Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:13 AM   #1
shuffles
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: dublin, ireland
iMovie 'picture in picture' image size question

I'm having trouble inserting a logo into an iMovie. I used Pixelmator to create a transparent logo, inserted it into my iMovie project and selected 'picture in picture' mode but I can't seem to make it fit in between the green and red boxes in the ken burns setting. It's too big. I've tried resizing the image in preview but nothing is working. Can I resize it once it's in the project? This is wrecking my head.

Here's a screenshot of what I'm talking about:

http://s1201.beta.photobucket.com/us...b4765.png.html
shuffles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:25 AM   #2
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Are you wanting to use the Ken Burns effect? If not then just click on the Done button in the top righthand corner, and then you can re-size and move the image as required.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.8.5
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:27 AM   #3
shuffles
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: dublin, ireland
I need the logo to be transparent as I don't want any border around the logo taking up screen real estate. Will it work if I do it that way?
shuffles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:11 AM   #4
shuffles
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: dublin, ireland
Also on a side note, I upgraded my 2009 iMac yesterday to Mountain Lion before I bought iMovie. It's 2.4ghz with 2GB of ram.

iMovie has been working perfectly all day but now all of a sudden it keeps shutting down. I can't play any clips let alone finalize or export a project. I know my Mac is pretty old but everything was fine a few hours ago. I've tried quitting every application and shutting down the computer but nothing is working. What would make this happen all of a sudden? If it's a ram problem surely this would have happened as soon as I updated the OSX and bought iMovie yesterday?

Any suggestions?
shuffles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:18 AM   #5
Yujenisis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Send a message via AIM to Yujenisis
Are you trying to do something like a watermark?

If so, there's a helpful video tutorial to do just this utilizing iMovie '11 and '09's "Advanced Tools" setting.

Does this help?
Yujenisis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:55 AM   #6
shuffles
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: dublin, ireland
Cheers for that. I followed the steps but I keep getting a black border around the logo. Although right now my iMovie isn't working at all anyway
shuffles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:48 AM   #7
shuffles
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: dublin, ireland
Ok iMovie is killing me here. Keeps quitting!!! From googling, I'm not the only one it seems. Can anyone help?
shuffles is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC