Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:36 AM   #1
MikeRuth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Apple TV to Component out

Good day all, I do beleive this is not gonna happen but I want to pose the question based on my setup.

I have a client using a Sharp Projector that only has component input.

So I tried a HDMI to component adapter which indeed brought up video and audio, that was the good part, the bad is that when ever I try to get a source of HD video I receive the message that my equipment is not HDCP compliant.

Any Ideas on how I can get around that?

BTW this is a Legit Apple TV box, not Jail borken.
MikeRuth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:38 AM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
You'd need to add a device called an HDCP stripper.
http://cr4.globalspec.com/blogentry/...-HDFury-Review
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:53 AM   #3
HMI
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Kanex ATV Pro adapter

Kanex ATV Pro adapter will convert HDMI to split female VGA and 3.5mm Stereo outs, stripping HDCP along the way. Just add a separate VGA to component adapter for picture, and you should be golden.

Kanex.com
HMI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:29 PM   #4
MikeRuth
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMI View Post
Kanex ATV Pro adapter will convert HDMI to split female VGA and 3.5mm Stereo outs, stripping HDCP along the way. Just add a separate VGA to component adapter for picture, and you should be golden.

Kanex.com
Thanks for the tip, although that device is not going to work with Component output.

Mike R

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
You'd need to add a device called an HDCP stripper.
http://cr4.globalspec.com/blogentry/...-HDFury-Review
Your right, I need a stripper and thanks for the tip.

Checking on the HD fury stuff now. that might work as long as my client goes along with the possibilty of something like this getting shut down. Hey I suppose it's possible.

Thanks, MIke R
MikeRuth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC