Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:52 PM   #1
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Refurb iMac came with better than ordered specs?

So I placed a order for a 21inch i7 with a 1TB and 4GB of ram and was surprised when it arrived with a 2TB HD and 8GB of ram.

Is it normal for Apple to send out better machines then what you order? This is my first refurb.

Shame it didn't include a SSD....
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:59 PM   #2
wrinkster22
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
Snip
Yeah, its happened quite a bit. If you really want a worse machine go return it

Think of it as a gift from apple and enjoy your iMac!
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:15 PM   #3
b3av3r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Send a message via AIM to b3av3r Send a message via Yahoo to b3av3r
Just curious how often does this happen?

Seems like a good reason to purchase a refurb especially if you like gambling.
b3av3r is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:29 PM   #4
thehustleman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Great upgrade
thehustleman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:30 PM   #5
Diode
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Yea the only other anomaly was the power header on the MB for the SSD was missing - just the pins. Fortunately my OWC power cable fit on the pins but it's not as secure as if it was an actual plug....

I wonder if I could take it to a Apple Store and have them install the header on the MB/swap out the MB.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:32 PM   #6
Fried Chicken
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
It happens, didn't happen to me though :/
Fried Chicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:35 PM   #7
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
It's possible refurbished stock may be oversold at times, and it isn't necessarily predictable. Many of them may simply be returns that have been checked. It's not surprising that they just guarantee certain minimum specs when you make the purchase. It's probably more cost effective for Apple than retrofitting each one to suit the exact needs of the order.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:30 PM   #8
Duffinator
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 130 miles NE of Cupertino
Interesting thread. I'm ready to buy a 27" refurb and it's been a couple of weeks since I've seen any available. Anyone know if they are holding back while they ship new ones? Or hopefully they are busy repackaging new iMac's as refurbs?
Duffinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:17 AM   #9
Diode
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffinator View Post
Interesting thread. I'm ready to buy a 27" refurb and it's been a couple of weeks since I've seen any available. Anyone know if they are holding back while they ship new ones? Or hopefully they are busy repackaging new iMac's as refurbs?
They go in and out of stock quite frequently. Check once or twice a day and you should be able to snag one.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:19 AM   #10
macjram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I wonder if it'll be a problem when you take it in for a repair / return and the specs dont match up?
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro, iPhone 4S
macjram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:42 AM   #11
tom vilsack
macrumors 65816
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Be kinda fun to tape a call to apple to complain your refurb came with better specs then you ordered ;-)
tom vilsack is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:48 AM   #12
XionCore
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
No, it wonīt be a problem in case of repair - just make sure its correct on your invoice - specs are listed there. It happens sometimes, as they donīt want to offer 20 different versions of the same machine in the refurb section - it confuses people.
__________________
27" 2012 iMac i7,24 GB RAM, 768 GB SSD; Late-2010 13" MBP 2,4 GHz; iPhone 4S, iPad 4 4G, iPod Classic 120 GB
XionCore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:57 AM   #13
killercolt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
So I placed a order for a 21inch i7 with a 1TB and 4GB of ram and was surprised when it arrived with a 2TB HD and 8GB of ram.

Is it normal for Apple to send out better machines then what you order? This is my first refurb.

Shame it didn't include a SSD....
The exact same happened to me. Got the exact same build. It appeared to have a few dead pixels near the bottom of the screen, but they all seem to have come back to life over the last week. Perhaps it was the gentle massage they received as I obsessively wiped it clean every time I sat down at it. Yes, I would have been happy to receive the SSD as well.

With all the posts regarding potential issues with the latest models, from yellow tints to excessive noise, I am glad I went refurb. My daughter has enjoyed a few DVD movies even, which would have cost me extra with the newer model.

Cheers!
kc
killercolt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:05 PM   #14
Diode
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
And of course now it won't turn on.

Back to Apple it goes. Hope they don't knock me for having installed a SSD...
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC