Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2013, 01:16 PM   #126
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I am using a USB stick for MacOS. I'm going to use the dock to power up the hard drive and make the software install on it while it is attached to my Mac before putting it in the PC. Could you clarify?
Oh, okay. I thought you were installing direct from a disc image on the Mac or something.

Still, I'm not sure why you don't just plug the stick into the PC and install it there. Disconnect your Windows discs first, if you're concerned about accidentally installing on the wrong drive.

To get it working, you're going to have to have both the USB stick and the Mac HD in the PC at some point.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:43 AM   #127
Velin
macrumors 6502a
 
Velin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
For you PC builders, don't forget Tom's Hardware. They have a ton of stuff for people building their own rigs. For example, here's a recent article on best video cards for the money, October 2013. Link. They will periodically put up gaming rig builds, best CPUs, SSDs, fans, etc. So go there before you decide on a final build.

I have a question. How come you folks aren't using Bootcamp and a Win 7, or even Win 8, install for your PC games? We've used Bootcamp in the past, and it was my experience that Mac hardware ran Windows better than most PCs ran it.
Velin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 05:29 AM   #128
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velin View Post
I have a question. How come you folks aren't using Bootcamp and a Win 7, or even Win 8, install for your PC games? We've used Bootcamp in the past, and it was my experience that Mac hardware ran Windows better than most PCs ran it.
PCs are cheaper and can be upgraded. Will outperform any Mac in games. Plus they're fun to build.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 09:24 AM   #129
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velin View Post
For you PC builders, don't forget Tom's Hardware. They have a ton of stuff for people building their own rigs. For example, here's a recent article on best video cards for the money, October 2013. Link. They will periodically put up gaming rig builds, best CPUs, SSDs, fans, etc. So go there before you decide on a final build.

I have a question. How come you folks aren't using Bootcamp and a Win 7, or even Win 8, install for your PC games? We've used Bootcamp in the past, and it was my experience that Mac hardware ran Windows better than most PCs ran it.
When Vista was first introduced, Microsoft introduced it on a Mac for stability reasons I think.

As far as your question, those Mac users who typically don't mess with Bootcamp because they are comfortable with the Mac environment and don't want to mess with Windows. Those who do mess with it (bootcamp), want to play those games not available in Mac, and also get to enjoy improved performance, despite the perceived and actual Windows headaches. I can attest to Windows headaches, in every version of Windows from W95-to W7. Several months ago, on my MBP, Windows 7 decided it was no longer going to accept updates. I spent 1 hr on the phone with Microsoft support who could not figure it out. The typical answer is "clean install" and was the answer for my case. Unfortunately my back up plan (Winclone) failed completly. This has never happened to me using MacOSX, never (knock on wood).
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2013, 07:53 PM   #130
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Question- If I have my Mac backed up on Time Machine, can this be used to duplicate it on a Hackintosh? Thanks!
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2013, 10:27 PM   #131
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
Question- If I have my Mac backed up on Time Machine, can this be used to duplicate it on a Hackintosh? Thanks!
I haven't tried it, but once you have the Hackintosh up and running, you *should* be able to do a transfer with Migration Assistant from the Time Machine backup.

This could totally screw things up though... have to see. Migration Assistant from Hackintosh to a real Mac can cause tons of problems though.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2013, 11:21 PM   #132
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
I haven't tried it, but once you have the Hackintosh up and running, you *should* be able to do a transfer with Migration Assistant from the Time Machine backup.

This could totally screw things up though... have to see. Migration Assistant from Hackintosh to a real Mac can cause tons of problems though.
Maybe I won't...
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2013, 11:14 AM   #133
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
Question- If I have my Mac backed up on Time Machine, can this be used to duplicate it on a Hackintosh? Thanks!
Yes, worked for me.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2013, 12:52 PM   #134
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnerx View Post
Yes, worked for me.
I assume that if you take a Time Machine hardrive and use it on another computer, that it can be returned to the original computer and it will pick back up where it left off? Thanks for the info and your patience.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2013, 06:26 PM   #135
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I assume that if you take a Time Machine hardrive and use it on another computer, that it can be returned to the original computer and it will pick back up where it left off? Thanks for the info and your patience.
Sure, that would work. Even if the new Hackintosh somehow instantly writes a backup to Time Machine, you'd still have all the previous backups available in separate folders.

After copying your old computer to the new Hack, you should get another HD specifically for Hack Time Machine, of course. Worth noting that a couple of Hack-specific things aren't picked up by Time Machine, so you have to back those up manually as one-offs (chameleon.plist and, ummm, something else I can't remember)

I used the Time Machine from my old G5 to copy 15 years' worth of Macs onto my Hack, and it worked perfectly, I didn't lose a single file.
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2014, 01:47 PM   #136
garnerx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Did you manage to install OSX on this in the end?
garnerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2014, 09:16 AM   #137
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Amazing Maze of Maize (Corn Labyrinth)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I can attest to Windows headaches, in every version of Windows from W95-to W7. Several months ago, on my MBP, Windows 7 decided it was no longer going to accept updates. I spent 1 hr on the phone with Microsoft support who could not figure it out. The typical answer is "clean install" and was the answer for my case. Unfortunately my back up plan (Winclone) failed completly. This has never happened to me using MacOSX, never (knock on wood).
Ha! Let me guess what it was doing. You'd get your list of updates, hit the install button, and watch it set at 0% for awhile as it tells you it's preparing to download/install, but does nothing.

That is THE most annoying bug with Windows, and for some reason MS has yet to fix it even though it's been present since maybe as far back as Vista. I've spent hours reading up on how to fix it, and even more hours deep down in the guts of Windows trying to get it to work. It's annoying as hell.

...but the real kick in the nuts is that, 99 times out a 100, it's actually downloading and installing those updates, but it's not reporting its progress through the UI. From what I can figure, the automatic updater has grabbed onto those updates, and is doing its own thing in the background. The only way you can figure out if it's doing that is by looking at the list of updates, letting it sit there at 0% for an hour or so, rebooting your computer, seeing if it gives you any "updating Windows" messages as it boots down, then checking the list again after to see if the update list is any smaller than it was before.

From my experiences, it only happens on a freshly installed copy of Windows, when you have a crapton of patches to get. The best thing to do is set it to grab important updates automatically, then let the computer work on itself for an hour or so before you start messing with it.
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2014, 12:34 PM   #138
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzatic View Post
Ha! Let me guess what it was doing. You'd get your list of updates, hit the install button, and watch it set at 0% for awhile as it tells you it's preparing to download/install, but does nothing.

That is THE most annoying bug with Windows, and for some reason MS has yet to fix it even though it's been present since maybe as far back as Vista. I've spent hours reading up on how to fix it, and even more hours deep down in the guts of Windows trying to get it to work. It's annoying as hell.

...but the real kick in the nuts is that, 99 times out a 100, it's actually downloading and installing those updates, but it's not reporting its progress through the UI. From what I can figure, the automatic updater has grabbed onto those updates, and is doing its own thing in the background. The only way you can figure out if it's doing that is by looking at the list of updates, letting it sit there at 0% for an hour or so, rebooting your computer, seeing if it gives you any "updating Windows" messages as it boots down, then checking the list again after to see if the update list is any smaller than it was before.

From my experiences, it only happens on a freshly installed copy of Windows, when you have a crapton of patches to get. The best thing to do is set it to grab important updates automatically, then let the computer work on itself for an hour or so before you start messing with it.
As I remember it, Windows would announce there were updates, then it would run through the updates, and as I recall, even show them installing or at least running by them and I assumed they were installed. But on the next shutdown, the same thing would happen repeatedly and no updates were installed. I tried to investigate the generalized ambiguous error codes, but that was a waste of time and even the MS guy did not make use of them in this trouble shooting.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2014, 01:16 PM   #139
calearne
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I really want to play beamNG, spintires, nextcargame, offroaddrive.

But to do that I would have to sell my iMac and secondary monitor and order a prebuilt gaming machine from cyberpower or ibuypower.

I would also buy a 21:9 LG monitor.

As much as I hate microsoft and xbox I think I'm going to do this.

Also should I use windows 7 or 8.1?
calearne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2014, 07:31 PM   #140
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallest Tree in The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by calearne View Post
I really want to play beamNG, spintires, nextcargame, offroaddrive.

But to do that I would have to sell my iMac and secondary monitor and order a prebuilt gaming machine from cyberpower or ibuypower.

I would also buy a 21:9 LG monitor.

As much as I hate microsoft and xbox I think I'm going to do this.

Also should I use windows 7 or 8.1?
Don't overlook Digital Storm. For OSs, it's whatever. I don't like 8, don't like Live Tiles, don't use 8 (use 7), but my impression is that live tiles can be turned off. But isn't that sad, that Windows primary new gee-whiz feature is not really liked?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Tags
gaming pc, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC