Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:20 PM   #1
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
GMA 950 vs X1600 (MacBook vs iMac)

Hey everyone, I'm contemplating buying an early Intel iMac (over an iMac G5) purely to run games. I have a late 2006 MacBook & was wondering how much of a performance boost the X1600 provides in gaming via Boot Camp. Thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:29 PM   #2
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
GMA 950 is pretty much as bad as a graphics processor can be. Used a mac with the X1600, and it had double the frame rates and more in most things.
Its still a bad card though.
What games are you planning on running?

On another note, you can get cheap low end gaming computers for the same price (around 200-350). They can run games much better and you can upgrade the GPU etc.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:37 PM   #3
Goftrey
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
GMA 950 is pretty much as bad as a graphics processor can be. Used a mac with the X1600, and it had double the frame rates and more in most things.
Its still a bad card though.
What games are you planning on running?

On another note, you can get cheap low end gaming computers for the same price (around 200-350). They can run games much better and you can upgrade the GPU etc.
Awesome - that's reassuring, as I've just bought the Intel iMac I won't be playing anything too taxing at all. GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas, Call Of Duty 1/2/3 & maybe 4, RCT3, some truck simulators, and hell I'll give F1 2010 a go. I'm in (was in) the market for a desktop Mac - don't have enough for an '06 Pro & wanted something that'd play a few games via boot camp. I have a 360 & a little HD6450 system for doing more serious stuff, it was just a little bonus I guess. Thanks for the reassuring reply though.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:10 PM   #4
jchase2057
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Awesome - that's reassuring, as I've just bought the Intel iMac I won't be playing anything too taxing at all. GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas, Call Of Duty 1/2/3 & maybe 4, RCT3, some truck simulators, and hell I'll give F1 2010 a go. I'm in (was in) the market for a desktop Mac - don't have enough for an '06 Pro & wanted something that'd play a few games via boot camp. I have a 360 & a little HD6450 system for doing more serious stuff, it was just a little bonus I guess. Thanks for the reassuring reply though.
F1 and COD 4 will not run on that thing. Great machine but not cut out for the task.
__________________
MacBook 1.83 Core Duo
1GB RAM
180GB Intel 530 Series SSD
OS X 10.6.8
jchase2057 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 05:00 PM   #5
Goftrey
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchase2057 View Post
F1 and COD 4 will not run on that thing. Great machine but not cut out for the task.
Just received the machine today - runs COD4 on ultra low settings at around 20-30fps. Not too shabby. Haven't tried F1 yet, and I'm not expect much either

But it's running the GTAIII series on high settings no issues, as well as as few Steam games. Overall, very pleased with it.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:00 AM   #6
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Just received the machine today - runs COD4 on ultra low settings at around 20-30fps. Not too shabby. Haven't tried F1 yet, and I'm not expect much either

But it's running the GTAIII series on high settings no issues, as well as as few Steam games. Overall, very pleased with it.
F1 2012 and most of the new games like Batman Arkham etc will not run on the card. In fact we just block playing on the X1600, if we let you try and load it will just crash or hang as the card is extremely underpowered for a modern machine. IT is LOADS better than a GMA950 though!
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultra2 SCSI in Quadra 950? SirFoxx Apple Collectors 3 Mar 6, 2014 09:45 PM
Just how bad is a gma 950? Zellio Mac mini 31 Aug 18, 2013 06:36 PM
Quadra 950 booting issues SirFoxx Apple Collectors 42 Dec 8, 2012 11:06 PM
$950 for a 27" iMac - good deal? bakkp Buying Tips and Advice 12 Sep 3, 2012 01:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC