Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 23, 2011, 04:13 AM   #1
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Very impressed with new Air and VMware Fusion

I just wanted to say that I am very impressed with my new 2011 13" i5 256GB Air that I recently purchased. I do a mix of Windows administration as well as OS X use. For the Windows administration, I use VMware Fusion - mainly because of the stability and I support other VMware ESXi servers. The interesting thing is that with the SSD and the RAM in the Air, I can successfully run VMs with unreasonably low amounts of RAM. For example, my administration console is running Windows Server 2003 in a VM, and VMware allocates it 384MB of RAM. I didn't think this would be enough at first, thinking maybe 1-2GB, but I went with it anyway. I also installed Microsoft Office 2010 in that VM as I depend on that as well. After installing the VMware vSphere Client and a few more applications I use in Windows, I still did not see a performance hit in the VM. Microsoft Outlook 2010 is running against an Exchange Server 2010 server, and I have a rather large mailbox in there. Launching any of the applications in the VM are very quick, and there is no obvious slowdowns or paging going on. Not to mention it leaves plenty of resources for OS X when needed as well. The battery life still is around 7 hours with the VMware running.

Just wanted to throw that out there for people interested in VMs and running them on the Air - the SSD and processing power of the Air make it a seamless experience. For the record, I am running Fusion 3 instead of the newly released 4, and 3 runs on Lion just fine.

----------

Also, I should add, that I am very happy with Lion on this machine as well. . The boot speed is excellent as is working in the OS. Very happy and love the full screen Terminal and other apps that I can swipe back and forth to.

I did install Snow Leopard on the Air because I like to tinker and to see how it would run. I got it to install and updated it to 10.6.8 but the performance was worse than Lion because video acceleration did not work. Also, it would not recognize the trackpad natively either (in System Preferences it said to connect a Bluetooth trackpad). It was fun to try, no less. Wireless worked, I had the correct screen resolution, audio worked, but it was not good for day-to-day use (I left it on less than a day).

It seems like this Air was built for Lion, and the performance shows. I also don't have any of the wireless connection issues when resuming from sleep that others have reported.
monkeybagel is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 09:02 PM   #2
jsolares
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Land of eternal Spring
Yeah it's great, i'm able to run my windows development VM and a linux one as well at the same time
__________________
Macbook Air 13" 2013 i7 512GB SSD 8GB RAM; iMac 27" 2010 i5 2.8ghz 2x256GB SSD 24GB RAM
jsolares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 09:04 PM   #3
wrinkster22
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Yeah, I have the same model (with i7) and it is great, glad u are enjoying it.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2011, 05:36 AM   #4
monkeybagel
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Just ordered VMware Fusion 4 from Amazon for $27.99 with free shipping. Could not pass that up and it will give me a license for another Macintosh.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2011, 07:59 AM   #5
newdeal
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
...

I prefer parallels but both are great. If you decide you want to try parallels some day they have a reduced price if you are coming from fusion. You do need to give them a key from your fusion for them to confirm (although there are keygens that can do it if you don't want to give them your key)
newdeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2011, 02:50 PM   #6
sporadicMotion
macrumors 65816
 
sporadicMotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Your girlfriends place
Yup! I'm building a demo VMServer environment comprised of 3 linux VM's for work. It's surprising how much grunt the ULV i5's have.

I do enjoy the Air... now if only Apple made decent server software (this is why I'm stuck building a linux server on the weekend)
__________________
your face > /dev/null
sporadicMotion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 10:06 AM   #7
gabicava83
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sporadicMotion View Post
Yup! I'm building a demo VMServer environment comprised of 3 linux VM's for work. It's surprising how much grunt the ULV i5's have.

I do enjoy the Air... now if only Apple made decent server software (this is why I'm stuck building a linux server on the weekend)
How did you get on with building this?

I currently use a MBP with 8GB and an SSD, run's well with several VM's, it's a core 2 duo 2.2 though.

Thanks,

G
gabicava83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 10:11 AM   #8
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I've been very impressed with everything about the new air!
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 01:30 PM   #9
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
I just wanted to say that I am very impressed with my new 2011 13" i5 256GB Air that I recently purchased. I do a mix of Windows administration as well as OS X use. For the Windows administration, I use VMware Fusion - mainly because of the stability and I support other VMware ESXi servers. The interesting thing is that with the SSD and the RAM in the Air, I can successfully run VMs with unreasonably low amounts of RAM. For example, my administration console is running Windows Server 2003 in a VM, and VMware allocates it 384MB of RAM. I didn't think this would be enough at first, thinking maybe 1-2GB, but I went with it anyway. I also installed Microsoft Office 2010 in that VM as I depend on that as well. After installing the VMware vSphere Client and a few more applications I use in Windows, I still did not see a performance hit in the VM. Microsoft Outlook 2010 is running against an Exchange Server 2010 server, and I have a rather large mailbox in there. Launching any of the applications in the VM are very quick, and there is no obvious slowdowns or paging going on. Not to mention it leaves plenty of resources for OS X when needed as well. The battery life still is around 7 hours with the VMware running.

Just wanted to throw that out there for people interested in VMs and running them on the Air - the SSD and processing power of the Air make it a seamless experience. For the record, I am running Fusion 3 instead of the newly released 4, and 3 runs on Lion just fine.
Thanks for the review! I've been thinking about how to speed up my early 2011 MBP. I usually have at least one virtual machine running (W2K) on VMWare, sometimes two or three, and it really slows things to a crawl. I've been going back and forth between getting an SSD or more RAM. I think the SSD will probably be the best in terms of enhancing performance.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
Just ordered VMware Fusion 4 from Amazon for $27.99 with free shipping. Could not pass that up and it will give me a license for another Macintosh.
How did you manage that price?
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 02:08 PM   #10
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm using MBA 2011 13" model with Parallels for work and indeed it runs great. VMware 4 was running great too, when I tried it. Virtual machines with SSD can truly run with less ram, since the swapping is done on the lighting fast ssd disk, so you can tell no real difference.

Even the server s/w installations (like databases or application servers) are done faster on the virtual machines running on MBA's SSD, in comparison to the real servers with normal disks.

And I have the same impression with the OP, Lion seems to be built with MBA in mind. It looks like the MBA and Lion are developed side by side.
antonis is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 06:05 PM   #11
cfgulden
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
VMWare Fusion and Outlook 2010 public folders

Hi I have an MB Air running Fusion 4, Windows 7 and outlook 2010, has anyone been able to access public folders off the exchange server (exchange 2007), thanks!
cfgulden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 07:32 PM   #12
kylera
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
Just ordered VMware Fusion 4 from Amazon for $27.99 with free shipping. Could not pass that up and it will give me a license for another Macintosh.
First off, great price. However, the EULA in Ver. 4 gives you permission to use one license to install on multiple Macs you own.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 10:39 PM   #13
sporadicMotion
macrumors 65816
 
sporadicMotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Your girlfriends place
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabicava83 View Post
How did you get on with building this?

I currently use a MBP with 8GB and an SSD, run's well with several VM's, it's a core 2 duo 2.2 though.

Thanks,

G
It worked great. I have since built an ESXi lab machine for these tasks :P
__________________
your face > /dev/null
sporadicMotion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 09:04 PM   #14
gabicava83
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sporadicMotion View Post
It worked great. I have since built an ESXi lab machine for these tasks :P
ah, awesome. It's somewhat upsetting that you cannot upgrade the RAM, but totally understand the reasons why.

What lab do you have, what's the spec?

Thanks,

G.
gabicava83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:27 AM   #15
Redbull916
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
I'm sunning fusion 4 on my i7 13". Apart from learning the mac keyboard layout, is better then my original Dell 830. Faster, smoother, I even occasionally run a vm machine from inside my vm machine! and its still good. All my mapped drives work fine & my VPN clients work well.
I work for a software company and most business customers are now using VMware, its the industry standard.
__________________
MBA 13" i7 256 Mac Mini C2D 1987 Mac SE iPad Mini 16GB 4G iPhone 5 White MacBook Apple TV
Redbull916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 07:36 PM   #16
TimmyR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am considering a MacBook Air for work since I travel frequently. I am dependent on using Excel and Powerpoint for work projects and Powerpoint formatting needs to transfer to the Windows versions.

How does Air handle VMWare & Office? Do you think I should just stick with Office for Mac '11? How does Air handle Office for Mac '11? I am planning on the 13-inch Macbook Air and upgrading the processor, RAM and memory.

Thanks!
TimmyR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 04:19 AM   #17
Steve121178
macrumors 68000
 
Steve121178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyR View Post
I am considering a MacBook Air for work since I travel frequently. I am dependent on using Excel and Powerpoint for work projects and Powerpoint formatting needs to transfer to the Windows versions.

How does Air handle VMWare & Office? Do you think I should just stick with Office for Mac '11? How does Air handle Office for Mac '11? I am planning on the 13-inch Macbook Air and upgrading the processor, RAM and memory.

Thanks!
Office 2011 for Mac is ok and it does the job. It's just that Office 2007/2010/2013 is a vastly superior product so Office 2011 always feels an inferior poor relation compared to the PC versions.

Microsoft will be releasing a new Mac version in 2014 so hopefully it will have a similar look & feel to Office 2013!
__________________
13" rMBP Haswell i5/16GB/512GB (Late '13) 21.5" iMac i5/16GB/1TB Fusion (Late '12) iPhone 5s 32GB iPad rMini 32GB
Steve121178 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 06:30 AM   #18
TC25
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyR View Post
I am considering a MacBook Air for work since I travel frequently. I am dependent on using Excel and Powerpoint for work projects and Powerpoint formatting needs to transfer to the Windows versions.

How does Air handle VMWare & Office? Do you think I should just stick with Office for Mac '11? How does Air handle Office for Mac '11? I am planning on the 13-inch Macbook Air and upgrading the processor, RAM and memory.
I would not install VMWare/Parallels just to run the Windows versions of the Office products. The Mac versions are more than adequate.
TC25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 09:00 AM   #19
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyR View Post
I am considering a MacBook Air for work since I travel frequently. I am dependent on using Excel and Powerpoint for work projects and Powerpoint formatting needs to transfer to the Windows versions.

How does Air handle VMWare & Office? Do you think I should just stick with Office for Mac '11? How does Air handle Office for Mac '11? I am planning on the 13-inch Macbook Air and upgrading the processor, RAM and memory.

Thanks!
The Air will handle Office for 2011 just fine.

The real question is: Are you using features that may behave differently on Mac and Windows versions of Office? And will you be looking at the docs on the Windows version before handing it to someone else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC25 View Post
I would not install VMWare/Parallels just to run the Windows versions of the Office products. The Mac versions are more than adequate.
Unless you need to give it to Windows users, then you can get some formatting oddities.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 03:58 PM   #20
frostbit3
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not trying to thread jack, but I am in a very similar boat. I have the Air 2012 13 inch with VMWare Fusion. Has anyone had any issues with the shift button being delayed in the Windows VM's? I use a LOT of powershell via VMWare Fusion and the shift delay really kills me. I've done some research and attempted to remove all key mappings to no success.

So far though other than the shift key delay, VMWare Fusion is running great with a Windows 7 VM. Also running Lync native for Mac, as well as Office 2011 for Mac with no issues.
frostbit3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 01:06 AM   #21
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
I have the 11" MBA i5 and run fusion 5 in unity mode purely for Dev C++ for my college courses. It's pretty light use for a VM but I haven't had any problems so far. I'm loving it.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
air, fusion, lion, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware Fusion 5 vs VMware Fusion 4: impact on OS X performance ozaz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Feb 16, 2013 10:35 AM
Fusion 5 Vmware Converter lists only up to Fusion 4.x. Will it work? kristenanne77 Mac mini 2 Jan 2, 2013 08:54 PM
Vmware Fusion - Impressed! PaulKemp Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Dec 8, 2012 06:47 PM
MB Air VMWare Fusion 5 Performance surfearth MacBook Air 6 Nov 21, 2012 12:59 PM
VMWare Fusion 3 doesn't work on Mountain Lion, VMWare asking full price for Fusion 4! Marc4 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 20 Jul 29, 2012 09:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC