Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 22, 2012, 03:05 PM   #1
Astro7x
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Using Apple Remote Desktop over the internet

So I recently purchased Apple Remote Desktop, and it works great on our companies local network! I am having major difficulties getting it to work outside of our network if we need to access a computer from home.

There are two related but different issues here.

First... I tested this thing out by going from my business to my home computer. I forwarded the ports, set up Remote Management at home. On the ARD end at work I type in my home IP address, enter an Admin UN/PW, and it works! Wonderful! Except that I have two computers at home, and it's only letting me connect to one of them. That being the computer I set up the port forwarding for on the router. So how the heck can I use Apple Remote Desktop to basically show me all the computers on my network at home, and then screen share into whatever one I want?

Second... I went home and tried this out the opposite way. Forwarded the ports on the router at worked, picked a computer I wanted to share, set the remote management settings. Installed ARD at home, typed in the work IP address, saw the computer on the list, entered the Admin UN/PW to connect, and.... nothing. It wouldn't verify the username/password and wouldn't let me connect to my computer. So what am I doing wrong that I did everything identically but still can't connect to the computer?

Basically my goal is to give ARD to a couple of our employees that need to remote in, have them install it on their home computers, and connect to their local machine at work for when they need to. We don't have any crazy firewalls or anything going on, so I am not sure what is preventing me from getting this to work.
Astro7x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 03:44 PM   #2
codeus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
The reason you can't access more than one PC is because you are using port forwarding to push all ARD traffic to a specific PC. This is ok for PC1 but if you want to connect to PC2 there is no way that can happen as your router is diligently forwarding all ARD traffic to PC1.

VPN is the key. Once you connect via VPN, there is a (pseudo) LAN connection to your office, no NAT, no Port-forwarding, all ports are available to all computers. Your router may have a VPN function built in, if not, I would suggest you buy one that does (small SOHO ones start out pretty cheap).

Set up a simple VPN (eg. PPTP which doesnt require any server-based authentication shenanigans and is supported by Mac) and add the staff you want to connect remotely as users.

On their client computers, open System Preferences > Network and add a PPTP VPN connection with your office IP and their details you set on the router.

There is still one caveat though, the VPN clients will (most likely) not be on the same subnet as your office LAN so the scanner feature will not work, nor will wake commands. But, provided you know the IP addresses (and they are static) of the computers you want to connect to, you can still add them manually to ARD via IP.

If your employees are on PC rather than Mac, I would recommend shrewsoft vpn, it's free and works great.

HTH
codeus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 01:48 AM   #3
davidroger621
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
You may try using various remote support tools like logmein, on premise RHUB or Bomgar remote support appliances etc. for remotely accessing computers.
davidroger621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2013, 11:30 PM   #4
Titanium81
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidroger621 View Post
You may try using various remote support tools like logmein, on premise RHUB or Bomgar remote support appliances etc. for remotely accessing computers.
TeamViewer works GREAT too!
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Air 1.8GHz i5 8GB Ram 128GB SSD - 2012 Mac Mini 2.6Ghz i7 16GB Ram 256GB SSD - 27" Thunderbolt Display - iPhone 4S 32GB LifeProof Case - iPad 4 16GB
Titanium81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2013, 07:59 AM   #5
jmichael99
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titanium81 View Post
TeamViewer works GREAT too!

Please correct me if i am wrong on this one.

Teamviewer will not allow you to log on without letting the client know?

Meaning, i want to log onto an employees computer to watch what he is doing i can't because team view gives a popup on the upper right that says someone is logged in.

i believe apples remote desktop allows you to log on in stealth so the client never knows
jmichael99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2013, 07:50 PM   #6
mire3212
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Hey Astro,

A feature that is provided with ARD is the ability to change the VNC and ARD port used to connect to a client machine with. As pointed out earlier in the post, if you forward 5900 and 5283 to a single client, only that one machine can be accessed remotely.

VPN is the ideal solution as it not only provides unrelenting access to your entire network, it doe so securely.

Tools such as LogMein or iTeleport etc are great and require little setup.

There is another way...

Configure your port forwarding to also include ports 5901/5284 and point that to machine 2, then 5902/5284 to point to machine 3 etc.... You can choose 'Get Info' on a connection in ARD to be able to modify the port numbers that it's going to connect with to allow you to choose which machine to connect with.


Ultimately ARD is not really meant for over-the-internet machine access, but can be fudged to do so.
__________________
-Mire
mire3212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2013, 09:51 PM   #7
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmichael99 View Post
Please correct me if i am wrong on this one.

Teamviewer will not allow you to log on without letting the client know?

Meaning, i want to log onto an employees computer to watch what he is doing i can't because team view gives a popup on the upper right that says someone is logged in.

i believe apples remote desktop allows you to log on in stealth so the client never knows
You can setup TeamViewer to allow you to control the remote PC without needing permission.
You just have to setup the free account. Then when you install TeamViewer on the "client" computer you enter a password that allows it to be controlled. You can then "Add this computer" to your team viewer account.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 9.49.37 PM.png
Views:	25
Size:	198.9 KB
ID:	436515  
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Remote Desktop? stanw Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Apr 23, 2013 05:45 AM
Remote Desktop on LAN OK, but on Internet ? aerobyravol OS X 12 Dec 27, 2012 07:11 PM
Apple Remote Desktop won't connect via internet sonofmof Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 25, 2012 03:33 AM
Apple Remote Desktop Help! iThink Apple OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 19, 2012 07:50 PM
Apple Remote Desktop Ricky Smith Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Jun 4, 2012 12:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC