Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:05 AM   #26
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
ok at the bottom you will see a line that says logical volume and a large number ending in 2c09

copy the large number then type in "diskutil cs delete volume largenumberhere" and put a space and paste in the number you copied earlier in place of "largenumberhere"
Cheers again, I've just left for work and will try it when I get home. Watch this space!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193 View Post
Who cares if not apple will fix it. Stop wasting time and your sanity and just go to apple and say its broke and let them deal with the headache. Probably something is wrong with the hard drive in which case apple will need to fix it since these things are no longer user friendly replaceable.
And wait weeks, prob months? I will but only after I've exhausted all other avenues!
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:07 AM   #27
cla9614
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ouch!!

Im keenly watching this thread to see how this issue is resolved. I hope to see a positive end result.....

__________________

iMac - Mid 2011
13" MBP - 2012
cla9614 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:10 AM   #28
Gelite55
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193 View Post
Who cares if not apple will fix it. Stop wasting time and your sanity and just go to apple and say its broke and let them deal with the headache. Probably something is wrong with the hard drive in which case apple will need to fix it since these things are no longer user friendly replaceable.
Agreed. You paid enough money not to deal with this.
Gelite55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 02:36 AM   #29
Twenty5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I'm curious though, can someone tell me why this happened to OP??

I'm about to install windows myself via bootcamp and I just don't want to go through this.. Is there anything that I should or shouldn't do so that this wont happen to me or any other users?

Thanks!
__________________
15" MBP 2.6 Ghz - 15" MBP i7 2.66 Ghz - iMac 21" & 27" - iPhone 5S 32gb
My Roaring Thoughts about Tech.
Twenty5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 02:43 AM   #30
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Drakes web link works now so will try it when i get home. This is a nightmare!
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:53 AM   #31
SBruv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
Hi, that link did not work for me.

ML failed to install.Attachment 384943
Please please help, I'm ready to cry!!
Not sure what to tell ya - the link was and is working for me. :-/

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
Drakes web link works now so will try it when i get home. This is a nightmare!
Ah, cool. Don't worry - the procedure in the link WILL work.
SBruv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:56 AM   #32
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegoldglover View Post
Did anyone bother to read that the new 27" iMac with Fusion drive is not currently compatible with Bootcamp?

I did !


wouldn't it be easier and give you a clear conscious to bring it to Apple ?
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:05 AM   #33
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
----------

[/COLOR]

Ah, cool. Don't worry - the procedure in the link WILL work. [/QUOTE]

I hope so, those are my symptoms etc. I will be home in 3hrs to give it a try.
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:44 AM   #34
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushroomtip View Post
I did !


wouldn't it be easier and give you a clear conscious to bring it to Apple ?
I though that was only the 3TB drives?
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:46 AM   #35
movielad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Surrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by SBruv View Post
Not sure what to tell ya - the link was and is working for me. :-/

----------



Ah, cool. Don't worry - the procedure in the link WILL work.
Indeed, as the aforementioned blogger I monitor the server the blog sits upon as well as working for the hosting company too. I'm also the on-call engineer this week Probably temporary routing issue somewhere along the line.

CoreStorage - you've got to love it :\
__________________
Martyn Drake
http://www.drake.org.uk
movielad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:47 AM   #36
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SBruv View Post
Not sure what to tell ya - the link was and is working for me. :-/

----------



Ah, cool. Don't worry - the procedure in the link WILL work.
Well I've done what the drakes link said and went I rebooted I got this....Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356101136.972451.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	187.4 KB
ID:	384998
And it said something like 'makes these drives workable drives' and now it is 'discovering new logical volume groups' it's been stuck at 50% for 5min now. Should this work?
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:49 AM   #37
movielad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Surrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
Well I've done what the drakes link said and went I rebooted I got this....Attachment 384998
And it said something like 'makes these drives workable drives' and now it is 'discovering new logical volume groups' it's been stuck at 50% for 5min now. Should this work?
I don't have experience with Fusion drives as yet (I only stumbled across the original CoreStorage issue when attempting to re-install on an old FileVault encrypted filesystem), but it seems to me that you should wait a bit longer for Disk Utility to do it's schtick.
__________________
Martyn Drake
http://www.drake.org.uk
movielad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:51 AM   #38
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by movielad View Post
I don't have experience with Fusion drives as yet (I only stumbled across the original CoreStorage issue when attempting to re-install on an old FileVault encrypted filesystem), but it seems to me that you should wait a bit longer for Disk Utility to do it's schtick.
It's times like this an Atheist prays lol wish me luck!
aquaboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:53 AM   #39
movielad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Surrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
It's times like this an Atheist prays lol wish me luck!
Oh, I've done that many a time in my career, believe me!

I reckon you should be fine. I'd give it at least half an hour to complete.
__________________
Martyn Drake
http://www.drake.org.uk
movielad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:08 AM   #40
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
I though that was only the 3TB drives?
I think you are right . I just assumed thats what you have. dont stress too much ,you always have the option to replace it .
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:59 AM   #41
Buskins
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I just got off the phone with tech support trying to get myself windows installed on a 1TB fusion, 27" iMac.

He suggested downloading the version of windows I wanted from http://www.mydigitallife.info/downlo...ownload-links/

Scroll down and you'll see it (Windows 7 Home Premium SP1-U ISO)

He mentioned that it is already an ISO so it can just be put on a thumbdrive - which I need to format as MBR - and then when the Mac reboots itself after partitioning the drive I can hold down alt and boot into the thumbdrive windows. The Windows is a trial, but he said I can just then put in my validation key and it'll become the full version.

Thoughts?

Last edited by Hellhammer; Dec 21, 2012 at 11:53 AM. Reason: Fixed link
Buskins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:40 AM   #42
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356107580.083465.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	385005

Things are looking better.....
But it took some doing and luck.
It didn't go as plan first Time around, all the options in disk Utility partition section was greyed out so I couldn't do a thing. But after repeating the whole process again, it worked...

I CAN'T THANK every one involved in this Thread enough....
Thank you.
(I just hope the instillation of ML goes well)
aquaboy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:45 AM   #43
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
Attachment 385005

Things are looking better.....
But it took some doing and luck.
It didn't go as plan first Time around, all the options in disk Utility partition section was greyed out so I couldn't do a thing. But after repeating the whole process again, it worked...

I CAN'T THANK every one involved in this Thread enough....
Thank you.
(I just hope the instillation of ML goes well)
Glad it went well, i was halfway though walking you though it before you went out, Its just a matter of deleting the logical volume and fusion volume so that disk utility see them as two separate drives and fuses them back together.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:55 AM   #44
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Yeah you was a great help, I know in my mind that was what needed to be done, but I haven't a clue on how to do it. I didn't think it was a Mechanical fail so I didn't really want to return it. Just need guys like you to talk me though it. Forever grateful :-)
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:05 AM   #45
SBruv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaboy View Post
Yeah you was a great help, I know in my mind that was what needed to be done, but I haven't a clue on how to do it. I didn't think it was a Mechanical fail so I didn't really want to return it. Just need guys like you to talk me though it. Forever grateful :-)
Ah, glad to hear it's all sorted! When you've got a moment, could you (and, indeed, anyone else who wants to chip in) check the two things I mentioned earlier in the thread, and a third one that I've just remembered, please?

1. If you run Verify in Disk Utility on your whole HD (the top most Macintosh HD entry in the left-hand column), does it make your BOOTCAMP partition turn red in the left-hand column?

2. In Windows, can you see your OS X partition in Windows Explorer? I could on my last iMac, but I can't on this one. Hoping it's a Fusion Drive thing and not just me.

3. When you go into Startup Manager (hold down Alt while booting), do you see your Recovery Partition, or just your OS X and Windows partitions?

Thanks!

SB
SBruv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:09 AM   #46
aquaboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Yeah I'll do them for ya once I'm up and running. It does beg the question, why did my partition creation via boot camp fail in the first place???
aquaboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:20 AM   #47
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SBruv View Post
Ah, glad to hear it's all sorted! When you've got a moment, could you (and, indeed, anyone else who wants to chip in) check the two things I mentioned earlier in the thread, and a third one that I've just remembered, please?

1. If you run Verify in Disk Utility on your whole HD (the top most Macintosh HD entry in the left-hand column), does it make your BOOTCAMP partition turn red in the left-hand column?

2. In Windows, can you see your OS X partition in Windows Explorer? I could on my last iMac, but I can't on this one. Hoping it's a Fusion Drive thing and not just me.

3. When you go into Startup Manager (hold down Alt while booting), do you see your Recovery Partition, or just your OS X and Windows partitions?

Thanks!

SB
1. Yes it goes red on mine too, not sure why.

2. No, Windows will not see a logical volume, only OSX will see it. This is due to fusion

3.No you wont see the recovery partition as it is inside the logical volume group, you can still access it by holding down CMD-R
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:54 PM   #48
SBruv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
1. Yes it goes red on mine too, not sure why.

2. No, Windows will not see a logical volume, only OSX will see it. This is due to fusion

3.No you wont see the recovery partition as it is inside the logical volume group, you can still access it by holding down CMD-R
Nice work - thanks! I think BOOTCAMP goes red cos the version of DU for Fusion Drive-equipped iMacs is apparently completely new, and it's not been told to ignore the Boot Camp partition, as previous versions were.

And yep, the Recovery partition still works - just curious as to why it's stopped showing up in the Startup Manager. Not that it matters.
SBruv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2013, 09:43 AM   #49
lixe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Got the same Problem, but the funny thing is I've got 2 physical drives, what the hell?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ooh54z9e4r...%2012%2057.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7mgpwk5c5u...%2041%2037.jpg

Anyone who can help me restore my fusion drive?

EDIT: Ha, I just tried Drakes link, wasn't so sure about deleting the whole CS, but after that diskutility asked me for restoring my fusion drive and now everything looks fine again

Last edited by lixe; Nov 5, 2013 at 09:56 AM. Reason: Solved the problem
lixe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2013, 09:10 AM   #50
magilla
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontpannic View Post
Almost impossible to brick a PC.
They're already bricks. Sometimes though, they float instead of sink when tossed in water. Something about mucked up innards.
__________________
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any other invention in human history with the possible exception of tequilla and handguns.
magilla is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC