Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:04 PM   #1
Fatboy71
macrumors 6502a
 
Fatboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Installed RAM, how to check it for faults?

I've ordered my first Mac, (27 inch iMac) and I've ordered some ram to install in the iMac when it arrives.

I was wondering, how do I check the installed ram for faults?

Is there a application etc with Mountain Lion that would allow me to do this?

Thanks
__________________
iMac Late 2012, 2.9GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIAGeFrc GTX660M 512M GDDR5, 24GB ram
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Grey, iPad Air 32GB
Fatboy71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:08 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatboy71 View Post
I've ordered my first Mac, (27 inch iMac) and I've ordered some ram to install in the iMac when it arrives.

I was wondering, how do I check the installed ram for faults?

Is there a application etc with Mountain Lion that would allow me to do this?

Thanks
Check out our MacRumors guide to Testing RAM. You should find what you need in there.
__________________
"Gee, I've been on this diet only ten minutes and I've already lost something, my sense of humor."
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:27 PM   #3
Fatboy71
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Fatboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Check out our MacRumors guide to Testing RAM. You should find what you need in there.
Thanks SandboxGeneral for the help, its much appreciated.
__________________
iMac Late 2012, 2.9GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIAGeFrc GTX660M 512M GDDR5, 24GB ram
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Grey, iPad Air 32GB

Last edited by Fatboy71; Jan 13, 2013 at 02:24 AM.
Fatboy71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 02:24 AM   #4
Fatboy71
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Fatboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
I've just downloaded Memtest, not sure though if it will run on Mountain Lion?
__________________
iMac Late 2012, 2.9GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIAGeFrc GTX660M 512M GDDR5, 24GB ram
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Grey, iPad Air 32GB
Fatboy71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:12 AM   #5
bobcan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny but Cold.. Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatboy71 View Post
I've just downloaded Memtest, not sure though if it will run on Mountain Lion?
I did on my 2011 MBP running newest version of ML.. Seemed to be pretty thorough, and really made it Work and Heat Up as I recall.. This is the Link to the Download I used, I imagine it is the same:

http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/
__________________
bw
bobcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:07 AM   #6
Fatboy71
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Fatboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobcan View Post
I did on my 2011 MBP running newest version of ML.. Seemed to be pretty thorough, and really made it Work and Heat Up as I recall.. This is the Link to the Download I used, I imagine it is the same:

http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/
Thanks for the help bobcan its much appreciated.

I think Memtest will be the best, most thorough thing to use for checking for errors in my ram. Thanks again.
__________________
iMac Late 2012, 2.9GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIAGeFrc GTX660M 512M GDDR5, 24GB ram
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Grey, iPad Air 32GB
Fatboy71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:05 PM   #7
bobcan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny but Cold.. Canada
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatboy71 View Post
Thanks for the help bobcan its much appreciated.

I think Memtest will be the best, most thorough thing to use for checking for errors in my ram. Thanks again.
You are very Welcome of course.. I have run it 3-4 times sporadically on my last two MBP's just to learn what goes on.. and I did use it to to help me confirm it WAS my Computer Hardware issue on my current MBP ** my Logic Board was at fault, RAM-1 slot just died!! ~ Seems like a good helper!!

** If you open up Activity Monitor when 'memtest' is running, you will see it uses virtually ALL the RAM available, and I made sure the FANS were keping it cool.. and I have 'tested' to see if it will allow some use of computer as well, and have to say it does, although SLOWER indeed seemingly.. I could find no evidence this would be harmful, so I just carried on as such!!

Good Luck and hope it helps!!
__________________
bw
bobcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:32 AM   #8
Fatboy71
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Fatboy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobcan View Post
You are very Welcome of course.. I have run it 3-4 times sporadically on my last two MBP's just to learn what goes on.. and I did use it to to help me confirm it WAS my Computer Hardware issue on my current MBP ** my Logic Board was at fault, RAM-1 slot just died!! ~ Seems like a good helper!!

** If you open up Activity Monitor when 'memtest' is running, you will see it uses virtually ALL the RAM available, and I made sure the FANS were keping it cool.. and I have 'tested' to see if it will allow some use of computer as well, and have to say it does, although SLOWER indeed seemingly.. I could find no evidence this would be harmful, so I just carried on as such!!

Good Luck and hope it helps!!
Thanks again bob for the help.

Hopefully I shouldn't be waiting too much longer to install the ram as my iMac is showing "preparing for shipment"

I'll install the ram as soon as I take my iMac out of the box (saves me taking the iMac off the desk, disconnecting everything again later) and I'll then run Memtest once I've went through the initial setup stage of a new Mac.

This will be my first Mac and I'm really looking forward to moving to Mac and learning the Mac way of doing things

Thanks again bob.
__________________
iMac Late 2012, 2.9GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 1TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIAGeFrc GTX660M 512M GDDR5, 24GB ram
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB Space Grey, iPad Air 32GB
Fatboy71 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:03 AM   #9
bobcan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny but Cold.. Canada
Cool.. I don't think there would be any reason NOT to put it in ASAP, so carry on unless someone wiser than me has a good idea on that..

Also, a great site for Do-it-Yourself MAC stuff is ifixit.. Follow iMac and find your Model.. RAM install should take 3-5 minutes (3x Phillips Screws, Remove Vented Cover, Pull 2 Plastic Tabs.. REMOVE & REPLACE!!) just did one last night at my friend's house, put 4x 8GB sticks in where he had 2x 4GB earlier.. Very Zippy!!

http://www.ifixit.com/Device/Mac

Happy MAC'day to you!!
__________________
bw
bobcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mac pro 3.1 ram only shows 6gb ram... i HAVE INSTALLED 10GB gogul1 Mac Pro 3 May 3, 2014 06:44 AM
How to check log files to date/time system RAM was changed? Any way to check this? asterix2k10 OS X 1 Mar 7, 2014 09:19 PM
How to check installed RAM in OpenFirmware rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 3, 2013 07:07 AM
How to check installed updates in Mountain Lion? coldwaves OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Oct 15, 2012 08:35 PM
How to check if ML was properly installed? macuser1232 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 13 Jul 31, 2012 02:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC