Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2013, 11:33 PM   #1
2010mini
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
HBO Go verification question

I searched but didn't come up with an answer.

Can anyone tell me why the hbo go app on my apple tv is asking to reverify my apple tv?

its annoying to have to do this every so often. is their a way to make the verification process permanent? I know its tied to my Fios account which has never lapsed.

TIA
2010mini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 09:08 AM   #2
2010mini
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
No one???
2010mini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 02:27 PM   #3
barkomatic
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manhattan
I don't know why, but I had this issue with HBO Go verification through my own fios service. It got really annoying but eventually it "took" and I didn't have to keep re-verifying. In the end it didn't matter, since I dumped my cable connection. I just got tired of all the issues like this and the price.

If you've got an ipad or iphone--its much easier to sign into HBO GO on there and just use airplay.
barkomatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 01:37 AM   #4
ElectronGuru
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Oregon, USA
Because Apple isn't controlling the authentication system and those who are are jumpier than jackrabbits at a bald eagle convention - afraid their content will 'escape'.
__________________
MBP, IM, MM, IPM, IP, AT
ElectronGuru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 07:39 AM   #5
2010mini
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
Because Apple isn't controlling the authentication system and those who are are jumpier than jackrabbits at a bald eagle convention - afraid their content will 'escape'.
that is really silly of them
2010mini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 11:05 AM   #6
slimjimtx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkomatic View Post
If you've got an ipad or iphone--its much easier to sign into HBO GO on there and just use airplay.
My experience with this has been that the iOS app signs you out after a period of inactivity, so I still have to type in my e-mail address and password (pretty much) every time you use the mobile version...

FWIW, I don't recall having to reverify any of my Apple TV devices, but I'm using UVERSE rather than FiOS...
slimjimtx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 01:50 PM   #7
Lord Hamsa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
PURE SPECULATION: I wonder if it isn't the ATV itself, but possibly that you're getting a different public IP address from your provider when your DHCP lease is renewed. HBO's servers may see that IP jump as a reason to ask for re-verification.
Lord Hamsa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 07:37 PM   #8
2010mini
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Do you think running it by LAN instead of wifi will help? Hmmmm that would be about a 50' cable....hmmmm.
2010mini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2013, 12:24 AM   #9
ElectronGuru
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Oregon, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010mini View Post
that is really silly of them
This is part of same group that dug in their heals for the transition to HD, making us wait year after year while the competing standards 'shook themselves out'.

You don't get/keep power by doing good.
__________________
MBP, IM, MM, IPM, IP, AT
ElectronGuru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2013, 05:53 PM   #10
hallux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Hamsa View Post
PURE SPECULATION: I wonder if it isn't the ATV itself, but possibly that you're getting a different public IP address from your provider when your DHCP lease is renewed. HBO's servers may see that IP jump as a reason to ask for re-verification.
As long as the public-facing device doesn't change or go offline for an extended period of time, very unlikely. DHCP, while dynamic, will give you the same address as long as your device still has the "lease" on that address. My work laptop, while going home every night and weekend (and even offline for a week of vacation) maintains the same "dynamic" address that it's had forever and I don't have an address reservation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010mini View Post
Do you think running it by LAN instead of wifi will help? Hmmmm that would be about a 50' cable....hmmmm.
Won't help with a public-facing IP issue (if the post by Lord Hamsa is why you consider this option), that's beyond the connection from the ATV to the router.
__________________
2012 15" MBP, 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Hi-Res glossy
hallux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to hide TV-MA in HBO GO? vega07 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 1, 2013 06:23 AM
HBO GO Airplay childoftheko4n Apple TV and Home Theater 4 May 20, 2013 08:15 PM
HBO Now Allows Subscribers to Stream HBO Go to Apple TV using AirPlay MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 84 Feb 14, 2013 09:59 AM
HBO Go gmanist1000 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Jun 27, 2012 10:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC