Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:48 AM   #26
cbflip2000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
Heres the difference, at least where I live. Im in Va Beach, Va
Where in Virginia Beach are you getting LTE on AT&T? When did you first get it? I live in Virginia Beach but closer to Chesapeake and I have yet to see LTE in the area.
cbflip2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:11 PM   #27
adam044
macrumors 65816
 
adam044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrfatboy View Post
Microcells don't hurt battery life. They only can help by giving your phone a signal to lock on to. A phone drains the battery more when there is no signal because it is constantly searching for one.
Ok maybe not yours but it did for me. I dont even use it anymore. Lasted about a week before I disconnected it
__________________
13" Late 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz > iPhone 5s 32GB Space Grey AT&T > iPad 4 > Apple TV 3
adam044 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2013, 07:27 PM   #28
George Knighton
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Send a message via AIM to George Knighton
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam044 View Post
Microcells eat your battery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrfatboy View Post
Microcells don't hurt battery life.
There are pages and pages of arguments about the 3G Microcell and battery life over on the AT&T Forums.

:-)

Nobody agrees about anything, but there is some anecdotal evidence that some 3G Microcells will consume more battery.

I have no issues with mine, except of course I'd love to be able to tether on LTE that's boosted by a Microcell signal.
__________________
Too many Apple products to list.
George Knighton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2013, 09:52 PM   #29
einmusiker
macrumors 68020
 
einmusiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Knighton View Post
There are pages and pages of arguments about the 3G Microcell and battery life over on the AT&T Forums.

:-)

Nobody agrees about anything, but there is some anecdotal evidence that some 3G Microcells will consume more battery.

I have no issues with mine, except of course I'd love to be able to tether on LTE that's boosted by a Microcell signal.
I've thought about it too but in order for a microcell to work you need to have wifi, so no real point in tethering
__________________
I <3 Macbook pro, I <3 GoOgle Voice, I <3 my Android phone.
waiting for the shtuff to hit the fan when people start using tons of data on LTE :Popping popcorn:
einmusiker is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2013, 10:16 PM   #30
LoloBond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
Heres the difference, at least where I live. Im in Va Beach, Va
There is no reason to be on LTE when you have 15 Mbps wifi...
LoloBond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 01:30 PM   #31
George Knighton
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Send a message via AIM to George Knighton
Quote:
Originally Posted by einmusiker View Post
I've thought about it too but in order for a microcell to work you need to have wifi, so no real point in tethering
You're absolutely right, unless you're trying to confuse people for some reason or another.

__________________
Too many Apple products to list.
George Knighton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 01:42 PM   #32
Mrfatboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by einmusiker View Post
I've thought about it too but in order for a microcell to work you need to have wifi, so no real point in tethering

This is not true. A microcel plugs into a router/switch to get a internet connection. No wifi needed. However, I guess you could plug your microcell into a wireless bridge which wirelessly connection to your router. My guess it would increase lag in your conversations.
Mrfatboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 02:59 PM   #33
scaredpoet
macrumors 601
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
I stepped outside in my driveway to get 5 bars of LTE. When i go in the house LTE switches back to 4G
THe microcell isn't going to help you with this. First and foremost, microcells don't transmit LTE signals. They aren't built for it.

Why? Becuase even if it did support LTE, the data speed would *still* be only as fast as your cable modem connection. Microcells use your home internet connection to place voice calls and move data around, so it's only as fast as the slowest link... in this case, your home internet connection.

Even worse: If you use data through the microcell connection (and not Wifi), it counts against your AT&T data plan... EVEN THOUGH you are using your home internet connection. This is definitely an issue if you're on a capped plan, and could still increase your chances of throttling on a grandfathered unlimited plan.

This is why, if you're not getting a good LTE signal inside, then you still might as well use Wifi while in your house.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.

Last edited by scaredpoet; May 22, 2013 at 03:12 PM.
scaredpoet is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:18 AM   #34
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I just got their new 4.0 microcell which replaced my 2.0 microcell. They no longer call it a 3G microcell because it broadcasts LTE, 4G, and 3G signals. When you're on a VoIP call, it uses LTE. When you're on a normal call, it uses 3G. The ping is improved a lot from 200 to 30.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:31 PM   #35
BlueMoonForever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
I just got their new 4.0 microcell which replaced my 2.0 microcell. They no longer call it a 3G microcell because it broadcasts LTE, 4G, and 3G signals. When you're on a VoIP call, it uses LTE. When you're on a normal call, it uses 3G. The ping is improved a lot from 200 to 30.
There is NO such thing as a new 4.0 MicroCell. AT&T is still using the same old one they've been using forever now.
BlueMoonForever is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC