Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 20, 2013, 11:33 AM   #101
WMD
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florida, USA
Wow, I feel inadequate posting after those audio setup pics

My PowerBook G4 12" is currently under my bed running OGR-27 packets for distributed.net. (The G4 is, oddly enough, the most efficient CPU available, per clock, for this task.) Running 10.4, it's also my go-to machine for any Classic apps. It's been a while since I've felt the need, though.
WMD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 12:41 PM   #102
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMadness View Post
Here's a couple more pics of Computer based stereo porn. (a couple of the rooms utilize ipods for 44.100 Khz playback though wadia docks but that's a story for a different thread....
What does this mean, thats what my home theater reciever say's when I hook the TOSLINK cable to it Digital 44.1Khz. I don't hear well enough to concern myself over audio quality so I'm just wondering.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 01:35 PM   #103
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Digital audio is not a continuous wave, but instead a stream of values which represent the amplitude of the wave at a specific time interval, just like how a video can be thought of as a series of discrete frames.

The more samples (snapshots of the wave) you have per second, the closer to a continuous wave it gets, meaning it is a more authentic representation of the original wave being recorded, and thus the better it sounds - similar I guess to how a video with a higher FPS looks more fluid.

44.1kHz is chosen as the sample rate because of a theory which states that the highest possible frequency you are able to represent is half that of the sampling frequency - so ~40kHz is chosen because it is double the upper hearing range of a human.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 03:34 PM   #104
MacMadness
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dallas TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
What does this mean, thats what my home theater reciever say's when I hook the TOSLINK cable to it Digital 44.1Khz. I don't hear well enough to concern myself over audio quality so I'm just wondering.
Without knowing what the source material is, 1411Khz (44.100 KHZ) is CD quality playback and the sample rate they are mastered at.

MP3's usually have sample rates of 128kbps, 256kbps, or 320kbps by comparison*.
*Corrections courtesy of Wildy

Last edited by MacMadness; Jun 20, 2013 at 05:33 PM.
MacMadness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 03:55 PM   #105
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Do you not mean MP3s have 128 [...] bitrates?
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 04:14 PM   #106
keremtezcan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJudge View Post
I'm down to just my iMac G5 at this point.

Mostly, I use it as a terminal for accessing my x86_64 Linux box and as a front end for my media server when I'm in my home office. It handles both of those jobs with aplomb since I don't have any HD content to stream.
iMac G5s were known for failing! Watch out!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
I use my Power Mac G5 for the whole Creative Suite package, rendering 3D with Poser, Bryce, practicing Unity 3D, and I'm trying to get a copy of Autodesk Maya for PPC, so I can use it as my main machine as my MacBook Pro screen is too small. It renders really fast actually. Do a lot of coding on it too. I want to throw a copy of Logic on it too.

The iMac G4, I do some rendering on it too, but it's mainly my family's machine, and I usually just use one of the Bannister emulators to play Genesis ROMs when I'm not using the Xbox in the living room as the screen is awesome for that.

I'm planning on adding some authoring software to my clamshell too (running OS 9). Need to figure out just what though.
Which version of the CS Suite are you using and what programming language do you work on? Thanks.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaguarGod View Post
Well, I am saddened to say that the only PPC Macs I have left are my upgraded G4 Sawtooth and my G5 Quad. But both of them now are in storage. I cannot seem to get rid of the G4 because I love the way it looks. The color scheme and the tower along with the matching 15" LCD just look great together. As far as the G5, I want to use it for something, but what?
Well, you could give it to me
Lol just jk

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMan287 View Post
My PPC is my main computer. I use it for everything
Why? PPC is getting outdated why use it as a main computer?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by seveej View Post
I donated/loaned my old G4 PB (1 Ghz), 17" to my father. He's 80, and he does his correspondence and web stuff on it. He loves the big pixels.

My Dual MDD is working as a home server (file repository backup), which it does pretty well thanks to a SATA card and two huge drives.

I had a PMG5, but was annoyed by the simultaneous need for a PC workstation, so I sold both and got an iMac, which (thanks to bootcamp and parallels) ran both platforms.

Of all the Mac's I've had and sold, the only ones I really miss are a PBG4 12", that G5 and the first (and only) Alu Macbook.

RGDS,
Aren't big pixels bad?
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:00 PM   #107
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMadness View Post
Without knowing what the source material is, 44.100Khz is CD quality playback and the sample rate they are mastered at.

MP3's usually have sample rates of 128, 256, or 320KHz by comparison.

Hope that helps.
Movies mostly, DVD and BluRay Rips, as well as streaming it literally doesn't change no matter. If the source is either of my MP's it says the same thing. Thats why I asked..

Is it better than the 128, 256, or 320Khz ?
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:09 PM   #108
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
128, 256 etc. is the bitrate. It is the sample rate * how many bits each sample is made from and it is measured in kbps, not kHz.

The sample rate from Bluray should be much higher than 44.1k, so either the settings you used to rip it were incorrect, the output sample rate on your Mac pro is set to 44.1k (check in Audio MIDI setup and audio settings), or the receiver is incapable of playing anything back higher than 44.1k (very unlikely).
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:30 PM   #109
MacMadness
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dallas TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
128, 256 etc. is the bitrate. It is the sample rate * how many bits each sample is made from and it is measured in kbps, not kHz.

The sample rate from Bluray should be much higher than 44.1k, so either the settings you used to rip it were incorrect, the output sample rate on your Mac pro is set to 44.1k (check in Audio MIDI setup and audio settings), or the receiver is incapable of playing anything back higher than 44.1k (very unlikely).
@Wildy

Thanks for the correction. I didn't mean to mix up bit rates (kpbs) and Sample rates (Khz).
Alot of things are is going on around here (in the middle of changing out/updating my Mac Pro to a newer one and I guess I was unintentionally speaking out of my arse.

I'm not knowledgeable about what the correct sample rates are for DVD's and Bluray since my focus is audio ripped from CD's and Vinyl.

I defer to you sir...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-06-20 at 5.30.32 PM.png
Views:	27
Size:	334.5 KB
ID:	418807  
MacMadness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 12:42 PM   #110
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
iMac G5s were known for failing! Watch out!
Considering that I have personally recapped the logic board and replaced the power-supply on it, I'm not too terribly worried about it.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 01:15 PM   #111
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Aren't big pixels bad?
Some people obviously prefer not having high ppi, I currently own a laptop which has 15,4" screen and 1680 x 1050 resolution. All of my friends who have used it have complained "why is the text so small" like if I would have zoom settings on Firefox etc. Same thing most likely happens when people use retina MBPs. Average user is used to 1366 x 768 or 1280 x 800 resolution on 15" displays.
__________________
Macbook 2008 C2D 2.1GHz / 4GB / 500GB / SuperDrive / 10.7.5

Last edited by Zotaccian; Jun 21, 2013 at 01:24 PM.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 01:06 PM   #112
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
128, 256 etc. is the bitrate. It is the sample rate * how many bits each sample is made from and it is measured in kbps, not kHz.

The sample rate from Bluray should be much higher than 44.1k, so either the settings you used to rip it were incorrect, the output sample rate on your Mac pro is set to 44.1k (check in Audio MIDI setup and audio settings), or the receiver is incapable of playing anything back higher than 44.1k (very unlikely).
I changed it to 96Khz in the audio midi and it sounds better kinda. I'm going to try a .MKV BluRay rip tonight.

I'd like to add as a side note my Quads audio sounded better than either of my MP's
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 01:14 PM   #113
kbfr08
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
iMac G4, just to look cool, I'll use it when I need to run an old app in classic or just feel like it. I have it set up in my office on the desk, everyone that sees it immediately wants to buy it

Powerbook Kanga is used for AOL 3.0.. because all of the old stuff is still up, it's like entering a time machine.

Also have Powermac G5 dual 2.7 and dual 1.8s, which were used for video editing until they died back in 2010 and 2012
kbfr08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 06:18 PM   #114
SaberBlock
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cheshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
Have you tried the modified flash plugin or XBMC for I player, clicktoplugin for general browsing.
I'd just assumed iPlayer was a no go... however I tried it out the other night and it's flawless in Webkit, TenFourFox and Stainless. Playing on the second monitor the CPU usage sits between 35%-50% which isn't bad at all all things considered - watching Blackadder as I type this

Running a late 2005 2.3 Dual G5.
__________________
saberblock | 13" MacBook Air, iPad Mini, AppleTV, iPhone 3GS
24" 2.16GHz iMac, 13" 2.4GHz Macbook, 2nd Gen iPod Touch (All sold to fund failed projects...)
PowerMac G5 2.3GHz - RIP August 2013
SaberBlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 08:11 PM   #115
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I changed it to 96Khz in the audio midi and it sounds better kinda. I'm going to try a .MKV BluRay rip tonight.

I'd like to add as a side note my Quads audio sounded better than either of my MP's
Because our quads are not using Intel HDA chips I guess. My PB's analog audio output are warm sounding, full and pleasing to the ear, while my MB's are tinny, no matter how much I push the limits of the equalizer in iTunes.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 01:52 AM   #116
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Because our quads are not using Intel HDA chips I guess. My PB's analog audio output are warm sounding, full and pleasing to the ear, while my MB's are tinny, no matter how much I push the limits of the equalizer in iTunes.
All computer sound chips are rubbish, get speakers with a USB connection that take the raw audio file and process it on their own superior on board processor if you want real music system audio. Anything coming from an audio jack is crippled before it even hits your speaker cable.
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 2Tb WD Black/250Gb OCZ Agility3 SSD (Startup) 7800GTX 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1
MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:12 AM   #117
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobegong View Post
All computer sound chips are rubbish, get speakers with a USB connection that take the raw audio file and process it on their own superior on board processor if you want real music system audio. Anything coming from an audio jack is crippled before it even hits your speaker cable.
I guess you are right, so it means you need to have an external DSP to convert USB audio to analog.

Aside from MM-1's do you have any speaker in mind that could connect directly to the PowerMacs USB port?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:29 AM   #118
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
Why? PPC is getting outdated why use it as a main computer?
They are only 'outdated' because Apple made them so. Computers of the age should work fine, maybe not the latest OS, but certainly in support. If the computer does what the poster wants it to do without issue (like mine does), what is the point in buying a new one?
__________________
roadbloc is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:30 AM   #119
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
I guess you are right, so it means you need to have an external DSP to convert USB audio to analog.

Aside from MM-1's do you have any speaker in mind that could connect directly to the PowerMacs USB port?
There are a few, do a search for onboard processor, Creative did one (rubbish) and so did Bose when I got mine plus the Focal XS, maybe a few others but no not a huge selection if you want true audiophile quality from your computer But if you can get it then you have the worlds largest and most flexible music stack system all in a small box, complete with iPad/Phone remote and thousands of tracks on tap
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 2Tb WD Black/250Gb OCZ Agility3 SSD (Startup) 7800GTX 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1
MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 03:02 AM   #120
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
I've got a cheap blue box from eBay with the C-MEDIA CM6206 chip in it, works great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wobegong View Post
Anything coming from an audio jack is crippled before it even hits your speaker cable.
Perhaps, but only if you've got a really badass set of speakers. And you've absolutely got to be using high quality source audio, no torrented 320kbit stuff.
__________________
Emergency Cheesegrater - 2x 1.8 G5 - 4GB - OWC SSD - ATI Fire GL X3 256MB - 10.5.8
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 03:10 AM   #121
wobegong
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
Perhaps, but only if you've got a really badass set of speakers. And you've absolutely got to be using high quality source audio, no torrented 320kbit stuff.
The speakers are only as good as the audio data they receive, a true music solutuion will have a MUCH better sound processor than the one found in any computer (even a MAC...). Rubbish speakers you won't notice the diffeence but as you go up the sound scale you hear it EASILY...

320kbit is not necessarily torrented, and is irrelevant - it could be from a iTunes CD rip, music should be lossless ideally, otherwise whats the point of listening to it? A CD sounds much better than any kind of MP3/lossy codec, why trash all that sound you've paid for when you rip to get a 2/3 cut result? Disk space is the only valid argument here really (tied up with budget), otherwise as you can only LISTEN to music why deliberately sabotage that experience when you start off with high quality for "free" (CD)
__________________
PM G5 DC 2.3Ghz 16Gb 2Tb WD Black/250Gb OCZ Agility3 SSD (Startup) 7800GTX 23" ACD Bowers & Wilkins MM-1
MBP 2.0Ghz i7 8Gb 500GB SSD iPad 3 64Gb iPhone5 64Gb
wobegong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:56 AM   #122
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadbloc View Post
They are only 'outdated' because Apple made them so. Computers of the age should work fine, maybe not the latest OS, but certainly in support. If the computer does what the poster wants it to do without issue (like mine does), what is the point in buying a new one?
Don't feed the troll, he has posted many things like this.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 10:04 AM   #123
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I have a wonderful iBook G4 with 10.4.11 that I use for quite a lot of things.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC