Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2012, 03:02 PM   #101
MacUser09
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
There are several threads on this website describing how to do a clean install of ML.

Here is a description: http://osxdaily.com/2012/07/25/how-t...mountain-lion/

Or just try Google, or Youtube. Plenty of stuff out there now.

I used the above, to make a Mountain Lion installer on a 4Gb USB thumb drive, but there are some videos on YTube.
MacUser09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 03:07 PM   #102
sukai
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser09 View Post
There are several threads on this website describing how to do a clean install of ML.

Here is a description: http://osxdaily.com/2012/07/25/how-t...mountain-lion/

Or just try Google, or Youtube. Plenty of stuff out there now.

I used the above, to make a Mountain Lion installer on a 4Gb USB thumb drive, but there are some videos on YTube.
They seem to require a usb flash drive. Can it be done without it?
sukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 03:12 PM   #103
oneMadRssn
macrumors 6502a
 
oneMadRssn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukai View Post
They seem to require a usb flash drive. Can it be done without it?
It can be done with a USB DVD drive.

If you want a clean install, you have to boot from something other than your internal drive. Be it USB thumb drive or USB DVD drive or anything, you will always need some kind of local external source.
oneMadRssn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 03:24 PM   #104
sukai
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneMadRssn View Post
It can be done with a USB DVD drive.

If you want a clean install, you have to boot from something other than your internal drive. Be it USB thumb drive or USB DVD drive or anything, you will always need some kind of local external source.
I just found a thread on using the built in recover, will be trying it now to see if it works.
sukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 03:37 PM   #105
oneMadRssn
macrumors 6502a
 
oneMadRssn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukai View Post
I just found a thread on using the built in recover, will be trying it now to see if it works.
Good luck. I believe it will reinstall Lion for you, not ML.
oneMadRssn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 04:09 PM   #106
sukai
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneMadRssn View Post
Good luck. I believe it will reinstall Lion for you, not ML.
Thank you!

Its installing ML. Following the instructions of the thread starter I did an upgrade first then clean install using cmd R. it is currently almost done installing.
sukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 04:44 PM   #107
Cheffy Dave
macrumors 68020
 
Cheffy Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smileyboy View Post
Anyone have a aftermarket ssd? I have the 480gb in mine. Anything to notice with that?
Nope installed it on our 3 2010 11" MBA's without a hitch,screaming fast,faster than usual,especially Safari,and Chrome, well a rocket
__________________
lotsa "stuff"
Cheffy Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 08:30 PM   #108
plucky duck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Had 7GB free prior to ML install, after install it shows 11GB free. Nice!

Where can I find out how to remove nonessential items in OSX? Like fonts, voice controls, etc?
plucky duck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:38 AM   #109
asting
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Is anyone else having webcam issues? My camera doesn't show up in the system profiler and still doesn't after a smc reset and a clean install. I think it might be a hardware problem.
asting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:46 AM   #110
macjonny1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I have a C2D 2010 and a i5 2011 13" and 11" respectively and it works fine
__________________
MacLOL
macjonny1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:47 AM   #111
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
Not happy that QuickTime changed. I just found out that I can no longer Trim to iTunes.

Also my other Mice, Microsoft 5000 Bluetooth the Back Button no longer works.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | Black 32GB nexus 5 32GB Black iPad Air Wi-Fi
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:57 AM   #112
asting
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjonny1 View Post
I have a C2D 2010 and a i5 2011 13" and 11" respectively and it works fine
Thanks. Mine is a 2012 so I guess I'll be calling them later today.
asting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:08 PM   #113
jj97101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
If I get a new one with nothing on it and I get lion, do I need to do a clean install of Mountain Lion or will the upgrade be fine?
jj97101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:05 PM   #114
TheMadBrewer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaylor View Post
The original base macbook air cost $1,700US and the maxed out air cost a little over 3 grand. Just curiously, do you have an idea of how much you spent on it?
Only about 3 months late in responding

I had the max with a traditional disk, (1.80GHz Intel Core 2 Duo w/2GB, 80gb 4200rpm drive) Was $2178 for that, plus $99 for super driver, $29 for ethernet adapter, etc, etc.
__________________
27" iMac; Orig MacBook Air + 11.6" Max; 3 Minis (one a HTPC) Ipods: Many; i; iPad: 3G 64GB mini
TheMadBrewer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:12 PM   #115
gr997s
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Just bought that special 2011 MBA with 2G's of ram. It appears that reading the past 5 pages that upgrading ML will be fine on this machine, or did I miss something? True?..Thanks...
gr997s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 06:11 PM   #116
AMDGAMER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
2010 mbair w 4GB ram and its quick. very pleased for 20 bucks to upgrade.
__________________
Alienware Aurora (P2) AMD X4 3.0ghz Liquid Cooled, 4GB, 10K Raptors, ATI 2GB Dual GPU
MacBook Air 13" (2010)
iPhone 5 + Apple Extreme Router
AMDGAMER is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC