Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:13 AM   #1
DraconisV
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Games not working on new mac

Hello everyone,

I bought a new Macbook air in March 2012 (Had 2010 model Pro beforehand). I used to play SimCity4 and Tropico3 on my macbook pro, but when upgrading to the Macbook Air the games wouldn't work.

I think it was due to a newer OSX version that wouldn't play powerpc games. Not entirely sure.

Recently I have been looking on the MacAppStore and have found Tropico 3:Gold Edition. Will this work on my machine. I'm worried about wasting the money.

Thanks for any help.


Cheers,
Chris
DraconisV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:24 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Scroll down in the App store for the full description and required specs for the game.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 02:14 AM   #3
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraconisV View Post
I think it was due to a newer OSX version that wouldn't play powerpc games. Not entirely sure.
Yes, PowerPC support (known as Rosetta) was dropped from OS X 10.7 and beyond, assuming that your previous laptop was running 10.6.

However, I think you can still install & boot 10.6 from an external USB stick, in case there is a favorite game that you cannot find for Intel platform.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:01 AM   #4
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
I guess your new MBA is running a HD3000.
The games you play are some years old, maybe they simply don't work with integrated graphics?

And yes, since 10.7, there is no Rosetta anymore...

But the App Store was introduced in Lion, so if the App Store sells Tropico3, and your MBA can handle it hardware-wise, it will definately work.

I chekced the system requirements: Do you have at least 4GB RAM? If yes, you'll be fine.
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:30 AM   #5
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
There's an intel patch available for simcity 4 you can try, but it doesn't really work. You are probably better off getting Simcity 5 when it comes out in a few months. Tropico 3 Gold should be fine on low settings.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:29 AM   #6
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraconisV View Post
Hello everyone,

I bought a new Macbook air in March 2012 (Had 2010 model Pro beforehand). I used to play SimCity4 and Tropico3 on my macbook pro, but when upgrading to the Macbook Air the games wouldn't work.

I think it was due to a newer OSX version that wouldn't play powerpc games. Not entirely sure.

Recently I have been looking on the MacAppStore and have found Tropico 3:Gold Edition. Will this work on my machine. I'm worried about wasting the money.

Thanks for any help.


Cheers,
Chris
Hey Chris, head over to GameAgent.com and setup an account so you can use the MacMatch feature. MacMatch will pull your system profile and compare it to the minimum system requirements on over 200 games, letting you know which should run on your machine. GameAgent also price shops for you and lets you know where to get the best deal
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:19 AM   #7
Huntn
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Yes, PowerPC support (known as Rosetta) was dropped from OS X 10.7 and beyond, assuming that your previous laptop was running 10.6.

However, I think you can still install & boot 10.6 from an external USB stick, in case there is a favorite game that you cannot find for Intel platform.
As I have some docs written in Appleworks, and I don't want to convert, I'd be interested in this and found this macs.about.com article written for Snow Leopard. Maybe I'll try that and then upgrade to Mountain Lion.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:04 AM   #8
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
As I have some docs written in Appleworks, and I don't want to convert, I'd be interested in this and found this macs.about.com article written for Snow Leopard. Maybe I'll try that and then upgrade to Mountain Lion.
I think it'll work for you, OS X is very flexible for such matters, it can boot from anything. Mind also that, if I'm not mistaken, Snow Leopard's latest upgrade enables Mac App Store too.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:07 AM   #9
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
As I have some docs written in Appleworks, and I don't want to convert, I'd be interested in this and found this macs.about.com article written for Snow Leopard. Maybe I'll try that and then upgrade to Mountain Lion.
Pages will open AppleWorks 6.2.9 word processing documents.

New macs can't run Snow Leopard, so relying on it isn't a long-term solution.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:25 AM   #10
Huntn
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
Pages will open AppleWorks 6.2.9 word processing documents.

New macs can't run Snow Leopard, so relying on it isn't a long-term solution.
Ah yes, but I have a lot of unique outline formatting that does not cross over to Pages exactly right. In the near future that will be academic as I no longer will need the docs in question so it may not really be an issue for me. Right now pondering if I should upgrade to M.L. Yes it would be nice to have all my devices synched up and have access to apps on my laptop.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 04:34 AM   #11
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Tropico 3 is fully supported on all the new Apple models.

http://support.feralinteractive.com
edddeduck is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC