Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:19 AM   #1
Cjshino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Why i am running out of Ram quickly when im not doing much?

i have 4gb of ram and activity monitor says i only have 737.4 mb of free space left of my ram. the only thing i have on is steam, activity monitor and google chrome.

1,019 mb is Wired
1.50 gb is active
832.9 mb is inactive
Cjshino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:23 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
RAM is there to be used. Unused RAM is wasted RAM.

Look here for information about WIRED, INACTIVE, FREE and USED RAM:
Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:24 AM   #3
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Inactive is essentially free RAM was well. It was being used but it no longer being used so it's inactive.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:32 AM   #4
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
As a general rule of thumb... you want as much stuff in RAM as possible, without overfilling. The more stuff that is in RAM, the 'snappier' the system will feel. Until you open too many applications it starts writing to the HDD. But up until then, you it's better if OS X caches things in RAM.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:41 AM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
you want as much stuff in RAM as possible
One would think.

I just spent two days trying to reload a circa 2001 Windows XP onto new hardware and can't figure out why it keeps complaining about corrupted files, googled to find out the uncompress app of that era can't handle a large memory space as I have now (go figure!). Took out 1 memory stick and now the install proceeds normally!

Well I'd be darned.

(OK go ahead with the Windows jokes)
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:42 PM   #6
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
One would think.

I just spent two days trying to reload a circa 2001 Windows XP onto new hardware and can't figure out why it keeps complaining about corrupted files, googled to find out the uncompress app of that era can't handle a large memory space as I have now (go figure!). Took out 1 memory stick and now the install proceeds normally!

Well I'd be darned.

(OK go ahead with the Windows jokes)
Nothing special to Windows... that is just a weirdly funny computer thing. Could have been any OS, eh?
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC