Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:11 PM   #1
R4nd0m57
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Mac constantly turning off, house issue?

So, for about more than a year my mac has been turning off at random. Sometimes more often than not, but it happens at least once a day.
I have tried almost every solution, ive brought it in to apple store. But there is no problems they say.


I have tried UPS, different sockets, but to no avail

It will work at other peoples houses, so i assumed it was a house problems. So we called in technicians and found no problems with the house, except high voltage. Is that a problem?

is there anything else i can try to resolve this issue?
open to anything..

mac wont stay on long enough to provide specifics, but i have mountain lion.

is it a house problem?
R4nd0m57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:19 PM   #2
Apple fanboy
macrumors 68040
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
If you are using a decent UPS then I don't think it's going to be the power supply. Do you get a lot of surges or tiny little power cuts? We used to have them here until they updated the neighbourhood transformer. The only way you would tell is the answer phone and printer would reset themselves.
__________________
Late 2012 21" iMac 2.9GHz i5, ITB FD, 16G RAM, 2 TB TimeCapsule, iPhone 5 32GB, iPad Air 32G, iPad 4 32G, iPad 2 16G, ATV2, iPod touch 4th gen 8G, Xbox 360. Nikon D7100,18-55mm, 70-300mm VR lenses
Apple fanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:23 PM   #3
R4nd0m57
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
To my knowledge we haven't had any power cuts.
R4nd0m57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 01:50 PM   #4
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
if you already tried a ups that has a power conditioner in it then I dont think its power. any chance its overheating and shutting down because of that.
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 02:09 PM   #5
R4nd0m57
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
When checking my temps i didn't find any heating issues, the temps were very normal.
R4nd0m57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 02:17 PM   #6
macalec
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
It could be the high voltage is providing interference still. Try getting another tech out to take a look.

Out of curiosity, do you have any other electronics that have issues within your house??



Quote:
Originally Posted by R4nd0m57 View Post
So, for about more than a year my mac has been turning off at random. Sometimes more often than not, but it happens at least once a day.
I have tried almost every solution, ive brought it in to apple store. But there is no problems they say.


I have tried UPS, different sockets, but to no avail

It will work at other peoples houses, so i assumed it was a house problems. So we called in technicians and found no problems with the house, except high voltage. Is that a problem?

is there anything else i can try to resolve this issue?
open to anything..

mac wont stay on long enough to provide specifics, but i have mountain lion.

is it a house problem?
macalec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 02:42 PM   #7
R4nd0m57
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Sometimes the laptops wouldn't be fully charged when they are being plugged in, being recharged.

do you think a voltage regulator would help the situation?
R4nd0m57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 02:55 PM   #8
Nuke61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4nd0m57 View Post
I have tried UPS, different sockets, but to no avail

It will work at other peoples houses, so i assumed it was a house problems.
Your computer works fine at the Apple store AND at other people's houses, but shuts down at your house -- sounds like a problem with your house electrical system to me. You said you tried an UPS, but exactly which UPS? Most inexpensive UPS units <$150 or so don't do line conditioning, meaning that they step in if voltage gets too low, but they don't provide voltage regulation.

Do you have incandescent lights? Do you notice them getting brighter or dimmer, and is there any association with when your Mac shuts itself down?
Nuke61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 03:04 PM   #9
R4nd0m57
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
We do not have thoose lights.
the UPS is a 425va cyber power.
would buying a voltage regulator like this
http://www.walmart.com/ip/13213505?w...l5=pla&veh=sem work?
R4nd0m57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 04:41 PM   #10
Nuke61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4nd0m57 View Post
We do not have thoose lights.
the UPS is a 425va cyber power.
would buying a voltage regulator like this
http://www.walmart.com/ip/13213505?w...l5=pla&veh=sem work?
That looks like it would help, because it has voltage step-up and stepdown, and it has indicator lights showing if voltage is high or low.
Nuke61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 06:26 PM   #11
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
A high line voltage by itself shouldn't be a problem for an iMac, as the specified AC line voltage is in the range from 100V to 240V. Excessive low frequency noise or spikes/dips on the line could cause problems. Also, the active power factor correction in iMac power supplies makes them sensitive to distorted AC waveforms. Consumer level UPS units do not protect against low frequency noise, short spikes, or poor waveform.

The problem could be caused by a defective pole transformer, connection, electricity meter, or even an appliance or motor in the house.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 06:30 PM   #12
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Check that your mains are grounded.

I plugged up a 1100w Yamaha home stereo. After using it for the first time, I found out (with quite a shock) that the mains socket wasn't properly grounded...
__________________
-I read your post, that'll be 99-
IT'S OK! I'm from the internetz!
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC