18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:26 AM   #33
jesses
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Georgia
Send a message via AIM to jesses
B:AC working great on my 2012 MBP 13" non-ret. I didn't change any video settings.
__________________
Macbook-2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo- 4 GB Ram- 320 GB
jesses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:15 PM   #34
Bantz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I doubt you will get good performance on many macs. Im glad I have sli 680s The Witcher 2 is so good
Bantz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:56 PM   #35
jocala
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesses View Post
B:AC working great on my 2012 MBP 13" non-ret. I didn't change any video settings.
After two hours of play, B:AC is running great on my MBP attached to a 40" LCD. Trackball is driving me nuts, I'm constantly facing away from opponents and I'm getting my butt kicked.
jocala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:36 PM   #36
gibkibonzo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocrane View Post
I just downloaded Arkham City.. Crashes entire system over an over again. Tried running in high and medium settings. Running on my Retina MBP 2.6..

Anyone else having this issue?
Just a thought: can't believe you spent so much money to get the 2.6 ghz retina with a 512 ssd drive but didnt upgrade to 16gb ram. Shame...
gibkibonzo is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC