Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 7, 2015, 06:04 AM   #126
texem
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
not working correctly

Hi,

just changed from 2.0b07 to .10 but on my single CPU 5,1 the combined setting
for Intake & Exhaust does no longer set the minimum speed for Exhaust (remains at default 600)

Back to 2.0b7 all is well.

OSX 10.10.2

Cheers
texem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2015, 07:04 AM   #127
h9826790
macrumors 68000
 
h9826790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
In the version b10, intake and exhaust should always have 100 RPM difference, which is to reduce the chance of having beat frequency. This difference also exist in the original setting. The exhaust fan speed should change when you manually insert the base RPM.

Anyway, thanks for telling me the error, I will double check it when I back home.
h9826790 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2015, 09:47 AM   #128
h9826790
macrumors 68000
 
h9826790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Just test it again on my system, the exhaust fan base speed able to change in my 4,1 (flashed to 5,1) in 10.10.3b.

When you enter the base speed. Do the number next to it changed? Or the number did actually change but the fan stay at the same RPM?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 22.42.15.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	107.9 KB
ID:	538861
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 (Flashed 5,1), W3690 32G, HD7950 Mac Edition, 840 Evo 1T (Tempo SSD), 8TB HDDs (RAID 0), USB 3.0 (PME-4U + Prostation 3.0 + M3H73P-SV), BT 4.0, 27" ACD + 84" LG 4K TV, TCx2
h9826790 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2015, 01:54 PM   #129
texem
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Hi,

sorry for late answer. I was confused about the speed's because in b07 is no diff of 100 rpm. And yes, according to base speed setting the fan rpm changes as well and is shown to the right . So wrong alarm, sry

Shouldn't it a good idea to be able to change intake and exhaust separately ?
Or the diff value ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	207.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	86.2 KB
ID:	539256   Click image for larger version

Name:	210.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	539257  
texem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2015, 08:11 PM   #130
h9826790
macrumors 68000
 
h9826790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Thanks for the confirmation.

Will consider to make another one which separate the Intake and Exhaust fan base RPM setting.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 (Flashed 5,1), W3690 32G, HD7950 Mac Edition, 840 Evo 1T (Tempo SSD), 8TB HDDs (RAID 0), USB 3.0 (PME-4U + Prostation 3.0 + M3H73P-SV), BT 4.0, 27" ACD + 84" LG 4K TV, TCx2
h9826790 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2015, 04:28 AM   #131
h9826790
macrumors 68000
 
h9826790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hong Kong
The modification is easier than I expect. Here you are.

N.B. The Exhaust fan base speed is basically the ultimate control of all Intake / Exhaust / and Booster fan. This is the system limitation.

1) If you set the Exhaust base fan speed higher than the Intake base fan speed. The Intake fan speed will be automatically increaseed to match the Exhaust fan.

2) There is a relationship between Booster and Exhaust fan. If you set the Exhaust fan speed too high. It will automatically increase the booster as well.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 17.32.20.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	113.8 KB
ID:	540343

P.S. The installer should works properly. I did test it with few different versions already. So I only upload the installer this time. Please let me know if there is any problem. Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip FanControl V2.0b11.zip (123.5 KB, 27 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 (Flashed 5,1), W3690 32G, HD7950 Mac Edition, 840 Evo 1T (Tempo SSD), 8TB HDDs (RAID 0), USB 3.0 (PME-4U + Prostation 3.0 + M3H73P-SV), BT 4.0, 27" ACD + 84" LG 4K TV, TCx2
h9826790 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 03:37 AM   #132
texem
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
works

Hi,

wow, thanks for that. It works without issues :-)
Now we can perfectly set the SMC min speed separately.

F.i. with my NvidiaGTX680 the PCI fan is running with high speed because there is a well known issue with the SMC controller, so (as I wrote earlier in this thread) I use "Macs Fan Control" as a background daemon to control the fans , because unfortunately it doesn't allow to set lower min speeds as default but it reads the modified lower values from SMC

The combination of both is perfect, the system noise is very low.

Last edited by texem; Apr 14, 2015 at 03:44 AM.
texem is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible GPU Fan issue (?) with 2009 Mac Pro Dual 2.26 Seems like Trav Mac Pro 4 Aug 6, 2013 09:53 AM
Replacing a fan in 2009 Mac Pro Studio K Mac Pro 3 May 24, 2013 07:43 PM
Mac pro 2009 fan noise when running video encoding resonate Mac Pro 10 Apr 26, 2013 10:43 PM
Mac Pro 2009 early 2009 vs 2010 vs new ivybridge quad core i7 Aleymeow Mac Pro 8 Sep 21, 2012 04:53 PM
Mac Pro 4,1 (Early-2009) - PCIe Fan Broken? Daphoid Mac Pro 5 Jun 30, 2012 12:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC