Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 06:15 PM   #1
JmacHS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Graphics card compatability

Hello,

I am sorry if this is an over-asked question however i have done a lot of research on this topic with varying results. I have a dual quad core mac pro version 4,1 which has a Nvidia GT120 graphics card installed. I do a lot of 3D design work in CAD applications and using various Adobe suite tools, and this card is very underpowered for these applications. I would also like to be able to play the odd game. I spend almost 100% of my time on this computer in windows under bootcamp however, and honestly i cant remember the last time i switched back to OS X. I simply dont have the need to.

My question is, am i able to install a windows graphics card in my mac, while leaving the GT 120 in? My (likely highly flawed) logic is that with both installed the system will function normally under windows and will use the GT 120 when i occasionally boot into OS X. This is something i remember reading a few days ago, sorry if this is silly. There is simply a much greater range of cards for PC and the prices are not comparable with those for mac. And considering i use windows 8 the vast majority of the time regardless, i would like to be able to take advantage of the features offered by these cards specific to my applications.

Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated. My research has possibly left me more confused than before

Cheers
JmacHS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 06:48 PM   #2
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Yes. See the FAQ thread for details about how NVIDIA cards work under Mac OS X. You can use whatever card you want when running Windows.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:47 PM   #3
JmacHS
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thank you very much for this information. One issue i was not able to clarify through this article was the boot process. I am currently running windows 8 and since there is no support for this with bootcamp, my only reboot to OS X option is to shutdown, hold alt and select it at the boot screen.

From this post and others i am assuming i can leave my GT120 in, however will this mean the boot screen is still displayed?

Thank you
JmacHS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:40 AM   #4
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
If you have a single OSX installation and a single Windows installation, get a copy of the FREE app called BootChamp from www.kainjow.com

It is a little app that when installed adds an icon onto the top right of the title bar that you can click to select "Restart into Windows. A couple of clicks and the Mac reboots and starts up in Windows for you without having to hold down any keys.

It is a great free app and widely used.

Last edited by DanielCoffey; Nov 9, 2012 at 01:41 AM. Reason: typo
DanielCoffey is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:59 AM   #5
JmacHS
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thank you for this suggestion.

I have been looking around for different cards and the Nvidia GTX 570 seems appropriate. I have also seen it in the link above to be recommended. I am confused again however as the mac pro power supply is 225W, yet all information i can find for this card says it requires far greater than this. On Nvidia's website the required max power is as mentioned in the above guide, however all of the cards i have been able to find when purchasing are different?

Sorry to ask what i am sure are very basic questions. Thank you again for any help.
JmacHS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 03:58 AM   #6
deppest
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I am using a very similar hardware setup (not doing any windows stuff though) with a GT120 and a EVGA GTX570 2.5GB. Works flawlessly. Of course, there is no boot screen with the GTX but I can always switch to the GT120.
__________________
MacPro 4,1; 8x 3.33GHz; 24GB RAM; EVGA GTX 570 2.5GB, 10.8.4
deppest is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:02 AM   #7
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by JmacHS View Post
Thank you for this suggestion.

I have been looking around for different cards and the Nvidia GTX 570 seems appropriate. I have also seen it in the link above to be recommended. I am confused again however as the mac pro power supply is 225W, yet all information i can find for this card says it requires far greater than this. On Nvidia's website the required max power is as mentioned in the above guide, however all of the cards i have been able to find when purchasing are different?

Sorry to ask what i am sure are very basic questions. Thank you again for any help.
it's 980

the graphics card limitation is 225W
GermanyChris is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:17 AM   #8
adder7712
macrumors 68000
 
adder7712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Anywhere
I think 225W is the max supported power draw on the PCI-E slot.
__________________
Custom PC (Windows 8.1), MacBook Aluminium (OS X Mavericks), iPad 3, Samsung Galaxy S III, Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4
adder7712 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:16 AM   #9
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
PCI-e is 75 W

each 6 Pin PCI-e power cable is 75W

75x3 is 225

225w Max on a graphics card or really and card in a MP
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 03:41 PM   #10
JmacHS
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by deppest View Post
I am using a very similar hardware setup (not doing any windows stuff though) with a GT120 and a EVGA GTX570 2.5GB. Works flawlessly. Of course, there is no boot screen with the GTX but I can always switch to the GT120.
Thank you very much for letting me know. I dont like messing around with my MP so it nice to know i shouldnt have any issues. Could you please let me know how you have it setup? ie which slots you have the card in and any additional components i will need to order? Also i am using a 24" cinema display, will i need an adapter to mini-display port? Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
PCI-e is 75 W

each 6 Pin PCI-e power cable is 75W

75x3 is 225

225w Max on a graphics card or really and card in a MP
Oh ok i understand now, i was a little confused by this Thank you
JmacHS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:25 PM   #11
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
I have installed WIndows 8 64bit on both a 4,1/5,1 Mac Pro and even a 1,1 Mac Pro.

The 1,1 required quit a bit more fiddle faddling but BOTH work A-OK.

You can even choose Windows 8 as startup from "Startup Disk".

Required doing some arcane rebuilding of 64 bit ISO via some info I found via several hours of googling and trial and error.

But it most definitely can be done if you apply some logic to it.

The 570 2.5 is best card for Mac right now.

If you wish to avoid the fiddly plug switching, etc, get one from us and enjoy boot screen. We have version that includes adapter for Apple LED displays and the special Apple power cables. Turn key install. You can sell or trade in your GT120 to cover cost of EFI mod.

But I want to reiterate, Windows 8 64 bit can be installed on ANY Mac Pro. And it will enable being able to choose via "Startup Disk" but you MUST use Bootcamp assistant to partion drive to have this ability. Both WIndows 8 installs were purchased from MS, one I bought at Staples for $70 and the other I bought from MS for $40. If you have a recent purchase of Win 7 there is a way to get a Promo to get Win 8 for $15.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:50 PM   #12
JmacHS
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thank you for your help. And thank you for your offer however i would like to keep the GT120 and the GTX 570 is probably the most money i wish to spend at this time.

If anyone would be able to let me know what extra components i will require that would be much appreciated. Also are these two cards able to connect by SLI?

Thank you
JmacHS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:54 AM   #13
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Why not get what I got a 560Ti 448 its 95% of a 570 30ish cheaper and fits in the power envelope.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:14 AM   #14
adder7712
macrumors 68000
 
adder7712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Anywhere
For SLI, you would need two identical cards. So you can't SLI a GT 120 and a GTX 570.

I'd also suggest you consider the NVIDIA GeForce 6xx cards. To be more specific, the Kepler-based ones (GTX 650 and above) as they are really power efficient.
__________________
Custom PC (Windows 8.1), MacBook Aluminium (OS X Mavericks), iPad 3, Samsung Galaxy S III, Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4
adder7712 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:22 AM   #15
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Does his MP mobo support SLI connections? Will it only work in Windows or not at all?
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Graphics Card? cscotto Mac Pro 5 Nov 14, 2013 11:40 AM
Mac pro 1.1 graphics card compatability krisosha Mac Pro 0 Jul 4, 2013 10:48 PM
New graphics card compatability tony3d Mac Pro 1 Dec 24, 2012 10:44 AM
Best Graphics Card? xWhiplash Mac Pro 2 Sep 5, 2012 12:19 PM
Graphics Card Help Rokeneer Mac Pro 9 Jun 8, 2012 11:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC