Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:04 AM   #1
biosci
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Do you need to have a 3D capable Receiver to Match With A 3D TV?

Or can you simply go from bluray -> TV then Audio Out of TV to Receiver? Or is it always better to use the Receiver as an HDMI Switcher?
biosci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:47 AM   #2
pavelbure
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My ps3 is set up so that optical audio goes to the receiver and hdmi goes straight to the tv.
pavelbure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:03 PM   #3
MathRulz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by biosci View Post
Or can you simply go from bluray -> TV then Audio Out of TV to Receiver? Or is it always better to use the Receiver as an HDMI Switcher?
Some 3d blue ray players have two hdmi out--one to tv for 3d video, one to receiver for audio--for those who do not want to upgrade the receiver to 3d at this time.
__________________
27" iMac 2010 | iPad 2 | 11" MBA 2012 | Apple TV 3
MathRulz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:23 PM   #4
biosci
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Okay, that's what I was wondering as I didn't want to have to do the receiver as well to save some money for now. But I do see myself probably upgrading it in the future.

Thanks!
biosci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:00 PM   #5
bbeagle
macrumors 65816
 
bbeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by biosci View Post
Or can you simply go from bluray -> TV then Audio Out of TV to Receiver? Or is it always better to use the Receiver as an HDMI Switcher?
You simply need a BluRay 3D player and a 3D TV. You don't need a 3D receiver to pay 3D blu-ray discs.

You MUST have a BluRay 3D player, not a normal BluRay player.
bbeagle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:07 PM   #6
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Not sure about Bluray, but I was able to play 3D (side-by-side) movies from my ATV - via an old HDMI switch and an old AV receiver - no problem.

However, when playing 3D games on the 360, I had to bypass the HDMI switch and receiver so the HDMI went straight to the TV and the optical audio to the receiver; which made switching between the 360 and other devices more awkward (need to switch the AV receiver's input for the audio and the TV's input for the video).

I never actually tested 3D on the 360 when connected via the switch & receiver, but everything I read online said it wouldn't work unless both support 3D.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC