Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2013, 11:34 AM   #1
Red Fuji
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA-Pacifc Standard Time
X-Plane Demo wont launch 64 bit -crashes on 2012 imac.

I have a 2012 imac with 8 G RAM(for now) . Before I start loading - RAM is at ~6.7 G. And during the load it depletes it down to the Mega Byte level then immediately crashes(3rd way into the load.) X-Plane requirement states 2 G minimum and 4 recommended (probably 32 bit ver spec) I know 64 bit is a RAM hog but it is indiscriminately sucking up RAM like mad.
__________________
Refurb iMac i7 3.4Ghz, 1TB Fusion, 8 RAM, GTX 680MX
Red Fuji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 11:47 AM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
64bit isn't a RAM hog, it's simply able to address more RAM than a 32bit OS.

Is this Apple RAM or third party? Are you running bootcamp drivers or did you try to add third party video drivers?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 11:49 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Fuji View Post
I have a 2012 imac with 8 G RAM(for now) . Before I start loading - RAM is at ~6.7 G. And during the load it depletes it down to the Mega Byte level then immediately crashes(3rd way into the load.) X-Plane requirement states 2 G minimum and 4 recommended (probably 32 bit ver spec) I know 64 bit is a RAM hog but it is indiscriminately sucking up RAM like mad.
I ran it under 16GB on my 2011 27" and now 32GB on my new 2012...2GB GPU in both cases. I'd hazard a guess that you are going to have to turn down the settings. As a test, disable HDR rendering first, and set other options to minimum...then gradually work your way up until you reach the crash point.

If the game still won't run, then a re-install ( I know, it's a pain) and an email to Austin with a crash dump will help. More info in my thread here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1483739
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 12:21 PM   #4
Red Fuji
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA-Pacifc Standard Time
Do not i need to launch/run it first in order to turn down the settings? i am new to X-plane but so far love what i see (32 bit does load fine but i wish to see what 64 looks like) and yes i sent off the crash report.

oh-to address blueroom:
yes-Apple RAM(min RAM that comes w/ 2012 3.4Ghz 27" imac)
no Windows installed.
no 3rd party - GTX680MX 2GB
Thanks.
__________________
Refurb iMac i7 3.4Ghz, 1TB Fusion, 8 RAM, GTX 680MX

Last edited by Red Fuji; May 15, 2013 at 12:40 PM. Reason: blueroom
Red Fuji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 12:35 PM   #5
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Fuji View Post
Do not i need to launch/run it first in order to turn down the settings? i am new to X-plane but so far love what i see (32 bit does load fine but i wish to see what 64 looks like) and yes i sent off the crash report.

oh-to address blueroom:
yes-Apple RAM(stock minimum)
i dont have Windows installed.
Thanks.
It's odd that the 32 bit version runs and the 64 won't...It was always the other way around before as you can read from the posts in my link. I can't see what could be stopping the 64 bit version from loading apart from a corrupt file someplace....The 32 bit version was the crash laden one. If it were me I would delete the lot and start afresh....It's tedious, but will at least eliminate the corruption idea.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 12:46 PM   #6
Red Fuji
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA-Pacifc Standard Time
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
If it were me I would delete the lot and start afresh....It's tedious, but will at least eliminate the corruption idea.
i'll give it a try tonight. but i am watching load as it sucks up all the RAM then crash.
__________________
Refurb iMac i7 3.4Ghz, 1TB Fusion, 8 RAM, GTX 680MX
Red Fuji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 02:43 PM   #7
Red Fuji
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA-Pacifc Standard Time
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Fuji View Post
i'll give it a try tonight. but i am watching load as it sucks up all the RAM then crash.
no luck with the re-install; still cant get 64 bit to launch. X-plane CS responded- they will look into the crash report.
__________________
Refurb iMac i7 3.4Ghz, 1TB Fusion, 8 RAM, GTX 680MX
Red Fuji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 05:02 PM   #8
jamesbarns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cedar Hills, Utah
 
see vendor information in user profile
Hmmm sounds like an interesting problem. It's definitely not the 64x OS that is killing your RAM though. I wouldn't be so convinced all at once.
jamesbarns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2013, 12:07 PM   #9
Red Fuji
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA-Pacifc Standard Time
I tried launching it last night and it took off-loads faster than 32 bit. I dont have any explanation as to why it wasnt launching before-was too busy playing X-plane with no time for fish bone root cause analysis
i dont know if sending the crash report helped with the fix? but i am happy.
now i need to look into a controler -yoke or stick-extra money for the Eclipse=wife lecture. hmmm. decisions.
__________________
Refurb iMac i7 3.4Ghz, 1TB Fusion, 8 RAM, GTX 680MX
Red Fuji is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC