Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2012, 10:17 AM   #1
authorleon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Which video card for my Mac Pro

Hello all,

I have a mac pro, which is as follows:

Model Name:Mac Pro
Model Identifier:MacPro1,1
Processor Nameual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed:2.66 GHz
Number of Processors:2
Total Number of Cores:4
L2 Cache (per Processor):4 MB
Memory:8 GB
Bus Speed:1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version:MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system):1.7f10

I have a GTX9800 which is very painful within avid, or fcp. I also have premier.

I would like to upgrade my video card but I am not sure what I can put in my Mac Pro.

I though about a GTX285.

Please can you help me and tell me the best card to get.

Thanks
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 01:18 PM   #2
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Try to find the EVGA GTX 285. Most likely it will have to be used. Any current offerings (5770, 5870) will not let you use Mercury playback on Premier. You could also get a Quadro for like $1000.00. You could also get on 10.7.3 and hack a GTX 570 to work.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 03:04 PM   #3
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Sadly with a GTX285 you will not have boot screen support and you will either need to use ATY_Init or the Nvidia 10.7.3 "Magic" drivers. If you are willing to accept that, a GTX470 or GTX570 can be used the same way.

Is you 8800GT the standard 512 Megs? If so Mercury is not enabled. You need at least 768 Megs of RAM and Compute 1.1 capability to run MPE.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 05:32 PM   #4
authorleon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Sadly with a GTX285 you will not have boot screen support and you will either need to use ATY_Init or the Nvidia 10.7.3 "Magic" drivers. If you are willing to accept that, a GTX470 or GTX570 can be used the same way.

Is you 8800GT the standard 512 Megs? If so Mercury is not enabled. You need at least 768 Megs of RAM and Compute 1.1 capability to run MPE.
Hello,

What do you mean magic drivers>

Can I use a normal gtx285 or gtx550 ti, one that is not made for a mac.

I am going to use FCP x, avid, and premier 5.5.

So what would be the best solution with causing to much headache.

THank you
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 05:56 PM   #5
Ishmumrhmn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
lool, sux to be a mac user

I can put any video card on my PC
Ishmumrhmn is offline   -10 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 05:59 PM   #6
authorleon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Well I have a PC as well!!
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 06:28 PM   #7
AkuskaUK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishmumrhmn View Post
lool, sux to be a mac user

I can put any video card on my PC
He asked for help, not for you to be a moron about it. If you hate Mac's so much... why be on a forum about them?

Tard.
__________________
MBP '08 15 2.4C2D, 4GB Ram, 500GB
rMBP '15 2.7 i7, 16GB Ram, 512 SSD
Mac Pro 2.26x2 8Core Nehalem, 32Gb Ram, GTX770
iPhone 5S 64GB White + all previous.
AkuskaUK is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 06:30 PM   #8
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by authorleon View Post
Hello,

What do you mean magic drivers>

Can I use a normal gtx285 or gtx550 ti, one that is not made for a mac.

I am going to use FCP x, avid, and premier 5.5.

So what would be the best solution with causing to much headache.

THank you
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1330964
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1360927

Posting from a 2010 Mac Pro with a standard PC GTX 560 Ti, for reference.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 07:13 PM   #9
Neodym
macrumors 6502a
 
Neodym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishmumrhmn View Post
lool, sux to be a mac user

I can put any video card on my PC
How cute - a troll! Here's a fish for you: <°))))><
Neodym is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 06:22 AM   #10
authorleon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkuskaUK View Post
He asked for help, not for you to be a moron about it. If you hate Mac's so much... why be on a forum about them?

Tard.
I totally agree!
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 02:30 AM   #11
Ishmumrhmn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkuskaUK View Post
He asked for help, not for you to be a moron about it. If you hate Mac's so much... why be on a forum about them?

Tard.
Because just in case you didn't know, Apple makes these phones called iPhones, and I own one of them.
Ishmumrhmn is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 02:31 AM   #12
Ishmumrhmn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodym View Post
How cute - a troll! Here's a fish for you: <°))))><
Nice! I ate teh feesh
Ishmumrhmn is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 09:21 AM   #13
PerplexShyt
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishmumrhmn View Post
lool, sux to be a mac user

I can put any video card on my PC
sorry but no you can't put any video card in a PC
PerplexShyt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:55 PM   #14
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Sadly with a GTX285 you will not have boot screen support and you will either need to use ATY_Init or the Nvidia 10.7.3 "Magic" drivers. If you are willing to accept that, a GTX470 or GTX570 can be used the same way.
There is no boot screen support on EVGA for Mac GTX 285? I remember there being a boot screen.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 02:43 PM   #15
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
There is no boot screen support on EVGA for Mac GTX 285? I remember there being a boot screen.
This is an easy one.

Hint: The reason a 1,1 doesn't have a boot screen with a GTX285 is the same reason it won't be running ML.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 03:48 PM   #16
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
There is no boot screen support on EVGA for Mac GTX 285? I remember there being a boot screen.
It is a 1,1 issue.
"... EVGA’s GTX 285 will only work on 2008 - 2009 model Mac Pros, the original 2006 model is not supported. Bummer. ..."
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2805/2

I have no idea why there is rash of folks who want to plow ever larger sums of money into Mac 1,1's. The root cause isusse is only going to grow to cover more hardware/software over time. It is a vintage box that was a quick kluge to get the Mac Pro line jumpstarted and off of PowerPC.
deconstruct60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 05:08 PM   #17
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks knowledge bearers.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 08:21 AM   #18
authorleon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by authorleon View Post
Hello,

What do you mean magic drivers>

Can I use a normal gtx285 or gtx550 ti, one that is not made for a mac.

I am going to use FCP x, avid, and premier 5.5.

So what would be the best solution with causing to much headache.

THank you
hello,

i have a GTX285 evga NOW. Can someone point out the magic drivers please. My mac is a MACPRO 1.1.

thanks.
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 10:03 AM   #19
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by authorleon View Post
hello,

i have a GTX285 evga NOW. Can someone point out the magic drivers please. My mac is a MACPRO 1.1.

thanks.
I guess you didn't read my post above?

If you read those threads, you'll see the link to the driver for 10.7.4:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...06-driver.html
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What video card for a 3.1 Mac Pro dobro03 Mac Pro 17 May 20, 2014 07:59 PM
New Mac Pro or new Video Card? surfmadison Digital Video 8 Jan 3, 2014 02:30 PM
Mac Pro 3,1 - Second Video Card RVijay007 Mac Pro 3 Dec 15, 2013 09:42 PM
Video card Mac Pro 1,1 hanHans Mac Pro 7 Oct 14, 2012 10:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC