Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2013, 02:19 PM   #76
sulliweb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Ok, I'm calling shenanigans. Jamesco's first post and all the posts that he's made to this board are in this thread. Then, two other people have the same / similar problem, but they just happen to be brand new members that have only posted a single time and those posts just happen to be in this particular thread...

I have a Samsung TV that I believe is a 2011 model, and it doesn't have the described issue. I won't say that these others are the same guy trying to lend credence to his issue, but something seems off about the whole thing.

Just a thought.
__________________
A voice of reason... in a world gone Mac.
sulliweb is offline   3
Old Mar 9, 2013, 03:47 PM   #77
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sulliweb View Post
Ok, I'm calling shenanigans. Jamesco's first post and all the posts that he's made to this board are in this thread. Then, two other people have the same / similar problem, but they just happen to be brand new members that have only posted a single time and those posts just happen to be in this particular thread...

I have a Samsung TV that I believe is a 2011 model, and it doesn't have the described issue. I won't say that these others are the same guy trying to lend credence to his issue, but something seems off about the whole thing.

Just a thought.
I wouldn't be surprised if someone with an interest in discrediting Samsung manufactured this. It happens more often than you'd think on popular forums, review sites, etc.

Like I said before I also have a Samsung TV, also a 2011 model, and it works perfectly with all HDMI devices.
0dev is offline   1
Old Mar 12, 2013, 10:26 AM   #78
Johnny Vegas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
All is well between both my ATV3s and my 2012 Samsung 6580.

~JV
Johnny Vegas is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2013, 11:19 AM   #79
Plutonius
macrumors 601
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyski View Post
seems like this is a problem people have to see to be believed. i'm having the same problem with my mac mini. Just got one last month. doesn't work using hdmi with a samsung LCD & plasma tv's we have. but works perfectly fine with our Sony LCD tv.

been searching google for a fix, tried the suggestion of fiddling with the service menu but still no success.

call it a conspiracy or a hoax but something is obviously up with apple & samsung
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit density View Post
HDCP is becoming more and more utilized in HDMI devices, and failure becomes higher and higher.

In this case, cables CAN make a difference. I have personally seen this happen. No, you don't need a monster cable, but definitely DO try another cable. (It working with another TV is not enough to isolate the cable as "good").

As others have stated, try replacing your HDMI cable.
Plutonius is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2013, 02:02 PM   #80
jumpmanpro97
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I have an appletv3 and a samsung tv and it works, maybe it's the hdmi cable? Do you have an ethernet cord attached to the appletv from your wireless router?
jumpmanpro97 is offline   0
Old Mar 13, 2013, 02:03 PM   #81
spacepower7
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyski View Post
seems like this is a problem people have to see to be believed. i'm having the same problem with my mac mini. Just got one last month. doesn't work using hdmi with a samsung LCD & plasma tv's we have. but works perfectly fine with our Sony LCD tv.

been searching google for a fix, tried the suggestion of fiddling with the service menu but still no success.

call it a conspiracy or a hoax but something is obviously up with apple & samsung
Some Samsung HDTVs need to have one of the HDMI ports changed in the HDTV menus to computer/DVI in order to correctly work with Mac minis.
spacepower7 is offline   0
Old Mar 19, 2013, 06:58 AM   #82
Philscbx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mpls Mn
It simply has to be 3rd level china crap HDMI cables causing all the chaos.
I've tried direct to an LG, but usually through rxv3900 to two Sam 650's series -
I believe 2010 models - 1rst gen ATV.

Sure Enough -
One bad HDMI cable stumped me for a day right out of the package.
All works fine - auto connect always works - 120hz sets itself to 60 accordingly.
*
I'll simply point out one crisis maybe some are not aware of on digital cables.
As a cable installer for 50k+ business systems -
all runs have to be certified before any devices are allowed to terminate.

The slightest kink running them 150ft through ceilings / walls from rack to desks -
and that run is junk.
One run could take 2hrs - let alone terminate the ends.

Soo I make damn sure the ultimate respect is used handling cable.
Or end up with angry electrons.
Even fresh out of the box wound up tight - I won't use them that day.
I hang them slightly weighted - to straighten out naturally.
__________________
MP3.1,8GB,4TB, MBPro13 5.5, iPad1 64G, iPhone 3gs, iTouch, PB15 1.6, ATv, Rxv3900.

Last edited by Philscbx; Mar 19, 2013 at 07:06 AM.
Philscbx is offline   0
Old May 27, 2013, 10:05 AM   #83
kchandlersmith
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Indiana
Unhappy I am having the same issue...

I've reviewed all the posts--yes, I am a "newbie", no this is not a joke, and actually I've never posted to a tech forum before. I have a Samsung LCD TV 6000 (that's what it says on the owner's manual). We bought an Apple TV (ATV) about 18 months ago, hooked it up to the Samsung, worked perfectly fine for the next 17 months. About a month ago, all of a sudden it says "no signal" when I hit source and go to HDMI2 (which it is hooked up to). My wife bought another ATV to see if that was the issue, it wasn't, still no signal. I've checked both ATV's with the Sony HDTV in our bedroom, works like a charm. Tried different HDMI cables, they all work on the Sony don't work on the Samsung. Have tried different HDMI ports on the Samsung no difference. The ONLY thing that I can point to that MAY have had an issue, is that we updated the software on the Apple TV it stopped sometime thereafter (I actually can't remember if it was right after or not) and we switched cable companies (WOW! to Comcast) but I know ATV worked after we switched. It just says "No Signal" on the black screen. I have checked power (the light on the ATV is solid glow). I reset the old ATV (restore) on ITunes. Not sure what's up, but this is a real problem...
kchandlersmith is offline   0
Old May 27, 2013, 02:04 PM   #84
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
My Apple TV (3) works perfectly with my Samsung LE46C750. Never had any issues whatsoever.
__________________
W2P KLD talking...what's your handle, WR2 GFO?
Defender2010 is offline   0
Old May 27, 2013, 06:44 PM   #85
institute
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Perhaps the hdmi inpu on your specific Samsung TV is no longer working. Have you tested it with anything other than the ATVs
institute is offline   0
Old Dec 6, 2013, 04:15 PM   #86
DanMoe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass.
Apple TV won't work with Samsung TV Series 5005

Hi !

Samsung TV Series 5005, 2011 Apple logo shows up with red/black lines and disappears quickly.

Can not get to TV service menu to shut off HotPlug. Press Info Menu Mute Power tv just turns on. Mute 1 8 2 Power will work. Correct firmware is on tv. Not sure if a factory reset should be done.

Any ideas would be appreciated. Thank you...
DanMoe is offline   0
Old Dec 6, 2013, 05:47 PM   #87
nostresshere
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kchandlersmith View Post
... I have a Samsung LCD TV 6000 (that's what it says on the owner's manual). ...
Just an FYI - do not trust the model number on the manual. Get it off the back of the TV. Manuals are often generic and sometimes wrong.

And a hint. Sometimes the model number if hard to read on the back. Use your smart phone to take a picture of it. Way easier to get it right when searching online - which may also find your problem solved elsewhere.
nostresshere is offline   0
Old Dec 6, 2013, 06:44 PM   #88
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
had the same problem last weekend

family member has a 2010 LG smart TV with 4 HDMI ports. cable box was connected to one of the ports. Roku that he bought didn't work along with my apple TV. i changed what goes into which HDMI port and roku started to work.

not just an apple TV problem. strange
alent1234 is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 04:46 AM   #89
unibility
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Apple TV 3rd generation works on my 2013 Samsung LED 40" without problems.
unibility is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 06:43 AM   #90
Donfor39
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lanarkshire Scotland
Apple t.v. 3 purchased earlier today

working excellent Samsung 720 32" lcd cant remember the model number...bought the t.v 2010 I think
__________________
13" Macbook(L2013) pro 8g ram i5 2.6 512 g ssd
500 GB WD Mypassport hdd
3rd gen Airport Extreme Apple t.v. 3
IPhone 5 Bose Airlink wifi speaker
Donfor39 is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 01:31 PM   #91
nostresshere
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
We know that ATV works with many or even most Samsungs. Why do people feel the need to continue to post about their tv and that it works. This is a known fact.

The OP is trying to track down the issue with his specific model.

Geez.
nostresshere is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 03:53 PM   #92
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
a TV firmware update might be required
alent1234 is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 06:28 PM   #93
ABC5S
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Just got the Apple TV and hooked it up to a 2010 Samsung 46 incher (LN 46A750R1F Series 7 750). Though at first I had a newbie experience with the WiFi, the set up went very well, and no other issue to report. Just had to weigh in on the OP's post some time ago about Samsungs. I'm hooked up to the newest Apple Extreme.
ABC5S is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2013, 07:11 PM   #94
sulliweb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I'm with nostresshere. This is a non-issue that needs to go away. The only people posting that there is a problem are people with exactly one post. I'd say one or two can be considered random. At this point, I'm calling it a pattern.

Any chance we can get a mod to lock or delete the thread? Or the more realistic option, this is my last post on this topic. I'd advise everyone else to stop commenting as well unless the poster with a problem has more than a few posts in their profile.
__________________
A voice of reason... in a world gone Mac.
sulliweb is offline   0

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jury Finds Both Apple and Samsung Guilty of Patent Infringement, Samsung to Pay $119.6 Million, Apple to Pay $158,400 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 609 May 23, 2014 05:53 PM
Macbook pro 2012 wont' connect to Samsung TV via HDMI EricaV MacBook Pro 4 Jan 16, 2014 08:26 AM
New White Apple Remote wont work with Apple T.V. 3rd gen? rossikool Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 13, 2013 09:11 PM
UK Judge Who Chastised Apple Over Samsung 'Apology' Now Consulting as Patent Expert for Samsung MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 253 Mar 9, 2013 07:25 AM
Apple loses samsung copyright appeal . Has to advertise samsung did not copy the ipad 725032 Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 22 Oct 18, 2012 09:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC