Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:11 AM   #1
WhiteLion
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Error code 4HDD/11/40000000:SATA(2,0) ???

Hello , the other week I knocked my already temperamental dr bott lead that powers my Sony Bravia display , the screen went down , I had to do a hard shutdown several times as the screen wouldn't power back up , it eventually powered back up but when loading the question mark folder was flashing , after over a week at trying all different start up modes & disk repairs & reformatting's I finally did the apple hard ware test & this error code showed ??? My mac still boots up but is very slow & still once loaded operates not the way it should do , can somebody please help me solve this matter , thank you
WhiteLion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:31 PM   #2
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
Sounds like you have either a Hard Drive issue and/or an OS issue.
Since you forced shut down the machine it could have caused the drive and os to not function properly.
you can try repairing with disk utility or disk warrior....but in my opinion id opt to find a replacement drive and migrate your data over to that.

as long as you have a current back-up, you may also try a reinstall of the OS. If you are running Snow Leopard, Lion, or MT Lion it will keep your files intact usually.
__________________
MacMini Home Theater 2012 | 2TB | 8GB
MacBookPro Retina 2013 | 500GB | 8GB
iMac 27" 2012 | 768GB | 32GB
iPhone | iPad | AppleTV | OS X Server
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:10 PM   #3
WhiteLion
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Hello & thank you for your reply , much appreciated
I did do disk utility repair & repair permissions etc & that threw up certain error codes itself but also when I did again it said it was all ok , but it wasn't .... So I did the reinstall & now I've lost my data , stupidly didnt back it up & it's still as slow as a snail , could I just buy a new hdd or ssd & a copy of the latest o/s and just load that some how ? Or just use my snow leopard again ? Is it a simple task ? Sorry for so many questions
WhiteLion is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC