Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:16 AM   #1
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
iMac No Longer Powers On

Hi all. I just purchased a C2D 20" iMac that had a busted LCD. When it arrived, everything worked fine, but the screen was unusable. So I powered it off, unplugged it and left it in my closet for nearly two weeks.

Last night, I removed the broken LCD and installed a new one, and while I was in there, I cleaned the fan and changed the HDD to an SSD. I wanted to test it before putting it back together completely, and sure enough, it does not power on. It now shows absolutely no sign of receiving power. I located the LEDs on the logic board and they don't even illuminate. One thing I should note is that I did *not* check it for power again before disassembly as I assumed it was still working fine. So I am not sure if it "died" before or after replacing the LCD.

Any tips/suggestions?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:23 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
How did you clean it, you have to be careful, Static electricity can easily damage a logic board and/or the power supply.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:26 AM   #3
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
I used a can of computer duster and blew out all the thick black lint-type fuzz in the fans. It was the grossest fan I'd ever seen to be honest. The small round vent on the back of the iMac (around the power cord area) is also completely black with this stuff.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:11 PM   #4
BeeJee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island/North Jersey
Sounds like a smokers home.
BeeJee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 05:50 PM   #5
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
It most definitely came from smokers, it reeks of it. Poor thing. I really do not want to shell out $40+ for a new PSU though...
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:45 PM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeJee View Post
Sounds like a smokers home.
Completely irrelevant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
It most definitely came from smokers, it reeks of it. Poor thing. I really do not want to shell out $40+ for a new PSU though...
What I said before still stands but normally if you take care it won't be a problem, since most Macs are aluminium you can touch the metal before anything else to discharge, it also depends on the person which does it and the kind of weather and tools.
If you are not a person which is "charged", in a bit humid weather and don't use air form a compressor together with non generating tools you're OK.
I openen plenty computers without the special discharging arm wrist and did not have any issues.
But, as an Electrical Engineer I also saw boards damaged by static electricity, just 2 years ago we got 10-15 of them damaged by a single person (Charged), (Hi tech boards for Toll road signalling),
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:57 PM   #7
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Thank you for that info justperry. I guess it was somehow damaged by static electricity. On a side note, it is a white C2D iMac but I used the metal frame on the bottom to discharge.

I just plugged it in to see if maybe it would revive and the PSU sparked big time. It actually was one large bright spark accompanied by a large POP. Now the room smells of smoke and the PSU has turned brown in some spots.

I really, really hope this didn't zap the logic board.

Thumb resize.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD

Last edited by zackkmac; Feb 26, 2013 at 08:11 PM.
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:12 PM   #8
BeeJee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island/North Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Completely irrelevant.



What I said before still stands but normally if you take care it won't be a problem, since most Macs are aluminium you can touch the metal before anything else to discharge, it also depends on the person which does it and the kind of weather and tools.
If you are not a person which is "charged", in a bit humid weather and don't use air form a compressor together with non generating tools you're OK.
I openen plenty computers without the special discharging arm wrist and did not have any issues.
But, as an Electrical Engineer I also saw boards damaged by static electricity, just 2 years ago we got 10-15 of them damaged by a single person (Charged), (Hi tech boards for Toll road signalling),
Who put you in charge to decide what is and what isn't relevant? OP even acknowledged I was correct. Smoking is known to be bad for electronics and I was making a statement on why there was probably black looking lint.
BeeJee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 11:00 PM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
Thank you for that info justperry. I guess it was somehow damaged by static electricity. On a side note, it is a white C2D iMac but I used the metal frame on the bottom to discharge.

I just plugged it in to see if maybe it would revive and the PSU sparked big time. It actually was one large bright spark accompanied by a large POP. Now the room smells of smoke and the PSU has turned brown in some spots.

I really, really hope this didn't zap the logic board.

Thumb resize.
If you touched the metal it normally will equalise the voltage, so this might not be the problem here, you might have moved something and it short circuited.
Hard to tell, the photo is with flash, can't see much there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeJee View Post
Who put you in charge to decide what is and what isn't relevant? OP even acknowledged I was correct. Smoking is known to be bad for electronics and I was making a statement on why there was probably black looking lint.
If this was/is the case many more electronics in smokers houses would be affected and this is just not the case.
Electronics always attract dust (especially when high voltages are present), smoking or not.

Edit: But, you are partially right, if people smoke it gets greasy and dust will stick to it, so yeah, I said things to fast, it is relevant, sorry about that.

Last edited by justperry; Feb 26, 2013 at 11:08 PM.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:18 AM   #10
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Sorry about the photo; the non-flash version did not show well either. The top-middle portion of the PSU (as well as the tape strip above it) turned a bit brown.

I guess I messed it up but I thought I took all the right precautions. I've repaired the same exact computer before (and many others) so I did not see that coming.

Anywho I've just sold it on eBay for much more than what I paid for it and the screen so I'll let the new buyer diagnose its problem or use it for parts. I could've bought a new PSU and if it had worked then still made some profit, but if it had fried the logic board too (which is very likely) I would've been at a loss. Not worth that risk.

Thanks for the input to the both of you.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:24 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
Sorry about the photo; the non-flash version did not show well either. The top-middle portion of the PSU (as well as the tape strip above it) turned a bit brown.

I guess I messed it up but I thought I took all the right precautions. I've repaired the same exact computer before (and many others) so I did not see that coming.

Anywho I've just sold it on eBay for much more than what I paid for it and the screen so I'll let the new buyer diagnose its problem or use it for parts. I could've bought a new PSU and if it had worked then still made some profit, but if it had fried the logic board too (which is very likely) I would've been at a loss. Not worth that risk.

Thanks for the input to the both of you.

It still amazes me people pay so much for dead gear, a couple of weeks ago someone bought an empty iMac box for more than $250.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:25 AM   #12
manual123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bellevue NE
whats the model year? or better yet the model number?

oops i didnt see that previous post
__________________
"late 2011 17 MBP, 2.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM;iPhone 5;OG iPad 16GB and many more over the last 20 years."

Last edited by manual123; Feb 27, 2013 at 12:29 AM. Reason: cant read
manual123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:35 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by manual123 View Post
whats the model year? or better yet the model number?

oops i didnt see that previous post
Can't write either.

Just kidding.
justperry is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:43 AM   #14
manual123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bellevue NE
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Can't write either.

Just kidding.
Lol truth!
__________________
"late 2011 17 MBP, 2.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM;iPhone 5;OG iPad 16GB and many more over the last 20 years."
manual123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:01 AM   #15
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post

It still amazes me people pay so much for dead gear, a couple of weeks ago someone bought an empty iMac box for more than $250.
Yeah people take advantage of others' lack to read the description fully. I remember when the iPhone 5 came out people were selling the boxes for over $1000. But as far as eBay goes I know they have a team that scouts for that and cancel those kinds of listings.

Now my iMac G4 won't power on.

Edit: Just tried the G4 in the kitchen and it powers on just fine. So now I have concluded that the iMac C2D was in fact working fine, rather, my outlets are having issues on this wall. When I tested the C2D one last time on this wall, it blew a breaker/fuse and consequently fried the PSU. Should've done tried another room and it would've lived. Damn.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD

Last edited by zackkmac; Feb 27, 2013 at 01:15 AM.
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:22 AM   #16
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
Yeah people take advantage of others' lack to read the description fully. I remember when the iPhone 5 came out people were selling the boxes for over $1000. But as far as eBay goes I know they have a team that scouts for that and cancel those kinds of listings.

Now my iMac G4 won't power on.

Edit: Just tried the G4 in the kitchen and it powers on just fine. So now I have concluded that the iMac C2D was in fact working fine, rather, my outlets are having issues on this wall. When I tested the C2D one last time on this wall, it blew a breaker/fuse and consequently fried the PSU. Should've done tried another room and it would've lived. Damn.
I am into Electrics and electronics, a wall outlet fried the PSU?
That's the first time I heard this, I think the wiring is faulty, how old is the wall outlet, do you happen to have 2 or 3 phase power in the house, if this is true there might be more voltage on the outlet than there should be.

Now, I am not American but in Europe it's 240 Volt in between Live and common wires but 400 volts in between 2 phases, that's a lot more and will kill any electronics in fractions of seconds.

Crap this happened to you, you had a perfectly working C2d before, it's kinda odd this happened now when you cleaned it out.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:52 AM   #17
zackkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
Not exactly sure about what phase wiring I have. But yes it is crap that this happened. No idea how but somehow it appears to me that this iMac is drawing too much power. May have been a dumb idea but for curiosity purposes I plugged the C2D back into the wall just now and it threw the breaker again. Odd to say the least because the PSU is fried so how is this thing drawing enough power to flip the breaker?

Could it happen to be the power cord? I don't see how else this iMac is doing this.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will my iMac last much longer? shenfrey iMac 9 Mar 27, 2014 11:08 PM
2006 iMac Powers Off wjohn13 iMac 1 Nov 18, 2012 12:46 PM
iMac not longer have 5.1 output KoG506 Digital Audio 1 Oct 28, 2012 08:30 AM
iMac not longer have 5.1 output? KoG506 iMac 1 Oct 27, 2012 11:18 AM
Could not wait any longer for new iMac Dr FranknFurter iMac 11 Aug 27, 2012 01:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC