Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2013, 07:58 PM   #26
andi*pandi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Wink

Thanks so much for posting this fix. I was able to restore sound to our PowerPC G5 Powermac... considering this is the machine I bought Minecraft on, and played beta on, I was a little surprised to read the dismissive comments about ancient machines at the mojang bug report site. Minecraft was originally touted as a "play anywhere" game.

Here's to having sound back!

Works with Minecraft 1.5.1!
andi*pandi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 04:32 PM   #27
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
Thanks so much for posting this fix. I was able to restore sound to our PowerPC G5 Powermac... considering this is the machine I bought Minecraft on, and played beta on, I was a little surprised to read the dismissive comments about ancient machines at the mojang bug report site. Minecraft was originally touted as a "play anywhere" game.

Here's to having sound back!

Works with Minecraft 1.5.1!
Too bad that minecraft 1.6 will drop PowerPC completely.
__________________
Last edited by spyguy10709; Tomorrow at 07:10 AM.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 09:43 AM   #28
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
Too bad that minecraft 1.6 will drop PowerPC completely.
Don't think so... There will always be a workaround. The current MC client is not PPC, but the older clients are PPC. MC should stay working as long as we use the older clients.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 05:17 PM   #29
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
Don't think so... There will always be a workaround. The current MC client is not PPC, but the older clients are PPC. MC should stay working as long as we use the older clients.
Read the wiki. They're using java 1.6. No java SE6 binary has ever been compiled for PPC.

Read the wiki(minecraft wiki) for more info on this.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 06:19 AM   #30
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
Read the wiki. They're using java 1.6. No java SE6 binary has ever been compiled for PPC.

Read the wiki(minecraft wiki) for more info on this.
I bet someone will compile a Java SE6 binary, Minecraft is one of the most popular games in the world, someone will find a workaround, just like when Flash 11 was ported to PPC.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 06:54 AM   #31
ppcfanforever1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
This is a little off topic but has anyone been able to successfully install optifine on powerpc lately? I used to have older versions work with the mod but I am not able to anymore.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 09:38 PM   #32
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
I bet someone will compile a Java SE6 binary, Minecraft is one of the most popular games in the world, someone will find a workaround, just like when Flash 11 was ported to PPC.
No one ever ported flash 11, someone just hacked flash 10 to identify as flash 11. The (extremely few) flash 11 functions will NEVER run on PowerPC.

No one will compile JSE6 becuase there's no profit potential. Before you shout "what about LINUX, it's FREE!" There's profit in some OpenSource projects, like linux. Look at who writes most of the code for it, and see what I'm talking about.

You're being hopeful.

And MC Sucked after the 1.7.3 Beta anyway.
__________________
Last edited by spyguy10709; Tomorrow at 07:10 AM.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 07:04 PM   #33
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
This should STILL work now. Mojang REALLY needs to fix this issue.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2013, 11:42 AM   #34
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Unfortunately this fix does not work on Minecraft 1.6 as it is now completely unsupported for PPC. I will keep this thread updated if someone finds a fix.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2013, 12:58 AM   #35
keremtezcan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
I can now confirm that this works on 1.5.2 (the newest PPC compatible version) but not 1.6 since it is not compatible with PPC.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2014, 09:54 AM   #36
crowriver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
Should work with 1.5.
Thanks for posting these instructions. My son has the audio issue on his PowerPC G4 (running OSX 10.5.8) , though Minecraft runs perfectly in all other respects.

I implemented your fix, and alas it doesn't seem to work. He is running 1.5.2, and after using your fix I launched the game, logged in and Minecaft made me wait while it updated. I presume the update overwrote the 'new' old sound files I just fixed? Or did I do something wrong (eg. do I need to restart the Mac)?

Any ideas how to work around this updating issue and/or fix the 'white noise' sound in 1.5.2?

Finally, we are being prompted to manually update to 1.6. I presume this is not a good idea on a PowerPC G4?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
crowriver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2014, 10:10 AM   #37
crowriver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Just a thought: could I be having this issue because of multiple users set up on the Mac? Is the fix specific to one user (in my case the admin)? Or should it work on multi-user setups?

I will try this fix logged in as my son and see what happens differently (if anything).

UPDATE: Okay, it was the multiple user setup.

Please note, if you have more than one user on your Mac, you need to implement this fix for each user if they want their Minecarft audio to work. You can navigate to the relevant folder easily using the Finder, just click on Users, then 'username', then Library, Application Support, minecraft, bin and proceed as above.

My son is pleased with the fix!

Last edited by crowriver; Jan 7, 2014 at 10:30 AM. Reason: Updated information
crowriver is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
1.4.2, minecraft, powerpc, problem, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java 6 / 7 problems (LibreOffice, Aptana, Minecraft) Parsec OS X 1 Jan 5, 2014 12:28 PM
So many people with late 2013 problems. Are there people that don't have issues? phaselocked MacBook Pro 148 Nov 7, 2013 05:05 PM
Minecraft (tekkit) + safari problems milocool Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Mar 4, 2013 04:37 PM
Will running a Minecraft Server hurt my Mini? Pecans Mac mini 4 Oct 8, 2012 07:29 AM
Questions for people running ML preview on rMBP Mongol MacBook Pro 0 Jul 8, 2012 10:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC